We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Richmond Gate Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Hotel and Staff”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We arrived Saturday afternoon. I can’t say enough about the hotel and staff. The room was amazing and the staff where first class. I can honestly say it’s one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. It’s also in a great location.
Will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    300
    185
    81
    42
See reviews for
155
449
30
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Surely the closest hotel to Richmond Park and within walking distance of Richmond town centre, this hotel has location, at least, in it's favour. To that positive can be added the friendliness of the staff, which always makes the most disappointing venue seem bearable. Having said that, a four star hotel with this quality of food and practically no room service will only satisfy for so long.

Having checked in smoothly, I discovered my room to be as large as could feasibly accommodate a double bed but certainly no larger. Amusing myself with the practicalities of how they possibly got the bed into the room in the first place, I opened the curtains to find the window facing, only a metre away, the wall of an adjoining building. No natural light then.

An attempt to order a cheese and tomato sandwich resulted in, without very much delay, the delivery of a cheese sandwich with half a chopped tomato on the side. The plate otherwise covered in a mammoth pile of salted crisps. An attempt to order a room service sandwich the next night - at around 10 to midnight - brought the response that as there were only two staff on duty it was not possible to offer room service.

Breakfast the next morning was basic. A selection of cereals and fried items on a table barely cleaned from the last occupant.

On the plus side, the location is good for the Park and the hotel's contracted taxi service is excellent. There's an adjacent healthclub which is also v convenient. As a hotel though, it's a missed opportunity and only questionably 4 star.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glengarry3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
113 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed here for one night and were really pleased. From the moment we stepped through we were greeted by happy, smiling and helpful staff and that remained consistent over our stay from front of house,house keeping and restaurant staff.
The hotel is ideally situated just outside of the park and close to town centre and thames. Tubes is either 15 minute walk or 5 min taxi ride, and then just 40 mins into London.
The room was large by london standards with probably the most comfortable bed and duvet we have ever had in any hotel.clean tidy and fresh and super large bathroom.
special praise for the waitress and breakfast chef, my wife is a coeliac and cannot eat vegetable oil. Between them they sorted a personal breakfast to suit her needs no moans and with no problem. This is usually a nightmare but special breakfast arrived and was GREAT.
A great stay THANKYOU

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbymoore06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel on Saturday night and couldn't fault any apsect of our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful and really couldn't do enough for us. The receptionist was especially helpful and even offered complementary maps of London and Richmond which was very useful as we has not stayed in Richmond before and therefore had no knowledge of the surrounding area.

The hotel itself is very attractive, clean and comfortable and our room was an absolute delight and very luxurious. We were lucky enough to have a balcony which over looked Richmond Park.The breakfast was delicious and the choice excellent (full english, cereals, continental, danish etc).

The hotel is a ten minute walk to the centre of Richmond which is very handy for pubs/restaurants etc, and is also perfect if you wany to avoid late night city centre noise.

We will most definately stay here again and plan to return very soon bacause Richmond is totally gorgeous.

We would highly recommend this hotel if you need a place to stay in Richmond

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony if possible. It may cost a little extra, but it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I recently stayed at the Richmond Gate hotel when atending a wedding reception. The moment we walked in the door we were greeted by the manager who was very helpful. He showed us around, gave us the numbers of local buses should we wish to travel into Richmond town centre and offered a few local walks we might like to try. A very good start! The room itself was small but clean and functional. The full-english breakfast included in the room rate was very good. If driving, please be aware that parking, whilst free, is limited. The health spa looked very well equipped. This is a hotel I'd be happy to recommend and the situation, right next to Richmond Park, is hard to beat.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikey_sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

I stayed here for one night as my friend was having his wedding in Richmond Park. Got to say the Hotel Staff were really helpful. They allowed me to book in to my room early so the groom and ushers could all get changed. Bare in mind we only had 2 rooms booked in the whole hotel from the wedding party, so they had no need to be this helpful.
The room itself was clean and modern, a little small, but not a problem. I asked for a cot for my baby daughter and they were prompt to bring it up to the room. Little things like a full ironing board and iron in the cupboard are a nice touch. Nice flat screen tv, and comfortable bed.
At the end of the night we walked out of Richmond Park, took us a 10 minute stroll. We invited a number of people from the wedding and the hotel were happy to have us all there, and happy to keep the bar open until 5am too.
All in all had a lovely stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atmontejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Ask for back room with a view to the garden as the hotel is very noisy. Ask if they are having any functions or weddings - If so I would recommend staying elsewhere as the noise and disruption is quite bad.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjillmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.0 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 11 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Coach and Horses
0.4 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 11 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kew Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Gate Hotel

Property: Richmond Gate Hotel
Address: 152-158 Richmond Hill, Richmond TW10 6RP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Richmond Gate Hotel is an elegant eighteenth century building situated at the top of Richmond Hill. Located in Surrey just 7 miles from London's West End and within easy distance from London Heathrow Airport. Richmond Gate is ideally located for visiting the attractions of West London and Surrey, including Twickenham Rugby Ground, Wimbledon Tennis, the new Wembley Stadium, Kew Gardens and Hampton Court Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Richmond Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing