We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch-Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Petersham Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stunning views, a warm welcome and a well priced Sunday Lunch Menu.

We have had several Sunday lunches here over the winter and they were all faultless.

The Menu choice is great with imaginative dishes, Roast Beef always superb.
Service is traditional, proffessional, attentive and spot on.

Awesome wine list and terriffic value for this quality.

I cannot complain about anything here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HERSHAMBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had a large river view double (room #321) which was warm, spacious and comfortable. With a small separate adjoining room (between bathroom and bedroom) that housed a desk, small couch and another tv there was a lot of space available. The bed was very comfortable and the little sitting area by the bay windows that lead to the little balcony was a nice spot to sit and watch the sunset over the thames.

The bathroom (separate toilet) was ample in size too, with twin basins and a good shower (in bath, not too cramped).
Gilchrist & Soames products were a nice touch.

Our room looked out immediately on to the car park but it was easy to look past that and enjoy the view of petersham meadows and the thames. We could also see glimpses of richmond bridge and richmond hill.

Free wifi was nice but not reliable in the room. Free bottled water (Blenheim Palace) was appreciated.

Strangely (at least for us) our room was inundated with ladybirds. They kept coming in via the balcony door.

The hotel's location is very convenient. We walked to Richmond high street in 15 - 20 minutes (slow walk) and a walk of about the same length took us to richmond bridge. We went to Petersham Nurseries Restaurant for lunch on one day which was another short walk (10 minutes over Petersham Meadows). Ham House (national trust) is not much further. The number 65 bus took us from just outside the hotel through Richmond high street, past the station, to the front gate of Kew Gardens (15 minutes). A steep walk up Richmond Hill (5 minutes) leads to another good sunset viewing area in front of a nice pub (which lets you take drinks out across the street).

We used the hotel as a 2 night recovery location to help get over the long haul flight from Australia which worked well for us.

Room Tip: Go for the river views so that you can enjoy the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business in a single room. Rooms are small and old fashioned. Part of the bathroom wall under sink fell apart onto my foot with 2 screws sticking out. Over priced needs cleaning up and decorating. I did not eat here on this occasion

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank ARafiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is a lovely hotel that I stay in regularly when in Richmond with work. Service is excellent, food is very good and they will always go the extra mile. The view from the restaurant is sublime on a clear day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitebeetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in March 2014. A beautiful hotel in a stunning location looking over the river. Definitely worth paying extra for river view superior room which was reasonable size, large bathroom, small balcony, stunning view of river. Very quiet and warm inside. Good service. Wifi worked well for 2/3 days. Breakfast was in restaurant with beautiful view of river, which made up for average quality of food. To get to Richmond station it is a £10 pound cab, or 4 stops on 65 bus, or a 25 minute walk along the river path (beautiful for walks, running and cycling). Good connections to Heathrow & London for day trips. Richmond Park and a pub at top of hill nearby, lots of good restaurants within 15 minutes walk.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Aussie-Travel-lerzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is the best hotel that I know. It achieves very high standards in a quiet way that is friendly and relaxing. If you like excellent hotels with atmosphere and elegance then try the Petersham.

The hotel is on the side of Richmond Hill overlooking famous watermeadows by the Thames. In the far distance are the Surrey and Berkshire Hills. On a clear day in winter you might just see Windsor Castle.

The hotel staff are always welcoming and helpful (my opinion is based on three visits over a couple of years). The rooms are comfortable and typical of this class of hotel - unless you pay for a river room, in which case you get a larger room and the lovely views, possibly with a balcony.

The hotel restaurant is comfortable and well-designed with enormous windows making the most of the views (did I mention them?). I'm not a gourmet and I've only eaten there once. The rest of my party said that the food was excellent. If you like restaurants visit the famous Petersham Nurseries (restaurant and garden centre), which is less than 1 mile away. A mile beyond the Nuseries is Ham House, a beautiful 17th century stately home.

The hotel's location is quiet and pretty. There are very pleasant urban and rural walks all around. Richmond Park (woods, lakes, deer, cycle-hire) is about 400 yards away. Richmond upon Thames is less than 1 mile away (you can walk along the Thames path or take a bus). Richmond is a busy shopping and entertainment centre; it is on the Tube and the railway (Central London is 30 mins away).

Kingston upon Thames is 3 miles upstream. Hampton Court Palace is 3 miles upstream of Kingston. Scheduled riverboats go up to Hampton Court and down to Westminster.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view. They're expensive but so are champagne and caviar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnerleyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just returned from a one night stay at the Petersham Hotel and have nothing but praise for this elegant but welcoming old hotel. We booked via booking.com and did not really know what to expect.
The hotel is a beautiful, grand Victorian building in parkland on a hill overlooking the Thames - absolutely beautiful and only 10 miles from Central London.
The welcome was very friendly and efficient. We were able to check in early and were delighted that our room had been upgraded to a suite with a balcony. My wife particularly loved the bathroom which had his and hers sinks, separate shower, huge bath and great quality make-up mirror.
Free parking at the hotel was an added bonus.
We slept perfectly and had a lovely breakfast to round off the stay. It was very good value for such comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunbeamCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 14 in Richmond
1,528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#7 of 14 in Richmond
1,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#5 of 14 in Richmond
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Coach and Horses
1.8 mi away
The Lensbury
The Lensbury
#1 of 3 in Teddington
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Petersham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Petersham Hotel

Address: Nightingale Lane, Richmond TW10 6UZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#4 Family Hotel in Richmond
#4 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#4 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £105 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Petersham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Petersham, we believe that a proper night’s sleep is the most important part of anyone’s stay.- 8 miles from Heathrow Airport, Central London and the West End.- Easy access to A3, M3, M4 and M25 motorways.- 5 minutes to Richmond station – South West trains and District Underground Line.- Free parking.- Free WiFi.- Spectacular views over the River Thames and meadows.- The restaurant offers modern European cooking by award winning head chef Alex Bentley.Check in time from 14.00Check out time before 11.00Room types:- 5 single rooms- 37 double rooms- A wheel-chair friendly room- 15 River View double rooms- The PenthouseCancellation Policy:No charge if cancelled by 16.00 on the day before arrival. After this time, the room charge for the first night will be applied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Petersham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petersham Hotel Richmond
Hotel Petersham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing