We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bingham
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I'm surprised at the many positive reviews here. I see that the restaurant is good but not something to come out from London for at all. We stayed at the river facing room, the first thing you notice is how cold the room is as it lacks double-glazed windows. Covering them up with blinds and heavy curtains don't do the trick. The heater is painfully slow to operate although we got it working.
Considering we paid close to £250pn, the four-posted bed was very small for two adults. Hard to think that it was a double bed...unless there is a smaller double bed?
Don't pay for the romantic turndown service...the 'flowers' they are talking about is just a single red rose on the bed, some candles (half of them blown out and no matches/lighter in sight), felt quite cheated! We did contest this at check-out but were rebuffed.
TV - every channel was intermittent. I've stayed in countless hotels around the world, cheap to expensive, this one was by far the worse. When we called to complain, we were told because it's Freeview and this is what happens. Is that how it's explained to tourists nowadays...it's a disgrace.
Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Don't be tricked into paying premium for the river-front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zimalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    100
    36
    20
    23
See reviews for
67
183
11
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Removing the restaurant, (i have added a seperate review for it, and it is delightful), this hotel is not worth its rating i feel.

The rooms are simple, straight forward and do not offer much else. I would cleanly say that most Hiltons are better as a bedroom, we didnt feel the price was apprioriate for what was provided.

The view is nice, a given, and if that is the premise for the pricing, its too steep a jump.

nothing exceptional.....find an alternative

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

For me this is the best hotel in Richmond!
The staff are superb. You're made feel really welcome; addressed with your name and not with your room number. A rare occasion even in some 5 star hotels today. On arrival your room is shown to you and features, like sound system, location of hairdryer, etc. are explained. In restaurant and bar there's no "questioning" of room numbers (there are none anyway - the rooms all have names) and credit card authorizations. They know who you are and that is good enough. Rooms are all very contemporarly decorated with great attention to detail. From entertainment to work space; everything is there. Food is outstanding! Breakfast is freshly prepared to your liking (no buffet type kept-warm-for-hours stuff here) and and the restaurant menu is innovative and changes daily. Only downside: "Innovative" is pricey and there's nothing simple on the menu.
There is also a beautiful garden with view on the river Thames.

Room Tip: Although all rooms are equipped and decorated to the same high standards; some of them are very smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trungelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I took a friend of mine for afternoon tea at the Bingham recently and we had a really wonderful time. The lounge was gorgeous, the tea delicious and the champagne and cocktails we added to it a real treat.
My friend was visiting from abroad and had never had an afternoon tea before and was really, really impressed by this. It was very traditional but everything tasted so good. I usually find the cakes at the end too sweet but these were all so tasty and not cloying.
The atmosphere was what made it really special. As it became dark outside the lights in the lounge were dimmed making it feel cosier. The staff were amazing. We always had what we needed but didn't feel like they were in any way obtrusive and we felt in absolutely no rush to leave. I think we ended up being there for nearly three hours and always felt welcome.

I have eaten in the restaurant here a few times too and have always thought it was fantastic. Delicious food, fabulous service, a real feeling that you're enjoying a special meal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylor1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

At the risk of sounding arrogant i've been lucky enough to eat at many fantastic restaurants in London, this is definitely amongst them. The food is comparable with Le Gavroche, the view of the thames excellent and the general manager over seeing everything taking care of your every need is fantastic. Definitely recommend dropping in for a few drinks at the hotel bar also if you don't have time for dinner.. Not entirely sure of a couple of the comments re service on this website, because if anything its too attentive but i guess different people prefer different things... Either way you have to go.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We have visited the Bingham twice, once in August 2012 and again in November 2013. Both were special occasions and both times we have had a fabulous time. The food is always top class, the Sunday lunch was delicious. The service is very attentive and the atmosphere is brilliant!
If you like cocktails I highly recommend the berry blast, it is deliciously
Both times we have visited we have have received great services and experienced delicious food. I highly recommend this place for a special occasion . The staff have great knowledge of wine and port and will endeavour to make your evening very enjoyable.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We recently attended a friend's wedding at the Bingham. On the morning of the wedding we left our room key with reception and left the hotel for a few hours to do some shopping in Richmond. On our return we soon realised that a very expensive diamond ring was missing from the room. Despite the personal attention of the manager and the immediate involvement of the police, the ring was not recovered. I would not recommend this hotel and will not return

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank gunnerbairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.4 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Coach and Horses
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
0.5 mi away
Richmond Inn Hotel
Richmond Inn Hotel
#8 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bingham

Property: Bingham
Address: 61-63 Petersham Road, Richmond TW10 6UT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Richmond
#2 Family Hotel in Richmond
#3 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bingham 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bingham is a restaurant with rooms in a beautiful Georgian townhouse overlooking the Thames and has been awarded an AA red star. Refurbished in a classic chic style, its award-winning restaurant has three AA Rosettes. The Bingham has also won awards for its afternoon tea. There is a destination cocktail bar, and the Bingham has 15 individually designed bedrooms, all en-suite. The popular Garden Rooms events space, and riverside garden are ideal for business and family celebrations, and weddings. Located in a picturesque riverside setting just minutes from Richmond town centre, Richmond's Royal Park, and world famous attractions such as Kew Gardens, and Hampton Court Palace, are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bingham Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames
Rodeway Inn Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing