We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Richmond Gate Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bingham(Richmond)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    The Red Cow(Richmond)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Reviews (1,056)
    Filter reviews
    1,056 results
    Traveller rating
    364
    322
    210
    104
    56
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    364
    322
    210
    104
    56
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsafternoon teathe riverswimming lessonslovely hotelhealth clubleisure facilitiessecret escapesstandard roomlarge bathroomideal locationbuffet stylelovely rooma lovely stayham houseenjoyable staykew gardenshampton court
    Filter
    Updating list...
    740 - 745 of 1,056 reviews
    Reviewed 6 November 2013

    Really dark and dingy rooms, big enough to just fit the bed for a really hefty price. Very few options in the menu if you want to order food. Not a great place to crash in any way. The staff at the reception can be friendly though which is the only plus!

    • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Luv4884
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 November 2013

    My husband and I stayed at the Richmond Gate Hotel from November 1 to November 3 2013 because we could not get accommodation at our first choice hotel in Richmond, because of the international Rugby match. It was my birthday and the hotel provided champagne and fruit in our room, which was a really nice touch and much appreciated.

    However, we had booked an Executive room which was very expensive and very over priced for the facilities available. The room was very small and had a view over the conservatory roof! The room was stuffed with furniture and we were tripping over ourselves. The mirror inside the wardrobe door was on the wrong side - you could not open the door because a bedside table was in the way which could not be moved because of the bed. I think when you pay the price we paid, these small things should have been sorted out.

    The bathroom was nice but when I ran a bath the water was not hot enough, and the temperature couldn't be altered so it was a quick bath rather than a long soak.

    We did not have breakfast which was an extra as it was much cheaper to buy breakfast in Richmond itself. I think breakfast should have been included in the price of the room.

    This hotel is resting on its laurels and the management need to either upgrade the rooms or downsize the prices.

    Room Tip: Don't go for the executive rooms - they are not worth the money
    • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Alison J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 November 2013

    As a frequent visitor to Richmond I have often stayed at the Richmond Gate Hotel. It's situated at the top of Richmond Hill and very close of the entrance to Richmond Park. The hotel is comfortable and well appointed with access to the Cedars Health Club. All the rooms I have stayed in have been comfortable and generous in size with flat screen tv and excellent bathrooms. I have only ever eaten breakfast as we tend to eat out in the numerous Richmond restaurants and that was the only negative point. Breakfast wasn't up to previous standards and was a hot buffet with limited options. That aside the Richmond Gate offers good value accommodation in a great location.

    • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank stoneleigh19
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 October 2013

    We stayed in a family suite (room 42) for two nights from Friday 25th October. On the plus side, the overall price was reasonable for London at £456 including two lots of breakfast for a family of two adults and three children. The suite was pleasant although the sofa bed was not particularly comfortable. The suite is really suitable for a family of four at most, but not five.
    The disappointing aspects were that the suite was exceptionally hot. We could not adjust the air conditioning to make it cooler. Also, one room overlooks the rear of the hotel and there was a lot of noise both mornings around 5 or 6am with bottles etc being put in bins and trolleys being wheeled about. During the second night there was a lot of external noise / an argument outside the hotel - I believe there was a wedding next door at the Richmond Hill Hotel. So both nights we did not sleep well - as a result of heat and / or external noise. The floor of the room above us was creaky which added to the noise and you could hear the upstairs toilet re-filling.
    The decor of the hotel is acceptable, albeit a little tired. The breakfast was good quality and the service at breakfast was fine. It is also handy being able to park in front of the hotel.
    So all in all, a mixed bag. Good location and good service from the staff, but bad quality sleep and suite too hot.
    Would I stay again? Yes, but probably not in the same suite.

    Room Tip: Be discerning about which room you stay in, and avoid hot rooms that overlook the rear yard of the hotel.
    • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank SheldonCole
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 October 2013

    For the price of the average room-only rate in Central London (circa £150 per night) we recently took advantage of a great offer at the Richmond Gate Hotel – two nights in an ‘executive’ room inclusive of full breakfast and dinner both nights - and most enjoyable it was too.
    We arrived well before midday but reception were most helpful and accommodating, allowing us to park the car outside for the duration (for a nominal £5 per day) and ordering us a taxi to take us to Richmond Station, which is only a half hour’s tube ride away from the West End. The cost of an off-peak travel card (£8), a taxi (circa £6) and parking amounts to significantly less than one would have to pay to park in the city (not to mention the congestion charge) and a lot less hassle. Returning to Richmond we walked from the station. It’s just over a mile but does allow you to take advantage of the delectably quaint town centre (we spent more there in two days than in all our traipsing about Oxford Street and Covent Garden, and far more pleasantly too) finishing off with a casual walk along the river back to the hotel.
    The hotel was just fine. Our room was not large (our deal described it as ‘executive’ but the hotel website only has standard, feature, four poster rooms and suites so I’m not sure what we had in the end - ‘feature’ I think), but it was comfortable, spotlessly clean and well appointed with all of the amenities one would expect. It was in the older, original Regency building facing Richmond Hill and, were it not for a line of trees obscuring it, a great view westward over the river. Our room was at the back; there were larger rooms facing the front but these might get more traffic noise. However, even though the hotel is under the Heathrow flightpath we were never really conscious of that and had two good night’s sleep in a firm but comfy bed. The buffet breakfast was quite acceptable and the three-course table d’hôte dinner choices in our deal were of good quality also. If we hadn’t been committed to the latter there are a host of alternative restaurants in the vicinity
    The staff were all very friendly and attentive so really, I can't find anything to find fault with. We will definitely be staying in the leafy suburbs rather than the throbbing city centre in future – so much more relaxing!

    Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    Thank tandjay
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews