We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow service, average food , friendly staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marlborough

The Marlborough
Ranked #92 of 225 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Slow service, average food , friendly staff”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Spare ribs not good
Roast average
BBQ Chicken burger good
Toffee pudding terrible more like flat compressed pudding
Nice garden and location

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markstewart65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    58
    31
    28
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible !!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Clean your beer lines , clean your garden , bar , basically clean everywhere ! But most of all clean your staffs attitudes in every way !
Could be amazing but sadly so far from the mark
DREADFUL !!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Shaunawade76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“RAW FOOD.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Dreadful service, dreadful staff, and dirty garden.

We were served RAW SAUSAGES with our meal that we seen the chef shrug off, and we were offered a round of "Fosters" for our experience.

Avoid this pub, and head the The Roebuck - which is where we went after, much better service and atmosphere if your in this area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mynameisged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lost direction”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I think everyone agrees that the location, the decor and the garden are excellent. But that's not the reason we're reviewing the pub.

I've lived in the neighbourhood for 10 years on/off and the Malborough is my go-to local. However the risk attached in eating there is real hit and miss.

5 years ago, they were heading in the right direction and food was varied, value for money and presented well, but in the last 12 months I have to say it's bordering on abysmal.

Two weeks ago, myself and a group of friends visited and with the fine weather, the place was packed out. Never a good sign if you're eating as they simply can't cope with larger numbers. Our waitress was wonderful, but the delay in serving, the quality of food was terrible.

One of our party had half a chicken was accompanied with about 10 skinny fries, no salad, nothing on the side. It just looked like a fried mess. A burger also came with a nothing but a pitiful amount of fries. We were told that the kitchen wanted to get us 'started' rather than wait for more which duly arrived 5mins later.

The problem I see is that the place is run by teenagers. There doesn't seem to be any staff over the age of 20. Gone are the days of proper management and it appears the staff (often short in numbers) don't care about the service or the quality of food from the kitchen.

Last summer, I was invited to a tasting course of the forthcoming menu with new wines. It was stunning. Youngs, the owners, looked to be addressing the food side of things yet not one of the dishes has appeared on the 'new' menu as they have reverted to basic pub grub which is neither pleasing on the eye or the palate.

One occasion I visited with family during the winter, it had fewer patrons and the size of the portions were gargantuan which to me indicated that they'd just made too much prep and we're piling it all high as not to waste.

A real shame all things considered and whilst sadly I'll still call in from time to time, I won't be recommending this pub to anyone. I just hope that Youngs pick up on the reviews here and take some positive action!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, average food, no service!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had lunch on a warm Sunday afternoon in the garden and the experience has been really positive! We didn’t have a lot of expectations as most of the reviews say that the food is bad, however or chicken + fries was ok. Service needs big improvements, you guys could make much more money in terms of drinks, desserts & tips if you could take care of your tables!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elena3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Marlborough also viewed

Richmond, Greater London
Richmond, Greater London
 
Richmond, Greater London
 

Been to The Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing