We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous, hotel management threatened us just a few weeks before our wedding forcing us to take back our money and find a new”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Richmond Hill Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had our wedding booked here, but the staff were absolutely appalling. Very hateful and very rude, they looked down their noses at us and treated us like trash. We were completely insulted by them on a number of occasions and were threatened by the hotel management. We ended up being forced to take our money back just a few weeks before the big day! The hotel management had me in tears and we didn't get so much as an apology. I have never ever dealt with such a terrible company and would not recommend the place to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DecemberHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guest

I am clearly aghast to read your review of your brief interaction with my team here at Richmond Hill Hotel. As is visible from other reviews posted the staff here are one of our greatest assets, recognised regularly for there friendliness, efficiency and welcoming attitude.

I am aware that after a meeting with my deputy at the Hotel it was mutually agreed that you cancel your wedding with us, in order to find a different venue. At no point was this meeting conducted in an insulting or threatening manner. It was also months not weeks prior to your event. However I apologize wholeheartedly if at any point we came across as rude and uncaring.

I hope the readers of trip advisor put your feedback in context with the hundreds of other guests who have used our facilities over the year, and form there own opinion.

Kind regards

Diane Tapner-Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

985 - 991 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked this hotel for a short break using late rooms website-good value for money. We wanted to be near green open spaces and be close enough to easily get into 'town'. Great choice, excellent pool and spa facilities to soothe our aching limbs after long days at shops, river walks etc. Right next to Richmond park, lovely to see the deer.We chose to eat out most of the time, but the meal we had (bar menu) was excellent. The room was smallish but clean and smartly arranged, usual tv, kettle, iron, en suite, everything worked and was well maintained- 10 minute walk down hill into Richmond. 15 mins into Town overground to Waterloo.

Room Tip: I switched off the air con and opened the window in our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happydiner2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for such a comprehensive review of your time spent both with us here at Richmond Hill Hotel and also our beautiful surrounding area. We are always singing the praises of our location and facilities and it is wonderful to have someone enjoy them all so thoroughly.

I do hope you return to the area as there is also the Thames River walks together with Kew Gardens and Hampton Court by River to enjoy, perfect in the spring.

Kind regards

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the Richmond Hill Hotel in December as part of a group of friends and relatives attending a birthday party. We had an excellent time, the hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas and all the rooms were clean and well appointed. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful at all times and nothing was too much trouble for them. The evening party was wonderful; the food excellent and again the catering staff were very attentive. During the overnight stay many guests used the spa and were impressed with the swimming pool facilities. The hotel is well positioned for London, just a tube journey away and makes a good alternative to some of the noisy city hotels. Richmond is a very elegant town with great bars, restaurants and shops. This hotel is perfect for a weekend away. We would like to thank all the staff for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Good location between Heathrow and the City. Requires a cab ride from Richmond tube station, or a car. Small room, barely big enough for the reasonable bed, but well appointed. Good restaurant and breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I were given a night at the Richmond Hill hotel by friends as a wedding present. We spent our wedding night there and had a wonderful experience. The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful and we were upgraded to a beautiful suite. The room was elegant and was exactly what we could have hoped for.
When I left my wedding dress behind in a fit of post-wedding madness, the lady at reception made an extra effort to check the lost property room even though she received my panicked phone call well after hours. Special thanks to whoever the wonderful person was from housekeeping who found the dress and handed it in!
We will definitely be thinking of a stay there for our first anniversary!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Richmond Hill Hotel has got a lot of character because it consists of a row of 18th century mansions which have been joined together to form the hotel. Despite the impressive size of the hotel the staff are very friendly indeed and there is an unfussy relaxed atmosphere. Our room was very nice and had its own balcony looking out over the back. There are some very nice public lounge areas where you can sit and relax. The lift is tiny and can only really accommodate two people with their luggage. The breakfast area is very nice and the breakfast was very good, with attentive friendly staff on hand. We attended a wedding in Richmond Park but we did notice a room set out very impressively for a wedding at the Richmond Hill Hotel. The hotel would certainly be an excellent wedding venue and has got a variety of rooms which would suit any family occasion or business event. The hotel is in quite a stunning location on the brow of Richmond Hill and it is a two minute walk to the entrance to Richmond Park. On the opposite side of the road you can walk along the street and it opens out onto a stunning view over a magnificent curve in the river from which you can see Ham House. The hotel staff let us check in early at 12 and we did not have to check out until 12, which was very helpful and gave us a 24 hour stay. We did have to pay £5 for parking. Because it consists of houses joined together the hotel does feel like a bit of a warren in parts.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My family and I stayed at the Richmond hill for one night after a wedding in the surrounding area. We stayed there on 23rd dec and the hotel christmas decorations were beautiful! Check in was easy and staff were very friendly and helpful. We had an executive room as there were 3 of us,2 adults and 1 child. The room was a little on the small side but had everything we needed incl iron and board, trouser press, mini bar etc etc. Breakfast was included and there was a great choice of food on offer from fresh fruit and yoghurt to cereal and traditional english. I would definatly stay here again and recommend to others. Thanks for a lovely stay and your beds are the best!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#8 of 14 in Richmond
1,030 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#4 of 14 in Richmond
691 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Coach and Horses
1.9 mi away
The Lensbury
The Lensbury
#1 of 3 in Teddington
517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#5 of 14 in Richmond
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hill Hotel

Address: 144-150 Richmond Hill, Richmond TW10 6RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#4 Family Hotel in Richmond
#7 Business Hotel in Richmond
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £93 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming town of Richmond, Surrey, and only seven miles from Central London, London’s West End and Heathrow Airport, Richmond Hill Hotel is a 4 star hotel that features accommodation, restaurant, meeting and event rooms and a fabulous leisure centre. The hotel is near Richmond Station which is on the District line and only 7 miles from Heathrow airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Richmond Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hill Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing