We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful place Love it!!!”
Review of Lake Hawea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Hawea Hotel
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had only one night here and love it so much. Reasonable price, Friendly staffs, Nice restaurant and bar. Our room was so big, nice view facing the lake. Bed also very comfortable with heat blanket. Bathroom also very big and high quality of amenities. Dinner was just ok compare with other restaurant in town. Highly recommended. We will stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We spent a couple of nights at this hotel on our trip from Christchurch to Queenstown. The room was impeccable, the views were breathtaking, the staff were lovely and couldn't have done enough to make our stay any more perfect.

The maître d' (Johann) was a cheerful, friendly and accommodating young French fellow. We even tried his mother's secret mulled wine recipe, which was delightful. Not sure if he was just having a lend of us with the story of the mulled wine, but none-the-less, it added to the allure.

I would very much recommend booking at this location. Just don't tell anyone about it - it's a secret spot that is worth keeping to yourself. Would love to visit in summer for the warmer weather activities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedDirtNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Spacious rooms, stunning views, fantastic location. What more could be more relaxing and invigorating than being in a classic room with nature jumping into the room? Not much! This hotel will create the space for you to relax and leave refreshed. The views will draw the tension away as every moment there is a subtle change that draws one in, more and more.

A huge dining room still with views with distract you from your meal, but not for long.

A few areas to improve on:
The reception area is hidden away, really! The welcoming team needs to be up front to mirror the warmth and beauty of the location as I have experienced. They are a credit to the hotel.

Some of the amenities need to be checked (electric blanket not working in room 3)

(In winter, instructions need to be left for warming the room and in summer to cool, when the wind becomes too strong.

No matter the season, your senses will be mesmerized by the views and your feelings will be treated by the caring team.

Treat yourself, you will not be let down.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Keilisi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Me and my wife spent one night in March 2014 at Lake Hawea Hotel, during our 2 weeks travel through the South Island (NZ). We wished to have stayed more. The staff was friendly (seems like a family owned/run facility), and the view towards the lake fantastic. We traveled around lake Hawea and lake Wanaka. During the fantastic night, the sky was crystal clear and the milky way was visible (there is less light pollution here than at Wanaka town). Recommended for people liking a quiet stay.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here between Xmas and NY 2013. It slipped my mind to write a review at the time but recently when my partner made a comment when we were in another hotel 'it's no Lake Howea Hotel!' I knew I had to write a review, even a tad late!
We were blown away by the room, we had one of the more superior rooms to the right when you drive in. Every little detail was just perfect. We had the most amazing view of the lake it was nothing short of perfect. We arrived pretty late but were able to grab a bottle of wine from the attached bottle shop and enjoy on our balcony. The breakfast was fantastic, we both really enjoyed it. The staff were so lovely. Especially the very very kind lady on reception who allowed us to check back into our room after we checked out! We had booked to do a sky dive and checked out at 7am, however when we were on route we got a call to say it was cancelled due to weather. Totally chancing our arm myself and my partner headed back and the very lovely lady had no problem giving us our key and allowing us to return to the room. 5 stat setting, 5 star room and 5 star staff.
I hope to be able to return someday, as we still reminisce about 'that hotel in Wanka!!'

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank backpackers0_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed one night in family room. Our room has 2 floors in this room. One queen bed and single bed is on the mezzanine floor and another queen bed is on the lower floor. Both floors has an amazing view for hawea lake, but the balcony is on the lower floor. Balcony has a sitting area to relax also. All furnitures are new and clean. No lounge, no kitchen, and no dining table. Just only coffee maker facilities is available.

The location is great to relax. At first, I decided to stay at wanaka lake but I wanna have a good sleep in calm. I changed my mind to stay at hawea lake instead, and. I'm not regret. This place is so quiet and very beautiful scenic. I loved hawea lake the most in southern lake.

However, there's not much restaurants and shops around hawea lake. There's another cafe and supermarket near this hotel also. We decided to have a dinner at the hotel. Steaks was good especially pork ribs. The stunning views from restaurants also.

Free parking in front of your room, unlimited free wifi. Nice staff also.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Babypen9uin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Had a nice lake view room for two nights. Clean, warm and spacious for the twob of us. Enjoyed watching the lake even when the weather packed in. Had nice meals at the restaurant for a dinner and breakfast, good hearty food.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jac9393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Hawea
9.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
375 reviews
9.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
850 reviews
8.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.5 mi away
Lake Hawea Holiday Park
Lake Hawea Holiday Park
#1 of 3 in Lake Hawea
117 reviews
9.1 mi away
West Meadows Motel
West Meadows Motel
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Hawea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hawea Hotel

Address: 1 Capell Avenue | Rd 2, Lake Hawea, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Lake Hawea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Lake Hawea
Price Range: £33 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Hawea Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Hawea Hotel is located in one of New Zealand's most popular holiday regions, with outstanding lake and mountain views. With only a short drive to Wanaka, Queenstown or the West Coast, it is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Join us at Lake Hawea Hotel for your family holiday, romantic getaway, function/school camp location or corporate retreat. We have three levels of accommodation, a restaurant and bars, an enviable lake location and activities galore! There is always something on the go at Hawea, with fishing competitions, top music line ups and various competitions and championships. Accommodation to suit all budgets and group sizes - hotel, budget backpacker lodge, Restaurant - a la carte, buffet and takeaway. Huge garden bar, enclosed outdoor area and pool tables. Perfect for events, conference facilities, weddings, & 21sts. Specializing in all inclusive group packages & ski accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Hawea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing