We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with excellent personalised service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Richmond Gate Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I always stay at the Richmond Gate when I am working in London. It is comfortable, friendly and away from the bustle of central London. The food is freshly cooked and excellent value. Rooms are spotlessly clean with very comfortable bed and pleasant views especially if you ha e a garden room. Richmond is a delightful town with shops, cinemas and theatres. I also love the walk from the hotel to the station. A great start to the day. There is also a fabulous Spa and its great to have an early morning swim. I would highly recommend the hotel for business and leisure. Thank you to all at the Richmond Gate for consistently excellent service.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieawin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

868 - 874 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and upon arrival found the staff to be very rude, un helpful and patronising! we had been travelling for 6 hours, to arrive at the hotel, and did not even receive a smile from the 2 male receptionists just glum faces! My mum has a broken back and we were told to follow the signs to our bedrooms bt found ourselfs going up and down different sets of staircases, and the stairs were so narrow it was dangerous to be pulling a suitcase up the stairs and was appalled that we were not offered any assistance.The fire alarm was also activated in the early hours of sunday morning waking the whole hotel up,bt we did not receive any explanation for this. we would never stay here again and were very dissapointed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amanda kelly k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed here as a Birthday treat and was made to feel special from the moment we walked in.Arrived all in a fluster as we were running late due to leaving our 10 week old baby overnight for the first time.Check in was very smooth and professional and in less than 10 mins from checking in and finding our room we sat in the bar relaxing.
We were not eating at the hotel as it was a Sunday and the restaurant is shut but the bar was doing bar snacks which looked divine and were being eagerly consumed by the other hotel patrons in the bar area.
When we arrived back from our night out the bar was shut but they kindly bought us some coffee while we sat in the bar area.
The room was cosy but contemporary with lovely fluffy duvets and a choice between hard and soft pillows ( husband likes soft and I like hard ).The bathroom was very modern and glamourous with some lovely smellies to use.
Rushed down to breakfast as had a abit of a lie in ( very rare treat now) and there was still ample of food left and the buffet breakfast was piping hot.The breakfast waitress was very polite and wore a big smile on her face and served us with a huge pot of tea on arrival.Breakfast is served in the conservatory which over looks the garden and has a lovely relaxed feel about it.
Unfortunately after breakfast we had to head off home but would have loved to have tried the Spa as it looked divine.Maybe next time and there will be a next time as we were very impressed with this hotel and it's wonderful staff

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_and_Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed here weekend of 18th/19th February for family christening. I found the hotel very unfriendly - staff either looked bored or didn't smile. I asked at receptionn if theyb could change a £10 for two £5s and received a dismissive reply. Very cool and abrupt check in. We also were told about the option to pre purchase breakfast for £12 each at check in. When we returned later in the day to purchase this, a different member of staff at reception told us that they didn't do it.

Breakfast isn't worth the full price of £16 or the prepay rate of £12 - we went down at 8am on the Sunday and there was no hot breakfast on offer at all. we had to wait 20 mins for this to be put out as it is a self service area (this caused us a problem as we needed to leave the hotel early). The plates which breakfast is served on are also cold.

The rooms are small - we had a garden room with patio doors onto the garden area - I thought I may have to open the doors to get into bed!

There was also a party in the conservatory on the Saturday night which didn't finish until midnight and we could hear the disco in bed from our room. If you are staying for a weekend, then ask for a room at the front of ther hotel or you will be disturbed.

Also never anyone at the bar to get a drink.

Either this hotel doesn't care or it is full during the week with business guests and can afford to be complacent. Won't return.

Room Tip: Front of hotel if staying at weekend to avoid party noise from conservatory
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snugglesYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

There are essentially four key hotels in Richmond - The Petersham (tired), the Richmond Hill (poor), The Bingham (nice) and the Richmond Gate - and I've stayed in all of them mostly due to the fact that the company I work for is based in Richmond.

As of the moment, the Richmond Gate is my preferred choice - but it depends solely on the room you get. The main 'old' building is terrific and the rooms are excellent, but there is a more modern (and tired) extension on the back where the quality of the rooms is variable. For example, when I stayed there last week - the toilet didn't flush properly (gross).

Still, I like the feel of the hotel. It feels small, friendly. The staff are good, and breakfast is OK - if slightly overpriced. For some reason if you get a voucher from reception the cost of the breakfast falls to GBP12 if you're not on a B&B rate.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LambkinBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

went for the weekend, very clean and comfy, excellent breakfast, the cedars health club has good pool and can be reached from inside the hotel, i thought we had to go outside so didnt take flip flops but wished i had. i would have liked more info on local attractions, a leaflet stand in the lobby would have been good. had dinner in the Roebuck pub down the road, very good value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel is well positioned for a visit to Richmond American University. Rooms are small. Hard to bring bags to the room. Hotel is not comfortable and unremarkable, but convenient to Richmond American University around the corner and slightly down the hill. There are only 3 closest choices to visit your child at Richmond American University: this place, the very similar Richmond Hill Hotel next door and a better, but less convenient Petersham Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldPhotoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.0 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 14 in Richmond
1,552 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#4 of 14 in Richmond
683 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Lensbury
The Lensbury
#1 of 3 in Teddington
513 reviews
0.7 mi away
Richmond Inn Hotel
Richmond Inn Hotel
#10 of 14 in Richmond
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#13 of 14 in Richmond
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Gate Hotel

Address: 152-158 Richmond Hill, Richmond TW10 6RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £78 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Richmond Gate Hotel is an elegant eighteenth century building situated at the top of Richmond Hill. Located in Surrey just 7 miles from London's West End and within easy distance from London Heathrow Airport. Richmond Gate is ideally located for visiting the attractions of West London and Surrey, including Twickenham Rugby Ground, Wimbledon Tennis, the new Wembley Stadium, Kew Gardens and Hampton Court Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, LateRooms, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Richmond Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing