We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little retreat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Richmond Gate Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Recently we stayed here on a lovely weekday trip and we could not fault the place! From the moment we arrived we were looked after to the highest standard and made to feel very welcome! The staff were very friendly and attentive and the garden area was just perfect for a glass of bubbly. The rooms were beautifully decorated and very comfy. You can dander around Richmond at your leisure too! Always helps when the sun is out!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your recent comments on the trip advisor website. I was pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and how much you had enjoyed your experience. It is always a huge honour to read comments about team members and the service they have provided. The garden is wonderful this time of year and I am glad you managed to enjoy the sunshine as well as a glass of bubbly. Thank you for taking the time to make a positive review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Lovely nights stay with very welcoming staff at this hotel.... tended to us greatly along with great food and drinks. Rooms were lovely and very comfortable. would definitely recommend to others for a few days break.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your recent comments on the trip advisor website. I was pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and how much you had enjoyed your experience.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel for your next trip to Richmond

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here on a deal from travel zoo, after reading previous reviews I was not expecting a great stay, but I must give credit it was a lovely quiet relaxing stay. Staff really friendly, lovely welcome, car parking is great value, the hotel is clean with lots of character. No lift to the older parts of the hotel. The evening meal was excellent with a good choice of wine, and breakfast was laid in the conservatory which again was very pleasant. The free use of the Spa was really lovely, a great swim, sauna and steam room, although bear in mind that children use the pool from school finishing until around 5.30.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your recent comments on the trip advisor website. I was pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and how much you had enjoyed experience. It is always a huge honour to read comments about team members and the service they have provided. I am grateful that we were able to overcome your apprehensions unfortunately on occasion some guests are quick to give negative feedback on sites such as this. I thank you for keeping an open mind and taking the time to make a positive review.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Julia and I have stayed at the Richmond Gate Hotel a few times on our travels; both times we have enjoyed the courteous, helpful, friendly staff.

The hotel is full of character and is located on the edge of the very beautiful Richmond Park. We have enjoyed both the ambience and eating quality food in their restaurant.

There is a Gym/Pool/Spa - we have been too busy running around the very gorgeous Richmond Park to make use of these facilities, maybe another time?

Parking is easy; the hotel has its own car park directly in front - there is a charge of £5 per day.

The rooms are very well kept, as you would expect from a hotel in Richmond, we did notice the fan in the bathroom was not working - we didn't mind this but others might.

We had problems with the internet. We have been advised that the wireless is checked every month because there are a lot of executives that stay here and work from here. The connection was unusable for us and this was put down to the football and guests streaming the game live over the internet; however, it was just as bad the following Sunday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anadi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your recent comments on the trip advisor website. I was pleased to read that overall you had a great stay with us and how much you had enjoyed experience. I do take on board your comments relating to our free Wi-Fi and I am sorry it was not working as effectively as we would have liked and we do routinely check the system. During peak demands it can slow a little especially when multiple users are streaming large amounts. We are currently looking at upgrading this facility.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel for your trip to Richmond.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times now and, so far, I wasn't quite sure whether this hotel is average or, below average. Now, having experienced dinner in the restaurant, I'm sure it's very below average. The only reason not to rate it as 'poor' is that the staff are actually helpful - when you can find them and ask for what you'd like that is...
This is your typical 80's experience. Lots of stairs, up and down, and lots of corridors leading to, mainly, small rooms; some of them with limited daylight due to their location in the souterrain. Minbars all empty and air-cons with varying degrees of effectiveness (sometimes "zero" effectiveness i.e. broken). Go to the bar and there's usually no-one there to serve you so; you either have to be patient for a rather long time until someone shows up or, you need to go and look for someone. Same for the restaurant. Once you have managed to be shown a table you'd be confronted with an unimaginative menu and, only if you're "stuck" in the 80's, you'd be "delighted" to find old favourites like sirloin with chips, mushroom and tomato or breast of chicken (really ???). Execution of the dishes reminds you, you’ve guessed it, of the 80’s again. Lack of seasoning and luke warm. Combine that with super overpriced drinks (e.g. 17 GBP for a glass of wine) and you’re paying out GBP 50 for a very mediocre meal (that’s for one person – no dessert !) and you’d need to be very kind to rate this place as average…

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room in the souterrain. These are small and have very limted daylight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trungelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your recent review. I was very sorry to read that you described your stay with us as “very average”. I must apologise that you felt the standard of room that you were allocated was small and not to your liking we do of course offer an executive or suite room type at an additional cost.
I was disappointed to read your comment in reference to the style of food and I will of course be discussing this as a matter with the Head Chef.
We are in fact reviewing our beverage prices at the moment and we carry out regular competitor checks. To be honest I am having difficulty finding a glass of wine at £17.00 per glass that we serve I can only assume that you are mistaken?
I agree the mini bar in your standard room was empty I wish to assure you that this is intentional. Mini bars may be stocked on your request or simply used as a fridge for your own refreshments I am sorry that you were disappointed with this facility.
It is only through comments such as those you have made that we are able to improve our standard and service.
Thank you once again for your feedback

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed for two nights as friends were getting married in the hotel. (Great ceremony!)
Staff were attentive, knowledgable and really helpful. Beautiful location with loads of top pubs and eateries in walking distance. The inclusive Spa had all the usual - running machines, exercise bikes, weights room, a good sized pool, hydrotherapy pool with steam room and sauna.
A memorable stay in a lovely hotel in a special location.
Recommended.....and Nick, the "Weller-esque" manager was top.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_And_Kim123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website.
I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us; it is always great to read comments such as yours. On a personal note thank you for your kind words. As always It always gives me great pleasure to read comments about the team as they are our greatest asset
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Richmond.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights last weekend (May 23/24) for the wedding of friends. The staff were excellent, the rooms were clean and of good order with quality toiletries etc. The wedding was held at the hotel and the service, meal and overall customer care was very good. The recently appointed manager, Nick, really went out of his way to make sure everyone's needs we're attended to, even providing a private room for the wedding guests on the Sunday morning. Certainly a hotel I will go back to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the spa, slight smell of chlorine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevieB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read how much you had enjoyed the wedding which you attended. It is always great to read comments about the service team members have provided and on a personal note thank you for your kind words.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel I do hope this sooner rather than later.

Kind regards

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.0 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 14 in Richmond
1,526 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#4 of 14 in Richmond
679 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#5 of 14 in Richmond
439 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lensbury
The Lensbury
#1 of 3 in Teddington
505 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Coach and Horses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Gate Hotel

Address: 152-158 Richmond Hill, Richmond TW10 6RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £78 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Richmond Gate Hotel is an elegant eighteenth century building situated at the top of Richmond Hill. Located in Surrey just 7 miles from London's West End and within easy distance from London Heathrow Airport. Richmond Gate is ideally located for visiting the attractions of West London and Surrey, including Twickenham Rugby Ground, Wimbledon Tennis, the new Wembley Stadium, Kew Gardens and Hampton Court Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Richmond Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing