We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints”
Review of The Rose of York

The Rose of York
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rose of York
Ranked #10 of 15 Richmond B&B and Inns
Hull, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No complaints”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We've also stayed here before, about 2 and a half years since our last visit. We found staff helpful and enjoyed the food. The room was clean and tidy. No TV but for two nights we aren't bothered. We'll stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    58
    41
    31
    27
See reviews for
73
69
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have stayed upon several occasions for both rugby weekends and the great river race having always enjoyed the experience in this quirky B&B no TV,s a little worn out but offering £85 rooms with breakfast which previously have been great value.
However the rooms were dusty and dirty the shower and toilet best described as extremely poor and whilst the staff have changed they seem nice but not as our previous visits.
The breakfast was poor in its entirety and the whole place now lacks something that on previous visits was always there a general helpful attitude,a pleasant greeting and much cleaner rooms,.
We could not justify coming back to this once great value hotel and will be looking for alternatives for future visits.

Room Tip: Do not book roadside rooms extremely noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

On a day trip visiting the Poppy Factory nearby with The British Legion we had a planned meal(pre-ordered) at lunchtime. I ordered the steak & ale pie with mash and veg and got chips although the lady did offer to change it. I had been waiting a good 20 mins after 50 others in our group were served so did not object to chips. The pie was burnt around the inside of the dish and pastry was as well. Veg was luke warm but chips were very good. A few others on our table commented about their meals being overdone and some almost inedible.
There was a lady & a young man who were working the bar and also serving the meals at the same time, they did an admirable job. Surely on these sort of occasions more staff would be helpful.
Nice pub and garden area.
There was also a charge for using cards to pay which was rather much, everyone paid by cash!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Encouraged by reports of excellent Sunday roasts we tried this hotel/pub for lunch in midweek. The experience was disappointing. Although there were few others lunching on the day we visited, service was slow. The food when it arrived was very mixed in quality. The fish and chips was oily and inedible, but a nut roast and macaroni cheese were both tasty and of generous quantity. The wines available we were very limited in choice and the cheapest wines on offer were not far short of £20 a bottle. The mains and desserts were inexpensive but our overall experience was poor.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank suburbanite12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Looking for a Sunday roast on a late Sunday afternoon. Stumbled upon this place and was very glad we did! Was not sure at first as it was practically empty. Was assured dinner was still being served for another hour so we stayed after seeing 2 plates coming out the kitchen for someone outside. We ordered 2 carvery's and 2 meals off the menu. Was thoroughly enjoyed and the servings were more than generous. Was genuinely impressed with the bar stock as it is all their own brand - Sam Smith - family run business. Even the crisps are their own! Decent pints and spirits at excellent prices. Friendly, attentive staff. Well worth a visit if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank russ_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

If you want a nice quiet room don't go in room 6 unless you like sleeping on a motorway.
The traffic noise is terrible and generally the room was past its sell by date. No hot water in the bathroom in the morning and a general shabbiness about the place. Whilst £75 is not a lot these days you should expect more.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Themightyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Great location, great value, clean and comfortable room, helpful staff, plenty of parking. We were at a wedding locally, getting back late, and staff took our bags to the room in our absence, were generally very accommodating, and cooked us a hearty breakfast. Couldn't ask for more for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 14 in Richmond
1,467 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Petersham Hotel
#4 of 14 in Richmond
654 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Richmond Gate Hotel
#6 of 14 in Richmond
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Richmond Park Hotel
#13 of 14 in Richmond
113 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
2.3 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose of York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose of York

Property: The Rose of York
Address: The Rose of York Petersham Road, Richmond TW10 6UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Rose of York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose Of York Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing