We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of an update”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Richmond Park Hotel
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel reminds me of the 1980s. The room contained a single bed with blankets and a counterpane, so tightly tucked in that you feel as if your legs are in a vice when you get into the bed! Your only chance of a comfortable night comes from pulling out all of the tucked in bedclothes. The fitted furniture is similarly dated. Heating comes from a portable oil-filled radiator; the radiator mounted on the wall was chipped and appeared not to work. The carpet was in need of replacement.

My single room was tiny, and the walls were thin; not sure whether the occupant of the room next to mine took a particular delight in noisily slamming doors, but it made for a noisy stay.

The bathroom was clean, but in need of an update. The shower was old, but had plenty of power.

There were two separate signs warning guests not to leave the light on and the window open, for fear of midges and moths. Good advice, I'm sure, but were two signs really necessary?

The hotel feels more like a B&B; if you arrive before 7pm you have to ring a bell for admittance. There's no lift, but that didn't concern me.

The good bits were as follows:

The bed was very comfortable.

The staff were very pleasant.

Breakfast, served in a small room next to the reception, was good.

The location was excellent - right in the middle of Richmond, and walkable from everywhere you'd want to visit.


Overall, a functional and rather old fashioned hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Finance23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Have just stayed here for the weekend as was down to run the London marathon. Fantastic location 2mins from Richmond centre, fab staff who let us keep the bags there. Free WiFi. Opened breakfast early

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alister R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

On arriving the hotel hadn't received my booking, which I appreciate isn't their fault, but luckily they had a spare room for me so I ended up in a twin room rather than a single, which was fine by me. I'd warn you that if you are tall/broad/big in anyway do not get a single bed as I'm sure they are narrower than a normal single bed. The rooms are very basic, dated furniture, but the bathroom was clean & the shower was powerful. The windows are quite thin so if you get a room facing onto the road be warned that it is a little noisy. The mattress wasn't the comfiest but I was so tired that I was grateful for a bed, however when I pulled back the quilt there were 3 flying insects under it, so I searched the rest of the quilt for anymore. I didn't eat breakfast here so i can't rate that, you do get free wifi in your room, however mine wasn't working after 10pm. This a very basic hotel & is cheap considering the area, it's fine for a short break but I doubt you'd want to stay here too long.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovelle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Overall experience at this hotel was good
Breakfast excellenwith lots of choicet
location excellent with great transport links - many great restaurants close by
River walks and Kew Gardens close by
Staff lovely they kept our luggage whilst we went out for the day
Room basic, tired, but good for the price

Room Tip: great hotel on a budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizP15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a nice location, close to the shops, restaurants and of course the river. The room we stayed in was small, and having a one year old in a travel cot, there was not much room to move around. That said, if travelling as a couple or on your own, the rooms would be fine. There is also no lift, which made things tricky with a buggy, thankfully the staff at the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful and helped us up the stairs with our luggage and buggy. We did not stay for breakfast so I couldn't comment on the quality. It's an old building and so the plumbing was a little noisy to say the least, but all in all, it's a good value, little place (I'd say B&B, rather than hotel), just not great if travelling with young children.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank L_Humpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Lovely staff, but the room was tiny, barely enough room to get in. Bed was pushed up against the wall because the room was so small. Room also looked very tired and worn! Location was good and was the free wifi and parking!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liammq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Friendly staff, clean rooms and a reasonable breakfast. Right in the centre of town. Looks a little bit dated but you get what you pay for, and in this case, a little bit more. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 15 in Richmond
1,614 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Teddington
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge London Richmond Central
0.5 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#4 of 15 in Richmond
709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#10 of 15 in Richmond
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Park Hotel

Address: 3 Petersham Road, Richmond TW10 6UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £70 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Richmond Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Richmond Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing