We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Depends what you like”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Petersham Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Depends what you like”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I am not any more into staying into traditional, heritage English places with "character". They simply do not provide good value. Room was tiny, equipment dated, TV from nineties screw to the wall. Dusty curtains, throw and cushions. I have stayed in much better rooms in mere B&Bs. Place is popular with people over 65. It is 20 min walk from the station or £8 cab ride. General facilities are lovely. We used impressive river conference room with lovely terrace benefiting from nice views. Food offering is not too generous. Staff is very polite. Building is impressive, looks like a castle. So if you like what people consider posh, stay there. If you like comfort, space and value, check other options in Richmond.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank pekao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    197
    82
    37
    21
See reviews for
110
259
34
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
401 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

As locals, we really want to love this place. it has an enviable position on Richmond Hill with fabulous views of the meadow and Thames but the quality of the hotel itself is just not up to scratch. On entry, there's no-one to greet you but we knew where the restaurant was so just showed ourselves through to it.

As other reviewers have said, it's in need of a spruce up and I'd imagine the rooms are tired as the restaurant area is too. We went for afternoon tea on a sunny afternoon but were almost the only people in there! with no background gentle music, it felt a bit awkward as every word was overheard from us and one other occupied table. Food was just average, service fairly poor. although it was well staffed, they were inattentive and seemed more interested in chatting about football scores amongst themselves. There was no warmth or care shown really.

Thi place should be full of locals and tourists but is empty. For an example of how to attract locals and have a buzzy dining area, managers should visit the Runnymede on Thames for inspiration! I really want to love this place and use it often for the wonderful views but it's just lacking something. I would start with the staff - make us feel welcome please, be smart and friendly and attentive (I've had lunch here a couple of times too over the past few years but also found it a bit lacklustre)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful setting and has fabulous views but in general the hotel is tired and needs refurbishment. It is not up to the standard of a 21 century hotel.
The meal in the restaurant was poor and the steak was so fatty it was returned and not charged for which is an indication of the whole visit.
The location and the views are spectacular the room had a balcony overlooking the river and not one of the river view rooms had a table or chair to be able to sit out and admire the view very disappointing

Room Tip: river view rooms are the only reason to go and the rooms are tired but if you need hotel in this loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john69_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I attended a wedding Reception at this venue and was not disappointed. It is a beautiful Hotel, very well kept and the grounds are fantastic and the views stunning. I was eating in one of the Private dining areas and the food was fantastic. I would certain recommend this hotel for food and Location

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline4845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The Petersham has several charming features, most of all its stunning views of the River Thames and its surrounding fields.

My course mate and I shared a room in the front part of the building. She felt it lacked privacy and was a little too noisy in the morning for her liking. My bed wasn't very comfortable... the springs might have been worn.

We both thought the best feature of the room was the bathroom, which was spacious and well fitted.

The restaurant serves a mean Petersham Salad, a surprising mix of veggies with a very palatable dressing. Service was excellent.


  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenyew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you want to find a magical dinner venue with stunning views of the River Thames, look no further! This hotel has it all. Ask for a window table in the restaurant; the views are to die for. The food and service are just as impressive too, and good value with the set menu. Finishing off with coffee out on the terrace while watching the sun go down on the longest day was the perfect ending.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Fantastic view and very elegant room. However the afternoon tea, while plentiful was not up to the standard of other options -such as Claridges. Of more concern was the indifferent service. We were barely welcomed to the table and left for some time before the waiter came and asked for our tea preferences. He gave no explanation as to what food would be provided. When the teas came after another interval, only three of the 4 orders arrived and it was not until the food arrived some time later that we were able to ask about the missing order.

We actually had a voucher which included champagne but this was not referred to and we were never asked if wanted champagne ( we didn't actually but it would have been nice to have been asked!) and we did point this out when we paid the extra for our friends. I think this was taken into account with the bill but not sure.

So in summary, a very pleasant occasion, married by indifferent service. And they were not in the least busy- so no excuse really. we have had afternoon tea in London at other locations, such as the Ritz and the Claridges which while VERY busy managed to make you feel special. This was lacking at the Petersham

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MreMargaretRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 11 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Coach and Horses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 11 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
1.8 mi away
Kew Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Petersham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Petersham Hotel

Property: The Petersham Hotel
Address: Nightingale Lane, Richmond TW10 6UZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#3 Family Hotel in Richmond
#4 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#4 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Petersham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Petersham, we believe that a proper night’s sleep is the most important part of anyone’s stay.- 8 miles from Heathrow Airport, Central London and the West End.- Easy access to A3, M3, M4 and M25 motorways.- 5 minutes to Richmond station – South West trains and District Underground Line.- Free parking.- Free WiFi.- Spectacular views over the River Thames and meadows.- The restaurant offers modern European cooking by award winning head chef Alex Bentley.Check in time from 14.00Check out time before 11.00Room types:- 5 single rooms- 37 double rooms- A wheel-chair friendly room- 15 River View double rooms- The PenthouseCancellation Policy:No charge if cancelled by 16.00 on the day before arrival. After this time, the room charge for the first night will be applied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Petersham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petersham Hotel Richmond
Hotel Petersham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing