We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TEAtime”
Review of The Tea Box - CLOSED

The Tea Box
Price range: US$5 - US$31
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: We are a specialist tea house, set in the delightful centre of Richmond upon Thames, that serves over 50 teas as well as Monmouth coffee, tea cocktails, champagne, wine, beer and cider. Our extensive food menu has something for everyone and for those wishing to celebrate a special occasion we can put on a generous afternoon tea at only £18.50 Per person. If you need loose leaf tea or any tea ware we also sell a wide range of tea infusers, strainers, teapots and other tea accessories as well tea in a range of sizes, both in refill bags and tins. You can even enjoy a drink and snack while listening to live jazz on the last Sunday of every month, poetry on the second Friday of every month or storytelling for adults on the first Friday of every month (ring us to check if you need to buy tickets first). Want to learn to knit or make new friends? Come along between 7pm-9pm on Wednesdays for our Social Knitwork night.
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
“TEAtime”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A wonderful evening, a great place to meet new friends, a first date, with the ability to enjoy great conversation in a comfortable, cosy, eclectic atmosphere. Great selection of teas, scrumptious cakes and lite bites if you wish. We met here for our first night book club meeting - yet to be named. A great place for a group to meet and have a fun night without all the hustle and bustle of downtown Richmond or the typical loud riverside pub atmosphere. A MUST VISIT! It may look closed as the lighting is low - but check the door as they are probably open.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taylormadebooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    39
    18
    26
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

An upsetting experience from start to end. Afternoon tea is not just about expensive tea it is about the quality of the food and most importantly ensuring the table is set and the tea and food are served in an orderly fashion. Having enough staff and not pouring salt into the food is vital. I would not recommend and see other reviewers have experienced the same unpleasant experience my family did.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemma S, Owner at The Tea Box, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Donna

We were sorry to hear you did not enjoy your afternoon experience with us as we have many customers who have loved our less stuffy more atmospheric intimate venue for afternoon tea and have returned time and time again. I have looked through our bookings and cannot find one under your name. As the owner I was asked on one occasion about salt being added to some food which it was not. Our food is high quality and the afternoon tea does definitely not contain added salt - it only consists of the best smoked salmon, preservative free bread made by a local (successful and expanding business), cakes made within a 2 mile radius by local bakers and clotted cream delivered direct from Devon. If you would be mind enough to specify which food you were unhappy with, we can look into the matter on your behalf? As we take all feedback seriously and respond we would be interested to know when you visited (day/time), if you made a booking and if so how many guests/booking name to determine what happened on this occasion with a view to rectifying any process/on-the-job training if needed? Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Didn't get to try the food”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I am afraid we walked out after 45 minutes of waiting for a tea and scone. Nothing too difficult. Or so we thought. Kept driving past this and saying we should try it. Well we tried. Scones at waterstones not a bad alternative at half the price and within 5 mins of arriving albeit without that olde English feel

Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart100_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Extra special find.....”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This place is a wonderful find. It offers something different as well as that bit extra. From the great atmosphere to the gorgeous decor. It's evident the owners have thought about every last detail. They had plenty to do when I arrived - late for an awesome jazz gig on Friday night - yet they took the time to make us feel welcome. They were warm, friendly and fun yet provided brilliant service on top.
I'll certainly return again. Thanks Gemma and Mike!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a yummy cream tea!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Went to the Tea Box on Saturday afternoon.The place was very quiet which was an extra bonus for us as it made it feel even more cosy than it would normally feel, with its retro style.

The range is quite impressive and seems to cater for different tastes.The food menu seemed really good but was a pity that by the time we got there, the kitchen was closed....a real pity because the Eggs Benedict or Eggs Florentine would have been really yummy, I think!

Well, we had to "settle" with probably the best freshly baked scones of our life (what a consolation,I know!!;-))

The scones were so warm and moist they would simply melt in your mouth,and you just couldn't stop piling layer after layer of strawberry jam and fresh clotted cream....

Tea and cream scones for two was £20.40 (including service charge), not a bargain per se, but probably not so far from what anyone could have paid in a Starbuck's coffee, completely missing off on the experience,though!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rlav83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tea Box also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing