We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of The Dukes Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Dukes Head Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Richmond B&B and Inns
Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Love to go at dukes head for food every time but I ,been last night there and in sunday and food it was absolutely horrible,it looks like come out from the microwave and no presentation at all been for a Sunday roast as well,and I had a lamb it look like is been cook and cover in gravy Yorkshire pudding not nice at All,looks like dukes head is tern to a microwave food I'm sorry but wouldn't never go again very disappointed,and toilets very dirty and filthy covered in dust and dirt,this is not a good place to go for food or drink anymore.

Room Tip: Not a nice place to eat or have a nice drink very poor and the food cheap class,curry rice sorry nev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    37
    14
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
24
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

beds were very uncomfortable, blakets dirty, decore run down and old, not goid value for money. i dont think any money has been spent on the rooms for years and it shows. the pub generally was in a poor state. I think insoectirs should rate B and B so that customers cant be ripped off. they take your money up front with a no refund policy so its difficult when your relying on the photos. the only saving grace is the location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
setters25
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The reviews on Trip Advisor are so, so wrong! This pub B&B is best avoided; the welcome was cursory, we were simply pointed upstairs (3 flights of a steep drab staircase) to our room, where we found a broken window frame, a pair of twin beds pushed together with double bed sized covers, so too small at night and a bathroom with various broken fittings. The bedroom walls are so thin that any noise from adjacent rooms is as if it is in your room - and as for breakfast...it certainly wasn't cooked for us as my wife's fried egg was solid from being kept hot. A drab pub with drab B&B and nothing to recommend it, especially for £105.

Room Tip: I doubt if there is a good room in The Duke's Head!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank setters25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed here purely based on the reviews. I was shocked by the state of the B&B. You enter a pub and find your way up to the rooms via a path of dirty carpets. The rooms are quite dated! Very dated infact. The shower hardly worked with water spraying in all directions. The bathroom cleanliness was questionable. The hot water tap in the basin did not open. The carpets were not clean. There was an old smell! Definitely avoid and go to some other hotels or B&B nearby. Paying above £80 for this place was a rip off. The photos are misleading. The place is falling apart and I can post photos. I am not sure if the positive reviews are of the same place for the place I went to was shocking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MUK04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is not a luxury hotel, but you could guess that by the price you pay. My room was clean and spacious, if a little basic. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast great.
Free parking and a 3 minute walk into town make this a great choice in Richmond.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here with my parents, who subsequently returned a few weeks later while my dad was working at a local theatre. Really comfortable, quiet location, gorgeous breakfast and very good food in the bar. Have recommended it to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

On our first night in England, this B&B put us right in with local folks. The pub downstairs had a Friday night guitarist, really quite good, who drew an audience of locals and tourists in this residential area. The patio in back has beautiful flowers and a back shortcut that takes you to the shops and restaurants of central Richmond with a 5-minute walk. The breakfast is very good; eggs and bacon cooked to taste for each person.
This isn't the Holiday Inn; furnishings are traditional and so are the rooms. But the in-suite bathroom is updated and clean. There's a bus that goes directly from Heathrow to Richmond with an info center staffed by locals right at the Richmond station--they offer brochures and advice about the free evening concert on the riverside and which local bus goes to the B&B. They'll walk you to the stop and put you on the correct bus if necessary. (Don't underestimate how important it is to remember that English buses are opposite from the U.S. when figuring out which bus goes your way. Spoken from experience.)
We were only there one night but this was a nice transition to England; friendly people and a slower pace before we moved on to the more international city of London. In our jet-lagged state it was pleasant to walk along the Thames River and watch the rowers. Kew Gardens are nearby and entrance is free with a London Pass.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
0.5 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 11 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#10 of 11 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond Inn Hotel
Richmond Inn Hotel
#8 of 11 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Coach and Horses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head Inn

Property: The Dukes Head Inn
Address: 42 The Vineyard, Richmond TW10 6AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dukes Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your The Dukes Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dukes Head Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing