We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I thought it was pretty good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Hotel - Richmond

Riverside Hotel - Richmond
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Hotel - Richmond
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Richmond
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I thought it was pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Used to live in Richmond and so had never stayed here before. Needed 1 night here and booked via agency but everything in order when I arrived - and although I was travelling alone I got a large room and bathroom (no.2) which although certainly dated wasn't shabby. Old bed was grand and comfortable, room had great river view. Basic facilities and not boutique but clean and comfortable. I liked it - and for £85 for single person in double room value was fine. Only downside was breakfast starts at 7.30am - too late to have and then travel into London. Will probably book again, might ask for that room though as it seems from other posts that they're not all as good.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinLondonSW14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    9
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Needed one nights stay around Richmond. Very clean, very helpful and a smashing freshly cooked breakfast. Overlooks the River Thames, small balcony in bedroom and dining room. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidlandsJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

I would recommend this hotel to everyone, which I very rarely do. The staff have been so helpful to us, especially having messed them around with bookings, and they couldn't have been nicer. They are very friendly, the rooms are clean and a good size, breakfast is in the restaurant overlooking the garden and the river. You are a five minute walk into the centre of Richmond and there are some lovely walks on the river from the hotel. I have stayed in some more expensive and much worse hotels in Richmond, and will definitely be coming back here. J

Room Tip: river view rooms obviously ideal choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesboris35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

My brother and I booked the hotel, following a rugby match @ Twickenham (England beat Australia - always a bonus!). The hotel was as described and suited our needs, for the one night we stayed.
The staff where receptive to our requests to leave over night bags, rooms where clean, decor a little dated, but, when you merely wanted a bed, shower and breakfast it was a good find at short notice.
Would I return, Yes, but not for an extended stay - short trip only.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicoDSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

Great place to stay when touring UK. The trainstation is within walking distance so you can travel all over. The towns folk are all friendly and welcoming. The hotel is clean and our room had great views over the Thames . Cooked breakfast is included which gives you a great start to the day. The hotel is old English style which is what I found attractive (coming from Australia and wanting to experience the English life style). Not reccommended for people who can not climb stairs. I would definatelt stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

First of all, this is not a hotel. It's basically a seaside bed and breakfast. It's an old large terraced house that has been divided up into rooms so there is no lift - which is understandable. There is little parking outside for the same reason, this was once a residential area. However the room i had was quite small and very stuffy (room 20) w-a-y up 3 flights of stairs. I said to my partner on the way down to breakfast " i bet they serve the fry up on a side plate", and so they did! I asked for the full english minus the egg - result: 2 rashers of bacon, the smallest sausage in the world and a tomato. That was it! My partner had rice crispies which were stale and chewy ( no snap, crackle and pop). I paid £90 per night and it was far too much, i know richmond is an affluent area and i would be prepared to pay that but the overall value was very low. This should have cost £50-£60. at the most. People expect more nowadays. The manager does look/act uncannily like manuel from fawlty towers too. I wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank eddy621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

dublin,
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

We checked in here for a 3 night stay at £90 per night and found our tiny room up three steep flights of stairs, we could hardly stand upright in the room, never mind move around, the bathroom one person could squeeze into, but the shower was hardly worth using We asked if there was another room and were told 'no, and tomorrow night there is a room in the basement only.' If we were being charged a realistic rate we would have stayed even tho they weren't very welcoming. However at that price we decided to leave the next day and found the Richmond Park down the road, where we were made very welcome, given far nicer, bigger rooms and saved money. We have never left a hotel before but just felt we were being ripped off.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rattlebag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.5 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#10 of 12 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Coach and Horses
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel - Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel - Richmond

Property: Riverside Hotel - Richmond
Address: 23 Petersham Road, Richmond TW10 6UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Richmond
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel - Richmond 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing