We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just right for us!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dukes Head Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Dukes Head Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Richmond B&B and Inns
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Just right for us!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

If I want to nit-pick, then I would have to say that the car parking facilities are minimal, maybe 4 cars comfortably, on a 1st come basis. On street parking is a no-go, but 100 yards walk along the side of the Duke, we found the Paradise Rd. multi-storey. There is no vehicular access from Grosvenor Rd., but just drive around the block. Reasonably priced at £17.20 for 9 hours overnight - no access between midnight and 7.30am.
Yes, the stair carpet at the Duke's head is 'a bit under the weather', as is the stairwell itself, but surely, is that not a sign of it being well used? I wouldn't have even commented, had not other reviewers done so.The exterior of the premises was in the process of being repainted, so maybe the aforementioned is next on the list. The public bar and dining areas were fine.
The accommodation is located on the 1st and 2nd floors, so that might be a problem for those who have difficulty climbing stairs.
The rooms themselves were spotlessly clean, and the varied, freshly cooked breakfasts were very good. We didn't really have the opportunity to try the lunchtime/evening, but the steaks we saw being served were huge!
For a group of guys on an overnight rugby trip, the Duke's Head was perfect, being a leisurely 10 minute walk from the town centre, and 15 minutes from Richmond Athletic Ground.
For plane spotters the location is excellent!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanmanWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    36
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
16
22
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

With a selection of real ales at the bar, a realy friendly manageress, and rooms that were clean and smart, The Dukes head was perfect for our rugby weekend base-camp. We were looked after to a high standard, and the breakfast was very very good. The pub itself is a bit tired, but they are havind some work done at the moment, so im sure it will improve. Over all, whilst you may not want to romance a dame there, it was perfect for us. Will go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazzy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
259 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Was very concerned after reading some of these reviews, but I tend to ignore the single reviewers.

Yes, this should really be described as a B&B in a Pub and not a Hotel as it really is not up to hotel standards. Then again I knew I was booking into a pub so wasn't expecting a hotel. Yes, the outside of the pub is in need of decoration, which is in progress. Yes, the interior decor is drab and need of repair, and the shower in the room is not a high power shower. But the first question to answer is 'would I come back?'. Even though I have only rated this as average, my answer is probably yes.

The positives are that there is a warm welcome. The rooms might be tired and the public areas in need of redecoration, but the bed linen and towels were spotless and the beds pretty much OK for a good nights sleep. Not sure about the heating 'going off' as there was a portable electric heater in the room that you turn on / off yourself. In fact this was far too efficient (even for a crisp November night) and had to be turned off.

Had a meal there in the evening, and this is pretty good. Very well cooked, decent portion and well priced. If you are after pub grub, you can't go too far wrong coming here. Decent range of beers as well. Breakfast is also freshly cooked to order and really good.

If you're looking for a hotel, book a hotel. If you want a decent pub, with good food and an excellent quiet location in walking distance of Richmond centre, then give this place a try. Despite the tired decoration it's not that bad at all. Only average rating as there is no Good option. Tidy the decor up and it would achieve Very Good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nigs_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here in lieu of our normal B&B when on a trip to Twickenham. It was very reasonable and clearly very popular with Rugby fans who return time and time again. It is well situated in Richmond, the staff are very friendly,good beer and breakfast hit the spot. Probably not the most luxurious place ever put ideal for the prupose

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vernon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The recent reviews of this hotel more accurately reflect our experience of this hotel. The location is great - within walking distance of the train station. The hotel advertises parking, but the car park is tiny, and we actually preferred to pay to park in the multi storey car park which is just around the corner and a 5 minute walk.

Although this is advertised as a hotel, I would more accurately describe it as a pub with some rooms. First impressions really weren't great - the route to the rooms is up a flight of stairs which is desperately in need of some new carpet and the hallways redecorating. The room actually wasn't as bad as I was expecting - the sheets were at least clean, but the décor in the room again was in need of renewal. There were no curtains in the bathroom, just some nets badly in need of a wash. The carpet was very stained, and just generally the room was not a place we wanted to spend any time. The heating was switched off by 10.30, so we were also pretty cold. As another reviewer commented, the beds were merely 2 singles pushed together, so it wasn't the best night's sleep we'd ever had either.

We didn't eat in the evening, but had breakfast in the morning, which was fine - it was hot and well cooked.

I debated how to score this hotel, and decided on the 2 just for the welcome and general friendliness of the staff. I got the feeling that they were trying their best, but the standards fell far short of what we were expecting. I know that all rooms in this area are expensive, but even so we felt that this was far from value for money. We would not rush back here....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCALC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Love to go at dukes head for food every time but I ,been last night there and in sunday and food it was absolutely horrible,it looks like come out from the microwave and no presentation at all been for a Sunday roast as well,and I had a lamb it look like is been cook and cover in gravy Yorkshire pudding not nice at All,looks like dukes head is tern to a microwave food I'm sorry but wouldn't never go again very disappointed,and toilets very dirty and filthy covered in dust and dirt,this is not a good place to go for food or drink anymore.

Room Tip: Not a nice place to eat or have a nice drink very poor and the food cheap class,curry rice sorry nev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

beds were very uncomfortable, blakets dirty, decore run down and old, not goid value for money. i dont think any money has been spent on the rooms for years and it shows. the pub generally was in a poor state. I think insoectirs should rate B and B so that customers cant be ripped off. they take your money up front with a no refund policy so its difficult when your relying on the photos. the only saving grace is the location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
0.5 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#10 of 12 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond Inn Hotel
Richmond Inn Hotel
#8 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Coach and Horses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head Inn

Property: The Dukes Head Inn
Address: 42 The Vineyard, Richmond TW10 6AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dukes Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Dukes Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dukes Head Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing