We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Petersham Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed three nights on the second floor balcony room at the front of the hotel, overlooking the car park but with a view of the Thames. The service was excellent. The accommodation was clean and every need was catered for.

Would stay at the Petersham again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    197
    82
    37
    21
See reviews for
110
259
34
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Business booking so no view, however the location and view from the restaurant is superb. Very helpful reception staff, relaxing stay after two busy days. Very close to Richmond Park, Terrace gardens and Richmond itself.
Attentive staff in an excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinHood024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, Kent
Level Contributor
181 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed at the Petersham to celebrate my wife's birthday. Nice looking hotel well positioned for walks along the Thames Pathway. Room was quite nice and comfortable and clean so all good there. We stayed in room 403 as I asked for a quiet room, and that was fine.

We wanted to book a table for two in the restaurant as neither of us wanted to be tee total for the evening and wouldn't want to drive.

Came back from a walk at about 5.30 and asked at desk to book a table. Was treated with disdain by two members of staff, one of whom (The lady) seemed to be all knowing about the restaurant. They both said "Sorry all booked up this evening". I questioned this, as I could envisage our celebration evening with champagne vanishing into the distance. The lady said
"Our restaurant is always fully booked at weekends, you can go into Richmond, there are restaurants there". There was no offer of any recommendations or assistance. Now, if I had been told this on check in or asked if I wanted to book a table for the restaurant at that time, I could have done so, but it did not occur to me that a hotel restaurant would not be in a position to cope with the quantity of residents because the hotel was either full or nearly full. It would have been really helpful to have know in advance that the restaurant gets fully booked at weekends and cannot take bookings or provide service to all the residents who want it, and if that is the case, maybe a printed sheet with a few recommendations and telephone numbers on a sheet of paper might be a good idea. An hour spent on the internet trying to sort something out was an aggravation. Most of the restaurants in Richmond were chain restaurants such as Prezzo, Zizzi, Café Rouge, Jamie Oliver's and the like. I can get that at home thanks. I looked into the restaurant on our way out to a restaurant a few miles away. Didn't seem very busy at that moment in time (7.45)

Breakfast was ok, man taking orders was rather brusque and seemed impatient and rather monosyllabic.

Would I go back, probably yes, we quite liked the place and the area. I would book the restaurant at the same time to prevent a repeat performance of the aggravation caused this stay.
TV in room good and clear.

Room Tip: They do have weddings here, so maybe a request for a room away from any noise might be sensible. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foxycreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
makati
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night and the building is beautiful outside and in. Close to Richmond Park and overlooks the river. The beds were a little too soft for my liking but great place to stay. The bathrooms were modern but the rooms themselves were a bit older.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mntbikebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y Felinheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Petersham is one of our favourite hotels - thank heavens it wasn't demolished two or three decades ago when common sense prevailed over a plan to knock it down and build an 8-storey tower block, which would have ruined the countryside idyll overlooking the Thames as painted by Turner, Reynolds etc and made this corner of Richmond into an architectural laughing stock. Fortunately, it remains the great birthday cake of a Victorian hotel as intended, with some modernisation to the building, which includes the wonderful dining area with its vistas. Stayed four nights over the Easter period in a fairly ordinary but adequate room (we had a better bathroom on previous occasions) but with a view of the woods as before (rooms with a view of the Thames come at a premium). Best breakfast was on the last day - poached haddock with eggs for me and French Toast with Maple Syrup for my wife. We got a very good deal by visiting the hotel's website (though on this occasion it failed and I had to phone the hotel), a less expensive offer than available on other internet sites and, believe it or not, it worked out the same as it would have cost to stay at the Premier Inn on Richmond's Lower Mortlake Road (decent and affordable depends on time of year... and what you can afford or are prepared to pay). I buttonholed a staff member, who had a passing resemblance to the current Mayor of London (younger version) and asked where I could find the portraits of Lauren Bacall and Humphrey Bogart who have been among the many famous stars to have stayed at or visited the Petersham (I'm fairly sure I had spotted these before). He must have been relaitively new because he wasn't quite sure but told me he had failed to recognise Robert Downey Jnr who made an enquiry at reception that very day. I said not to worry because I would not have recognised Mr Downey Jnr either - wrong generation for me. The staff members are always very helpful. My wife and I enjoyed our stay, as we always do. It's easy to stroll down to the Thames as it is to go for a drink or a meal at the Rose of York (old stables converted into hotel and pub), likewise the Roebuck, which is up the hill, or to the nearby Buccleugh gardens or indeed the five minutes it takes to walk into Richmond town centre and its cinema, numerous restaurants, cafes and shops, bridges, walks, river ferry trips and so on.

Room Tip: Stay at this hotel, not only because of its architecture, comfort, helpful staff and relatively easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We booked in the Petersham at the last minute as a treat. It was a lovely surprise. The building reflected the grandeur of a period property, beautifully lit when we arrived in the evening, with a porter and friendly receptionist. The staircase is breathtaking, with the ceilings beautifully painted. The care taken to the artwork in the common areas was very agreeable.
We did not get a room by the river (view on the parking lot) given the price difference but enjoyed the beautiful view at breakfast. The hotel does not have its own ground, only a small garden, but freerides quite effectively on the giant Richmond surroundings.
Some of the downsides were the temperature of the room (a little warm despite heating being off), as well as the staff at breakfast. For some reason they did not seem to be having a particularly happy morning. When we asked to change table to be able to enjoy the view a bit more, the waitress did not want to clean the table we asked for and wiped the breadcrumbs with a napkin she was going to give us... And the staff seemed keen to clean up after breakfast, starting to tidy up 10 minutes before the end of the service.
The English breakfast was nothing special but fine.

Would stay there again, but maybe grab breakfast somewhere else...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDodo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beeston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

lovely hotel and even though outside Richmond it was easy to get there.
I stayed here for two nights as an alternative to staying in London. The value for money was much better and though I was not really aiming to do much in London that weekend, I would probably think of staying here for any London visit because the value for money was so much better than what you get in London.
My room was small but adequate for a solo traveler. The design was a bit odd but that reflected having to cram all the amenities into a small space. Most important for me, the bed was very comfortable with pristine white sheets and soft pillows and the bathroom and toilet were spotless.
Breakfast was more than fine (table service not buffet) but standard and as such forgettable. The view from the dining room though was very pleasant.
the Hotel was easy to get to from Richmond (65 bus to Kingston from Richmond station, get off at Nightingale Lane) and was also easy for traveling to Heathrow (65 bus to South Ealing, then Piccadilly to Heathrow approx 45 mins). It was also easy to get to Kew gardens from the hotel.
all in all depending what your plans are, I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 11 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Coach and Horses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 11 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
1.8 mi away
Kew Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Petersham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Petersham Hotel

Property: The Petersham Hotel
Address: Nightingale Lane, Richmond TW10 6UZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#3 Family Hotel in Richmond
#4 Business Hotel in Richmond
#4 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Petersham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Petersham, we believe that a proper night’s sleep is the most important part of anyone’s stay.- 8 miles from Heathrow Airport, Central London and the West End.- Easy access to A3, M3, M4 and M25 motorways.- 5 minutes to Richmond station – South West trains and District Underground Line.- Free parking.- Free WiFi.- Spectacular views over the River Thames and meadows.- The restaurant offers modern European cooking by award winning head chef Alex Bentley.Check in time from 14.00Check out time before 11.00Room types:- 5 single rooms- 37 double rooms- A wheel-chair friendly room- 15 River View double rooms- The PenthouseCancellation Policy:No charge if cancelled by 16.00 on the day before arrival. After this time, the room charge for the first night will be applied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Petersham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petersham Hotel Richmond
Hotel Petersham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing