We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Afternoon Tea” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bingham
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing Afternoon Tea”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I had my mother visiting London from overseas for her birthday in August. She had never been for an afternoon and really wanted to experience the relaxed, pampered spoiling and opulent indulgence that goes with English afternoon teas. I deliberated for weeks, trying to find the perfect place to take her, and eventually settled on the Bingham Hotel. I wish I hadn’t. It was an afternoon of stifled awkwardness with me coming away feeling ripped off and disappointed.

When I made the booking telephonically I asked a lot questions to ensure I got exactly what I wanted. I put the phone down with a confirmation that my booking for 3 would be accommodated outside at a table on the terrace – if the weather was good enough – with spectacular, relaxed river views. We arrived on a beautiful sunny afternoon, Sunday 25 August, and were shown to a two-seater couch and additional stool around the side of the bar in the tea room, being told that under no circumstances, at any time, could three people be accommodated on the terrace as it was too narrow. An awkward conversation followed with me appealing to the waitron to at least move us to a table as my mother finds low couches uncomfortable to sit at (this was emphasised when I made the booking). Eventually we were moved to a table that was too small, being told that it was not possible to move two tables together. They did however move an additional small mirror topped table next to our table (full of dust and cracked) to accommodate extra teapots next. I hoped things would get better once the tea arrived.

A three-tiered platter of sandwiches, cakes and scones arrived. The sandwiches were horrifying. A thin piece of ham licked with mustard clung between two miserable, dry and slightly curled pieces of cheap, shop bought looking bread is not my idea of a fancy sandwich. Similarly, the smoked salmon, cucumber and ungenerous egg mayonnaise fillings were as disappointing and tasteless. The cakes were better. The perfectly respectable dark chocolate tart and fig doughnut were lovely – but the festive fruit cake was decidedly out of place and not something that should ever be put in an afternoon tea. The scones were average – and tasted as if the chef had forgotten to add sugar to the dough that also should have been lighter and more crumbly. The clotted cream and jam portions were measly.

The tea was lovely. The only thing I can criticise about the tea is that my partner didn’t get the tea he ordered. What he got though, he enjoyed – but this is not service one expects from such an establishment.

Additionally, halfway through our tea another party of three arrived wanting to sit on the terrace – and they were accommodated.

In summary, at £25 a head, I feel totally ripped off. I also think it was exceedingly cheeky and presumptuous of the hotel to automatically add a service charge to the bill when we very obviously did not receive the service we were promised. More than that I feel robbed of being able to share an experience that should have been amazing and memorable with my mother who lives thousands of miles away and who I do not see very often.

To top the whole experience off, as we left the hotel we saw that the narrow terrace opened up onto a wider terrace with lots of big empty tables on it. Why we could not have been seated there, is beyond me.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GHeckl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    97
    35
    20
    23
See reviews for
64
183
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We celebrated our daughter's wedding at the Bingham recently and have to say how impressed we all were with the care and attention given to the event on the day by the Bingham staff and in particular the 'wedding team'. The whole day ran seamlessly, the setting and ambience was a delight, the food and it's presentation quite superb, nothing was too much trouble . Every guest we spoke to commented upon the quality of service from the Reception desk to the bar but particularly from the friendly relaxed 'wedding team' managed by Reesh.
Our personal thanks to all at the Bingham for making it a very special day, you deserve your excellent reputation

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greygaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We spent the first night of our honeymoon, many years ago, at the Bingham. We decided to have lunch there on our anniversary in spite of the quite mixed reviews.

Our experience was really positive. In my booking I had asked for a table on the balcony, but because it was pouring we ate indoors, but we had been given a beautiful table in the window. We ate from the Market menu at £22.50 for two courses or £25.00 for three. The food was absolutely delicious. We began with an amuse bouche of pea mousse and foie grass, a WONDERFUL starter and delicious main course. Lots of choice of wine by the glass but of course that does push up the price. Overall, really lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara2008London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I really enjoyed my third visit to The Bingham restaurant. We were given a great table with fabulous views over the Thames. Most of my companions chose from the Market Menu (great value at £25 for three course plus an amuse-bouche) whilst I had Brill and Razor Clam delight from the main menu that was well --- absolutely brill. All washed down from an excellent (if not cheap) range of wines. We were joined on the balcony for coffee by Executive Chef Shay Cooper who explained the art of fine dining cookery. What a nice, unassuming, creative guy he is. A great ending to a great lunch. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Booked for lunch which we had on the veranda overlooking the garden and with a view of the river.
Excellent menu and food delicious would highly recommend to anybody. The staff are efficient and pleasant.
Fairly expensive but great for a treat.
The bar and restaurant looked inviting, will experience them on our return.

Room Tip: Only had lunch but I would imagine the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyVulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We ate here for my wife's birthday, and had a lovely evening. Although we chose a set menu, the food was excellent and the waiting staff attentive without being obtrusive. We thouroighly enjoyed our meal and will be back again, I'm sure.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WPJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

A touch opulent, a little decadent, and truly wonderful !

The bar area perfect for meeting in, a glass of champagne whilst awaiting your table...
The food, excellent with amazing choices on the menu cannot be faulted. Expensive but worthwhile for the views alone! The service second to none.
A romantic venue and location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susie01london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.4 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Coach and Horses
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
0.5 mi away
Richmond Inn Hotel
Richmond Inn Hotel
#8 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bingham

Property: Bingham
Address: 61-63 Petersham Road, Richmond TW10 6UT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Richmond
#2 Family Hotel in Richmond
#3 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bingham 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bingham is a restaurant with rooms in a beautiful Georgian townhouse overlooking the Thames and has been awarded an AA red star. Refurbished in a classic chic style, its award-winning restaurant has three AA Rosettes. The Bingham has also won awards for its afternoon tea. There is a destination cocktail bar, and the Bingham has 15 individually designed bedrooms, all en-suite. The popular Garden Rooms events space, and riverside garden are ideal for business and family celebrations, and weddings. Located in a picturesque riverside setting just minutes from Richmond town centre, Richmond's Royal Park, and world famous attractions such as Kew Gardens, and Hampton Court Palace, are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bingham Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames
Rodeway Inn Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing