We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique hotel and restaurant”
Review of Bingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bingham
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel and restaurant”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My wife and I had the taster menu with the wine selection on a Thursday night. The place was quite busy which helped provide a good atmosphere. Like many of these situations you can only report on your experience and dinners must decide for themselves based on the good, bad and the ugly reports. For our part the service was extremely good, the food excellent and the look and feel of the place and its surroundings were impressive. Whilst reading reviews on The Bingham it’s really important to remember this is a essentially a small boutique hotel. I also read the report from the poor guy that booked whilst the place was being used as a wedding venue without being told when booking. That’s also happened to me in the past and would never go back as it is nothing short of dishonest. I guess you also have to note the Bingham's managements lack of responce to that review. Anyhow our experience was good and I personally would go back again. Mainly because the food was first class.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellers051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha F, General Manager at Bingham, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Bingham. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent experience at the BIngham and will forward your comments to the restaurant team.

Our Garden Rooms event space, where we host weddings and private parties, is on a separate, self contained floor from the restaurant and bar. We had posted a response to the review to which you refer on the 5th July but hadn’t realised that the guest had posted it on both of our Bingham TripAdvisor pages. Thank you for highlighting this to us.

We hope to welcome you back to the Bingham again in the future.

Kind regards,

Samantha Trinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    101
    37
    20
    23
See reviews for
67
188
11
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The Bingham Hotel is set in a beautiful location overlooking the Thames. Tastefully decorated in a modern style, the dining areas were most attractive. Service was friendly and impeccable . The menu was varied and interesting and the wine list extensive. The food was beautifully presented but did not have that wow factor! The restaurant was lacking a little in ambiance but maybe better suited to couples. I would return but it would need to be for a special occasion as it was pricey for a Tuesday night out.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mintybutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Bingham, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank your for your kind comments about the beautiful presentation of the food, and we have noted your comment about the wow factor.

The restaurant is popular with groups as much as couples, and offers a relaxed, yet intimate atmosphere.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Bingham soon.

Best wishes,
Samantha Trinder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My Husband booked the Bingham for my Christmas present including room with river view, dinner and breakfast and we eventually managed to find a Saturday in July when they could accomodate us. We we told to arrive around 11pm to assure a parking space but on arrival were told the room was not ready until 1pm. We thought of having a relaxing drink downstairs overlooking the river while we waited but were told we could not use any of the downstairs facilities as there was a wedding party (we were not told this when we booked). We had to walk around Richmond until 1pm then returned and were then told the room would not be ready now until 3pm!! We were offered a voucher to spend on drinks at the bar - not much of a consolation as we could not use any of the facilities we were looking forward to!
We were told to have dinner at 6.30pm due to the dining area being booked later on but when we arrived at the restaurant there was a staff meeting being held so we were told to get a drink at the bar (which was packed with the wedding party) while waiting. The food was good but our bedroom was noisy due to the wedding party carrying on outside our window. On checking out the following morning we were presented with a large bill which I questioned and they lowered the price but there was no itemisation of any drinks we had so we ended up using the voucher plus a lot more!! All in all, a romantic weekend away turned into a complete farce and we felt completely ripped off.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Bingham, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Gill,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. It is great to hear your husband chose a stay at the Bingham for your Christmas present, and that you enjoyed your dinner in the restaurant.

We are saddened that some aspects of your stay didn't live up to your expectations, especially as we strive to offer our guests a wonderful experience. Our advertised check-in time is 3pm, and whilst we offered an earlier check-in with good intention, unfortunately the guest who was due to depart from your room failed to do so at the requested time.

Our lounge bar, restaurant and balcony were available for you to enjoy during your stay, and by way of apology a voucher was offered for complimentary cocktails or drinks in the bar.

We are sorry for the discrepancy on your bill, and of course we rectified this immediately. Guests attending an event at the Bingham are asked to vacate the terrace by 11pm, so external noise does not continue after this time. We would very much like to welcome you back to the Bingham, in order that we can provide you with the special experience you were expecting, and will write to your personally regarding what we can offer to ensure your next stay with us exceeds your expectations.


Best wishes,
Samantha Trinder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights during my wedding. The venue itself is in a stunning position, the building is of an adequate standard and the service is pretty much standard. The food is very good, some members of staff are very competent, but I can't say all are. We were lucky to have amazing weather and, because I am super organised, the wedding was also amazing. Will hold fond memories and no doubt will return for anniversaries in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouandjonMf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Bingham, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guest,

At the Bingham we are honoured when chosen to host someone’s wedding and always strive to ensure the day is absolutely perfect and special.

Thank you so much for your comments. We look forwarding to welcoming you back to the Bingham in the near future.

Kind regards

Samantha Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

A very attractive boutique hotel with gardens backing directly onto the Thames, this hotel proved to be a great place for a weekend break. We stayed in the Sweet Briar room, at the very top of the hotel. The views were terrific, however, there were some signs of wear & tear in both the room and bathroom that, considering the room rate, should have been dealt with. In general, the service was very good and the quality of the food in the restaurant, we sampled the tasting menu with wines, was very good indeed. Easy walking distance along the river fron the hotel are a host of restaurants, bars and places just to relax, so for the lazy, indulgent break an excellent choice - not ideally placed if you want to take in the attractions of central London.

Room Tip: Corner room on the 1st floor offer the best size and views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha F, General Manager at Bingham, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for visiting the Bingham and for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, but sorry to hear, that on this occasion, Sweet Briar didn’t meet your expectations.

We do have a continual maintenance programme to improve and repair all areas of the hotel and restaurant and do hope that you will come back and visit us again.

Please contact me directly when you do so that I can ensure that you have a wonderful next visit.

Kind regards,
Samantha Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2012

A lovely hotel - the restaurant and bar beautifully appointed and very relaxing. Food and service in the restaurant was easily up to Michelin standard - an outstanding meal.
What lets the hotel down is the size of the rooms. We stayed in Gorgo which is TINY and at £190 a night seriously overpriced - could hardly move around and not enough space for clothes etc for a 3-night stay. Bathroom a reasonable size but dated and a rusty soap-dish - should pay more attention to detail as they clearly have in the public areas.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimkentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Bingham, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your visit to the Bingham. I am delighted that you enjoyed the food and service and have written that our cuisine is of Michelin standard.

I am sorry to hear you felt our rooms were not of the size you expected. The Bingham is a restored Grade II listed townhouse and as such has a range of room sizes and shapes. Some of the rooms are very large, and as you say some are smaller and aimed more at the one or two night stay.

We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.


Best regards,
Samantha Fitzgerald,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
145 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Lovely hotel with fantastic staff. Couldn't manage to reserve a table for dinner as fully booked, but Terry booked us a great French restaurant close by. Breakfast kippers were awesome. A small problem was dealt with incredibly well by staff. A great place - visit if you can.

Room Tip: Sweet Briar - the one shown on website - is lovely; spacious and great views over the Thames
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redbaron4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha F, General Manager at Bingham, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments!

We love to hear that our guests have had a good experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Samantha Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.4 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 11 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 11 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Coach and Horses
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
0.5 mi away
Richmond Inn Hotel
Richmond Inn Hotel
#8 of 11 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bingham

Property: Bingham
Address: 61-63 Petersham Road, Richmond TW10 6UT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Richmond
#2 Family Hotel in Richmond
#3 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bingham 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bingham is a restaurant with rooms in a beautiful Georgian townhouse overlooking the Thames and has been awarded an AA red star. Refurbished in a classic chic style, its award-winning restaurant has three AA Rosettes. The Bingham has also won awards for its afternoon tea. There is a destination cocktail bar, and the Bingham has 15 individually designed bedrooms, all en-suite. The popular Garden Rooms events space, and riverside garden are ideal for business and family celebrations, and weddings. Located in a picturesque riverside setting just minutes from Richmond town centre, Richmond's Royal Park, and world famous attractions such as Kew Gardens, and Hampton Court Palace, are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bingham Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames
Rodeway Inn Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing