We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Richmond Hill Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Over priced for what you get”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked the executive double room. The room was clean but nothing special. There was no shampoo or conditioner in the room and only 1 facecloth. Went to the front desk to ask for an upgraded room. None were available and all the better deluxe rooms were taken until the next day. I then asked for shampoo and conditioner and they said they only supply shampoo???? I had to go and buy my own. At $300.00 a night I find that ridiculous. The next day our room was cleaned but we and no facecloths and none of the shower gel was replaced. I phoned and and they brought us some. The following morning we had our "do not disturb sign" on the door. Between 10:30 and 11:00 a.m. there was a note slipped under our door. It stated that since we had a "do not disturb sign" out they would be unable to make up our room and we could get fresh towels from the front desk. As we headed out at 11:30 that morning we showed the front desk the note and they said they would have them make our room up. This time we got 1 facecloth. The last night of our stay we did get 2 facecloths.
There is no hairdryer in the room either.
As far as WiFi goes it is horrible. Dropped the connection often if you were lucky enough to get on the network. It was very frustrating especially when we were trying to do our online check-in.
We didn't eat there but we did have a drink in the bar. The bartender was confused when my husband asked for a brandy and soda and he gave me a gin and tonic when I ordered a gin and soda.
Location is good but there are other hotels with just as good a location. For the price it was a big disappointment. I was hoping for a nice Boutique style hotel but instead got an overpriced hotel that is just as nice as some of the hostels I have stayed in while in England. In general the common areas and the lobby area were nice but once you went to the rooms and the hallways it was not so nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheryleAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Anne,

I was so disappointed to read your review following your recent stay with us at Richmond Hill Hotel. There are set standards of laying up a bedroom that should be adhered to at all times (with conditioner, two flannels etc included) , it is frustrating to read that you did not experience this at all during your stay.

I have contacted you directly regarding further details regarding your stay so I can investigate further. If you would be kind enough to respond it will allow me the opportunity to investigate your observations regarding the lack of hairdryer in the room with my head housekeeper to prevent future customers from having the same experiences when staying with us.

We have also invested a significant sum in upgrading our WiFi system to support a larger bandwidth this should have resolved the issues you referred to with fluctuating signal. The location of your bedroom would assist with reverting back to our supplier with a detailed account of your experience.

I am very sorry the service and standard of room did not meet your expectations. If you are ever visiting the UK again please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will ensure that you have a far better experience.

Yours sincerely


Diane Tapner-Evans
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    450
    274
    133
    68
See reviews for
259
611
59
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Myself, husband and two daughters stayed recently for a family wedding. My daughters had a twin room that was quite spacious we had a double room that was rather snug! The clothes hanging space is very small and there is a very small amount of storage for anything else! We slept well except for being woken early by noise - don't get a room at the back, we overlooked the spa/gym and back of kitchen! Breakfast was lovely and leisurely, staff extremely accommodating and polite.Beautiful hotel, fantastic location and views from the front. Would stay again - but just ask for bigger room in quieter location!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Joanne

Thank you for completing a review following your stay with us for your family wedding. I am sorry you found the room "snug", we do have a variety of rooms in all shapes and sizes due to the age of the building. Perhaps if you return you could experience a larger front facing room.

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding breakfast and the service team, these are always well received.

We do hope you return to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Diane

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The staff in the hotel are very helpful. Breakfast was nice, but a bit overpriced. We found the room to be very small, and more suited for single occupancy. The bed definitely not meant for 2 persons.
Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Evelyn,

We were disapointed to read that you found the room too small for your stay and you would not be willing to return. We do have a large variety of room types many much larger should you wish to reconsider this decision, we would love to be able to accommodate you for a more enjoyable experience.

kind regards

Diane

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I paid for a superior room to avoid disappointingly small room which we had last time. It was good, large airy and in good décor. Bit disappointed with sink orientation and failure to get really hot water there. Disturbed by noisy air unit until late, shaken awake at 07.00 and windows rattled constantly thereafter. The staff we came in contact with were all friendly and efficient.
Would recommend a superior room, but might want to avoid one near the noisy unit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLR181147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of your time with us at Richmond Hill Hotel, I am delighted that you found the room much more acceptable this visit, from a size perspective. We are obviously frustrated for you that your stay still did encounter noise issues. If you could make me aware of the room you stayed in I would like to investigate all the issues noted with the maintenance team.

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback we look forward to ensuring your next stay with us is perfect.

kind regards

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a lovely visit at the Richmond Hill Hotel with our 6 month old son.
They were very helpful set up a cot for us with no charge and helped with our bags. We could even leave the pram at reception. The rooms were lovely and clean with very comfortable beds.
The pool and spa are lovely to relax in and the food in both the bar and restaurant are fab.
The hotel is situated in a lovely part of Richmond short walk to the park and shops also with a lovely view of the Thames across the road.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is wanting to stay in Richmond.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeandMark2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Zoe

Thank you for your delightful review of your time at Richmond Hill Hotel; it is a pleasure to read that you had such a super stay with us. Your son looks like he was enjoying his visit as well, what a happy little boy.

The kitchen brigade were pleased to read that you had such good meal experiences, they work hard to produce fresh seasonal food and it is always nice to hear that it is enjoyed.

Your observations of our delightful location are so true, something people have to see for themselves to fully comprehend, Lots of lovely walks with a buggy for your son just outside our door.

We do hope you return to the area again, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Although i only stayed 1 night for business use i found the staff here to be extremely helpful. Room was quite large and had a really comfy bed. The restaurant meal was exellent as was the staff's attention. Plenty of selection for breakfast and very fresh. Have been here for working lunch & barbeque also and can't recomend the food highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaEH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Angela,

Thank you for posting such a positive review of your time spent with us for business recently. It is always very motivating to read such feedback.

We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

kind regards

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sth Yorks
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We originally stayed at the hotel some 5 years ago when our son was holding his wedding reception there. At that time we were spoilt by having a large excellent bedroom and lounge suite. This time it was very different, staying in one of the "standard" rooms at the back of the hotel. The room was of the usual design with the small bathroom just inside the door. The bathroom was clean but tiny with a shower over the compact bath enclosed by the usual clingy curtain. It was so small that the loo roll holder got in the way of sitting on the toilet! We were there for 4 nights and during that time the towels were changed 3 times (unrequested) but the shower and shampoo soaps were not replaced.
The bedroom was small with and looked as though it needed a refurbishment. The air con was noisy but fairly effective. One small but irritating point was that the bed was made up in an haphazard fashion with mattress protector hanging off on one side whilst the duvet was totally off on the other side. If you like soft feather like pillows you should be in heaven - personally I do not.
We did not eat in the hotel as it was a lovely stroll down into Richmond to have breakfast at one of the many restaurants in the town (try "Bill's" on the corner of the road leading down to the river bridge). Finally, as others have said, there is a decent sized leisure pool and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molarholer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comprehensive review of your stay with us at Richmond Hill. I am disappointed to read that your previous experience had been more enjoyable in one of our larger suites.

Our standard double rooms are sometimes perceived as small, I am sorry you found this to be the case. I will address the comments raised regarding the care taken to service the room with our housekeeping team, clearly more attention to detail is required so we do not miss these items detailed. We do offer a variety of alternative pillows if those in the room do not appear suitable, just a call to reception would make this change possible.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the friendliness of the staff that is always well received by the team.

kind regards

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.0 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 11 in Richmond
966 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 11 in Richmond
641 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Coach and Horses
0.5 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#10 of 11 in Richmond
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 11 in Richmond
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hill Hotel

Property: Richmond Hill Hotel
Address: 144-150 Richmond Hill, Richmond TW10 6RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#4 Family Hotel in Richmond
#6 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#6 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming town of Richmond, Surrey, and only seven miles from Central London, London’s West End and Heathrow Airport, Richmond Hill Hotel is a 4 star hotel that features accommodation, restaurant, meeting and event rooms and a fabulous leisure centre. The hotel is near Richmond Station which is on the District line and only 7 miles from Heathrow airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Richmond Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hill Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing