We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay in Richmond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Richmond Hill Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here to meet a group of friends who see each other separately but get all together once a year. We stayed here because one of the group lives quite nearby. The initial impression was good, and the reception staff were friendly and efficient. We had booked a 'superior' room but the one we were first shown was a small room overlooking a roof and not very superior in our view. Upon complaint we were shown another room, slightly bigger and with a pleasant view over the Thames. The other problem with the hotel is that it was made from several adjoining properties, making it extremely difficult to find ones way around it. We even met a couple who said we'd be lucky to find our room! That said, we enjoyed our stay there greatly. The dinner was very good, as was the breakfast, and all the staff were helpful and pleasant. We would stay there again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Jeff55,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Richmond Hill Hotel, I am sorry hat your initial room did not meet expectations, the staff do try to accommodate any disappointment so I am pleased they were able to rectify your issue. The Hotel is a Georgian Grade II listed property dating back over 200 years and the layout is sometimes confusing we try to direct and add signage to assist.

Overall I was pleased to read that you had a lovely time with your friends whilst staying at the Hotel. The Chef is always delighted to read that guests have enjoyed the brigades cooking, both at breakfast and dinner.

Thank you once again for writing your feedback, we hope one day you return.

kind regards

Diane

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,508)
There are newer reviews for Richmond Hill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

868 - 874 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had travelled from Wales at 4.30am to get to the Richmond Hill Hotel early to have a full day in Richmond. We were greeted by a lovely receptionist who immediately apologised that there were no rooms free as they were full and offered us a lovely swim and breakfast at a special rate. She could not do enough for us. We had a fabulous swim, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, delicious breakfast. The staff were amazing could not have done anymore. When we did check in to our fantastic room we received a call to check everything was okay and could they do any thing for us. Our evening meal included was delicious and the service second to none! Amazing! That's all I can us the whole stay from start to end was very memorable and I can't wait to return ASAP.

Room Tip: Just make sure you visit the surrounding immediate area, shops and parks. Fabulous location!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Julie T,

I was so delighted to read such a lovely review, the team were delighted that we made your weekend such a success.

We do look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Warm regards

Diane

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Lovely location at the top of Richmond Hill close to Richmond Park entrance. A short walk down the hill to the Town Centre and the Railway Station, direct line into London.
The room was clean and adequately furnished, as usual the room was very warm, why do English hotels always have the heating cranked up to full? On this visit we only booked the room no meals. There is a great pub just a few metres away if you didn't want to eat in the hotel. Lots of parking for hotel guests.
Richmond has lots to offer a great cafe culture, green areas, walks by the Thames and great pubs and restaurants. The theatre is also amazing, this is why we have visited Richmond Hill Hotel again as we booked to see A Perfect Murder, great performances by Les Dennis and Clare Goose.
All in all as London Area hotels go this is value for money and is as I say in a great location, not noisy and easy to find by car.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for the lovely feedback of your time spent with us at Richmond Hill Hotel. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay. Obviously being familiar with the area and the Theatre allowed you the opportunity to fully appreciate what a great part of London this is. We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Diane

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our overnight stay in Richmond was disturbed at 05.30 hrs by the firing up of a boiler flue behind our bed. We had hoped this racket might eventually cease but it continued relentlessly until we checked out. At Reception the staff were very gracious and full of apologies but although we were granted free parking, our night had been seriously disrupted beyond repair.
The experience was made no better by the provision of a very poor value in-room breakfast. One piece of toast each; one tiny sachet of honey and three very small croissants (for two of us); and no granulated sugar with our corn-flakes (served despite the fact we had ordered Alpen!) represented a very poor return for over £20 spent.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank STEPHEN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Stephen

I was very disappointed to read that you were disturbed by a noise in your room during your stay with us. It is most perplexing as there are no boilers in that vicinity in the Hotel. However following on from your comments our maintenance department are trying to explore what could have caused such a disturbance.

In room breakfast service also seems to have fallen below our usual high standards. The restaurant team usually deliver what is marked on the card, explaining if we have run out of any specified items. I can only apologize that this does not seem to have been your experience. I will review our room service breakfast offer with the team to establish what went so awry for your visit.

I am sorry that your experience with us was below expectations, I can only assure you that all comments are reviewed to ensure we rectify errors we have made.s.

Kind regards

Diane

Diane Tapner-Evans
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

There was 6 of us come down for a birthday weekend arrived early to the hotel and asked if we could leave our luggage and was surprised that our rooms was ready. We found our rooms very pleasant small but sufficient for our needs comfy bed. Found all the staff very helpful and friendly had an evening meal in the resultant and found it really enjoyable and breakfast was excellent . All in all we had a wonderful time and would have no reservations in recommending this hotel x

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacklincarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear JacklinCarol,

Thank you very much for this excellent review of your stay with us for your birthday celebration at the Richmond Hill Hotel. I was delighted to read all the wonderful feedback on the team and have made sure that they have seen your comments.

I do hope you make us your Hotel of choice when you are next visiting the area.

Warm regards

Diane

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

If you have never been to Richmond you must. It's a beautiful area. Close to London. Decent shops in High Street. Lots of nice restaurants. This hotel is right by the park. Would recommend a walk. The hotel rooms are v small but clean. They have a pool if you fancy a swim. I would recommend this hotel over the one next door as the rooms are less dated / worn. Also I usually end up staying on a higher floor in this hotel (so lots of light).
Nb I have stayed in both hotels a number of times.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Topo503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of your visits to Richmond Hill Hotel. I am delighted to read that we are your chosen local Hotel when you visit our beautiful location.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.

Kind regards

Diane

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Booked a last minute, one night stay including two course dinner, breakfast and free parking as part of the deal. Our superior room was in the old part of the building and had two large sash windows that opened, and a very quiet air conditioning unit - much appreciated after several hot stays in English hotels! The furnishings were good quality and the bed was large and comfortable which ensured a good nights sleep.

We received a very warm welcome at the leisure centre which was housed in a separate building, which was very light and airy due to the glass roof. Had a great swim in the 20m pool followed by a soak in the Jacuzzi and a visit to the steam room. There was also a gym and sauna.

The Roebuck on Richmond Hill nearby, two minutes walk from the hotel and with spectacular views overlooking the Thames, provided an excellent venue for an early evening drink, with a good selection of beers. Back at the hotel we had to wait a little for a table as the hotel was very busy. Even with the high volume, the quality of the food was excellent and the triple cooked chips were very tasty, crunchy and exceedingly yummy!

Breakfast, served until 11am at weekends, was buffet service with good quality ingredients and accompanied with a good selection of home cooked breads. Service was polite and efficient and you did not feel rushed in any way.

We ended the stay with a pleasant walk along the Thames past Teddington Lock. By the time we walked back the riverside was full of the sights and sounds of tourists and locals having a great time enjoying the last day of the Easter break.

There were a range of very tempting pubs and restaurants on the riverside and in the vibrant Richmond shopping area.

A great place to visit and looking forward to another stay in this lovely area of London.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Andy,

It is always very satisfying to read such a lovely review of the Hotel. The team work hard to ensure all aspects of our service sustain a consistent high standard. We are all delighted that these were highlighted so comprehensively in your review.

The local area is indeed full of natural beauty with a wide choice of things to do, places to see and restaurants to try. We do hope you return to stay with us when next visiting this area.

Warm regards

Diane

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.0 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#6 of 14 in Richmond
1,006 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#4 of 14 in Richmond
673 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#5 of 14 in Richmond
437 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Coach and Horses
1.9 mi away
The Lensbury
The Lensbury
#1 of 3 in Teddington
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hill Hotel

Address: 144-150 Richmond Hill, Richmond TW10 6RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Family Hotel in Richmond
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#7 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £85 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming town of Richmond, Surrey, and only seven miles from Central London, London’s West End and Heathrow Airport, Richmond Hill Hotel is a 4 star hotel that features accommodation, restaurant, meeting and event rooms and a fabulous leisure centre. The hotel is near Richmond Station which is on the District line and only 7 miles from Heathrow airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Richmond Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hill Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing