We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved Richmond Hill Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Richmond Hill Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved Richmond Hill Hotel”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had travelled from Wales at 4.30am to get to the Richmond Hill Hotel early to have a full day in Richmond. We were greeted by a lovely receptionist who immediately apologised that there were no rooms free as they were full and offered us a lovely swim and breakfast at a special rate. She could not do enough for us. We had a fabulous swim, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, delicious breakfast. The staff were amazing could not have done anymore. When we did check in to our fantastic room we received a call to check everything was okay and could they do any thing for us. Our evening meal included was delicious and the service second to none! Amazing! That's all I can us the whole stay from start to end was very memorable and I can't wait to return ASAP.

Room Tip: Just make sure you visit the surrounding immediate area, shops and parks. Fabulous location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Julie T,

I was so delighted to read such a lovely review, the team were delighted that we made your weekend such a success.

We do look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Warm regards

Diane

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    463
    282
    134
    69
See reviews for
267
630
59
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Lovely location at the top of Richmond Hill close to Richmond Park entrance. A short walk down the hill to the Town Centre and the Railway Station, direct line into London.
The room was clean and adequately furnished, as usual the room was very warm, why do English hotels always have the heating cranked up to full? On this visit we only booked the room no meals. There is a great pub just a few metres away if you didn't want to eat in the hotel. Lots of parking for hotel guests.
Richmond has lots to offer a great cafe culture, green areas, walks by the Thames and great pubs and restaurants. The theatre is also amazing, this is why we have visited Richmond Hill Hotel again as we booked to see A Perfect Murder, great performances by Les Dennis and Clare Goose.
All in all as London Area hotels go this is value for money and is as I say in a great location, not noisy and easy to find by car.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for the lovely feedback of your time spent with us at Richmond Hill Hotel. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay. Obviously being familiar with the area and the Theatre allowed you the opportunity to fully appreciate what a great part of London this is. We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Diane

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our overnight stay in Richmond was disturbed at 05.30 hrs by the firing up of a boiler flue behind our bed. We had hoped this racket might eventually cease but it continued relentlessly until we checked out. At Reception the staff were very gracious and full of apologies but although we were granted free parking, our night had been seriously disrupted beyond repair.
The experience was made no better by the provision of a very poor value in-room breakfast. One piece of toast each; one tiny sachet of honey and three very small croissants (for two of us); and no granulated sugar with our corn-flakes (served despite the fact we had ordered Alpen!) represented a very poor return for over £20 spent.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank STEPHEN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Stephen

I was very disappointed to read that you were disturbed by a noise in your room during your stay with us. It is most perplexing as there are no boilers in that vicinity in the Hotel. However following on from your comments our maintenance department are trying to explore what could have caused such a disturbance.

In room breakfast service also seems to have fallen below our usual high standards. The restaurant team usually deliver what is marked on the card, explaining if we have run out of any specified items. I can only apologize that this does not seem to have been your experience. I will review our room service breakfast offer with the team to establish what went so awry for your visit.

I am sorry that your experience with us was below expectations, I can only assure you that all comments are reviewed to ensure we rectify errors we have made.s.

Kind regards

Diane

Diane Tapner-Evans
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

There was 6 of us come down for a birthday weekend arrived early to the hotel and asked if we could leave our luggage and was surprised that our rooms was ready. We found our rooms very pleasant small but sufficient for our needs comfy bed. Found all the staff very helpful and friendly had an evening meal in the resultant and found it really enjoyable and breakfast was excellent . All in all we had a wonderful time and would have no reservations in recommending this hotel x

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacklincarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear JacklinCarol,

Thank you very much for this excellent review of your stay with us for your birthday celebration at the Richmond Hill Hotel. I was delighted to read all the wonderful feedback on the team and have made sure that they have seen your comments.

I do hope you make us your Hotel of choice when you are next visiting the area.

Warm regards

Diane

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

If you have never been to Richmond you must. It's a beautiful area. Close to London. Decent shops in High Street. Lots of nice restaurants. This hotel is right by the park. Would recommend a walk. The hotel rooms are v small but clean. They have a pool if you fancy a swim. I would recommend this hotel over the one next door as the rooms are less dated / worn. Also I usually end up staying on a higher floor in this hotel (so lots of light).
Nb I have stayed in both hotels a number of times.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Topo503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of your visits to Richmond Hill Hotel. I am delighted to read that we are your chosen local Hotel when you visit our beautiful location.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.

Kind regards

Diane

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Booked a last minute, one night stay including two course dinner, breakfast and free parking as part of the deal. Our superior room was in the old part of the building and had two large sash windows that opened, and a very quiet air conditioning unit - much appreciated after several hot stays in English hotels! The furnishings were good quality and the bed was large and comfortable which ensured a good nights sleep.

We received a very warm welcome at the leisure centre which was housed in a separate building, which was very light and airy due to the glass roof. Had a great swim in the 20m pool followed by a soak in the Jacuzzi and a visit to the steam room. There was also a gym and sauna.

The Roebuck on Richmond Hill nearby, two minutes walk from the hotel and with spectacular views overlooking the Thames, provided an excellent venue for an early evening drink, with a good selection of beers. Back at the hotel we had to wait a little for a table as the hotel was very busy. Even with the high volume, the quality of the food was excellent and the triple cooked chips were very tasty, crunchy and exceedingly yummy!

Breakfast, served until 11am at weekends, was buffet service with good quality ingredients and accompanied with a good selection of home cooked breads. Service was polite and efficient and you did not feel rushed in any way.

We ended the stay with a pleasant walk along the Thames past Teddington Lock. By the time we walked back the riverside was full of the sights and sounds of tourists and locals having a great time enjoying the last day of the Easter break.

There were a range of very tempting pubs and restaurants on the riverside and in the vibrant Richmond shopping area.

A great place to visit and looking forward to another stay in this lovely area of London.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Andy,

It is always very satisfying to read such a lovely review of the Hotel. The team work hard to ensure all aspects of our service sustain a consistent high standard. We are all delighted that these were highlighted so comprehensively in your review.

The local area is indeed full of natural beauty with a wide choice of things to do, places to see and restaurants to try. We do hope you return to stay with us when next visiting this area.

Warm regards

Diane

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We booked to stay here for two nights over Easter last minute via Secret Escapes. On the face of it, the deal was tremendous value given the location and dinner, b&b.
The truth was however that the service was very far from 4*, particularly at Dinner where we
-waited over an hour for a starter, watching people sit down and order 20 minutes after us yet still be served and finish starters before ours served
- then had the wrong main dish brought out
- then the wrong desert!

Every table in the restaurant seemed to be dissatisfied with something and service was slow in the extreme.

We felt like we would be very annoyed if we had paid full price (the food is massively overpriced) but then, isn't the whole point of a deal to get the same 4* service as you would if you pay full price!! In fact at times we questioned whether we were being given different service because we had a deal, almost like we don't deserve the 4* treatment!

Room was ok with a nice view, comfortable bed but walls pretty thin and corridors very dated.

The plus point was Breakfast although even then on one morning 2 poached eggs took 20 minutes and then were served raw and had to be sent back.

Probably JUST about worth what we paid which was about 50% off the main price given the free parking, spa use and location but definitely NOT 4*, particularly the food.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Matthew,

I am truly disappointed that you found our service lacking during you stay with us during the Easter Holiday.

We were very busy in the restaurant in the night in question, and we should have been able to provide you with a more seamless service. Following your comments we have reviewed the service with both the Chef and the Restaurant Manager to ensure our future guests do not experience the same slow service.

I appreciate your positive comments on the room and breakfast offer and can only assure you that we take all guest feedback very seriously, as it helps us to develop and progress.

Kind regards

Diane

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.0 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#7 of 14 in Richmond
996 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#4 of 14 in Richmond
658 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Coach and Horses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 14 in Richmond
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#13 of 14 in Richmond
114 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kew Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hill Hotel

Property: Richmond Hill Hotel
Address: 144-150 Richmond Hill, Richmond TW10 6RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Family Hotel in Richmond
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#7 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming town of Richmond, Surrey, and only seven miles from Central London, London’s West End and Heathrow Airport, Richmond Hill Hotel is a 4 star hotel that features accommodation, restaurant, meeting and event rooms and a fabulous leisure centre. The hotel is near Richmond Station which is on the District line and only 7 miles from Heathrow airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Richmond Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hill Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing