We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Richmond Gate Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Richmond
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal Hotel”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Found this hotel to be perfect for what i wanted. Rooms are well equipped with a comfortable bed, and air-con that actually works. The staff were faultless, being both friendly and professional, which is often difficult to achieve. Breakfast was good, with the wide range of choices you would expect. Its' position meant i could easily walk into Richmond centre (which i was very impressed with) or down to the river, and it is also yards from Richmond Park, where i spent an enjoyable and relaxing couple of hours having a wander around. Looking forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on the trip advisor website. I was pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and how much you had enjoyed experience. It is always a huge honour to read comments about team members and the service they have provided. Thank you also for your comments relating to breakfast.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    303
    190
    83
    41
See reviews for
159
450
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed at the Richmond Gate Hotel for one night recently and very much enjoyed it. The staff were extremely welcoming and accomodating and the rooms appointed to a good standard. The hotel is well situated in Richmond which is a beautiful town and has excellent travel links to central London. There is also a lovely outside lawn area in the hotel where you can enjoy drinks in the sunshine if you are lucky! I didn't make it to the spa as we had such amazing weather... I would definitely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanaMcG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on the trip advisor website. I was pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and how much you had enjoyed experience. It is always a huge honour to read comments about team members and the service they have provided. I am glad you got a chance to experience the garden area, it is great this time of the year.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Bought this deal on Travelzoo we got an amazing room/suite, beautiful, clean and spacious. The evening meal was excellent and was the breakfast. Would highly recommend, Walking distance into Richmond town, which is lovely, great views over richmond hill park.

Room Tip: We had room 10 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on the trip advisor website. I was pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and how much you had enjoyed your experience.I thank you for kind comments relating to breakfast and dinner.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Recently we stayed here on a lovely weekday trip and we could not fault the place! From the moment we arrived we were looked after to the highest standard and made to feel very welcome! The staff were very friendly and attentive and the garden area was just perfect for a glass of bubbly. The rooms were beautifully decorated and very comfy. You can dander around Richmond at your leisure too! Always helps when the sun is out!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on the trip advisor website. I was pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and how much you had enjoyed your experience. It is always a huge honour to read comments about team members and the service they have provided. The garden is wonderful this time of year and I am glad you managed to enjoy the sunshine as well as a glass of bubbly. Thank you for taking the time to make a positive review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Lovely nights stay with very welcoming staff at this hotel.... tended to us greatly along with great food and drinks. Rooms were lovely and very comfortable. would definitely recommend to others for a few days break.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on the trip advisor website. I was pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and how much you had enjoyed your experience.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel for your next trip to Richmond

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here on a deal from travel zoo, after reading previous reviews I was not expecting a great stay, but I must give credit it was a lovely quiet relaxing stay. Staff really friendly, lovely welcome, car parking is great value, the hotel is clean with lots of character. No lift to the older parts of the hotel. The evening meal was excellent with a good choice of wine, and breakfast was laid in the conservatory which again was very pleasant. The free use of the Spa was really lovely, a great swim, sauna and steam room, although bear in mind that children use the pool from school finishing until around 5.30.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on the trip advisor website. I was pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and how much you had enjoyed experience. It is always a huge honour to read comments about team members and the service they have provided. I am grateful that we were able to overcome your apprehensions unfortunately on occasion some guests are quick to give negative feedback on sites such as this. I thank you for keeping an open mind and taking the time to make a positive review.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Julia and I have stayed at the Richmond Gate Hotel a few times on our travels; both times we have enjoyed the courteous, helpful, friendly staff.

The hotel is full of character and is located on the edge of the very beautiful Richmond Park. We have enjoyed both the ambience and eating quality food in their restaurant.

There is a Gym/Pool/Spa - we have been too busy running around the very gorgeous Richmond Park to make use of these facilities, maybe another time?

Parking is easy; the hotel has its own car park directly in front - there is a charge of £5 per day.

The rooms are very well kept, as you would expect from a hotel in Richmond, we did notice the fan in the bathroom was not working - we didn't mind this but others might.

We had problems with the internet. We have been advised that the wireless is checked every month because there are a lot of executives that stay here and work from here. The connection was unusable for us and this was put down to the football and guests streaming the game live over the internet; however, it was just as bad the following Sunday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anadi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on the trip advisor website. I was pleased to read that overall you had a great stay with us and how much you had enjoyed experience. I do take on board your comments relating to our free Wi-Fi and I am sorry it was not working as effectively as we would have liked and we do routinely check the system. During peak demands it can slow a little especially when multiple users are streaming large amounts. We are currently looking at upgrading this facility.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel for your trip to Richmond.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.0 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Richmond
1,454 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 11 in Richmond
641 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Coach and Horses
0.6 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#10 of 11 in Richmond
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 11 in Richmond
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Gate Hotel

Property: Richmond Gate Hotel
Address: 152-158 Richmond Hill, Richmond TW10 6RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Richmond Gate Hotel is an elegant eighteenth century building situated at the top of Richmond Hill. Located in Surrey just 7 miles from London's West End and within easy distance from London Heathrow Airport. Richmond Gate is ideally located for visiting the attractions of West London and Surrey, including Twickenham Rugby Ground, Wimbledon Tennis, the new Wembley Stadium, Kew Gardens and Hampton Court Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Richmond Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing