We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Toyo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nts in early June. Very good price obtained for a large modern room on the coast. The Bathroom is particularly spacious and well appointed. Although bedroom could benefit from a clock cd/ipod dock. Large pools were almost empty most of the time, even though occupancy was probably up to half full. It my be that before peak season, plenty of spanish were staying who were not so fussed about the sunbathing? The buffet had a good selection and compared to many at this price the quality was good. Reception staff were professional rather than warm and friendly. However hotel was clean of good modern design and well placed for me to explore this part of the less developed coast. With the exception of El Toyo itself which in early June was quiet,a new resort lacking in character, looking over built and under capacity.

Room Tip: Non sea view rooms overlook a public car park, so if you get a good price take a sea view The almos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hiroshi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 2,427 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

We decided to return to the Barcelo Cabo de Gata Hotel this year, after a great holiday last year. It has everything that we want for a relaxing break in the warm weather. This year we opted for the A.I. package which was excellent value around £90.00 per person for 10 days. we said beforehand that we would eat a big meal at lunch time but it was so good we did. The A. I. includes most items in the hotel most international spirits and a decent red wine with the meals. We travelled a week earlier this year and the hotel was a bit quieter for the first half of the holiday. 95% of the guests are Spanish, mainly young families, but the children are well behaved. The rooms again were very comfortable and spacious no complaints overall absolutely spotless throughout and extremely friendly and helpful staff, some remembered us from last year which was nice, when i sat at a table in the bar a large whisky with ice appeared without me ordering it, wow!. Other UK guests had a minor moan about the fact that Thomas Cook have the hotel listed as for Adults/Couples and moan about the amount of children. If I go again I will go even earlier when it is much quieter. Seems a better Hotel than others in the area, which seem less relaxing. If you have walking difficulties the hotel and surrounding areas are very accessible. I will probably go again next year as we don't tend to want to tour around much in the heat so the hotel suits us. food was good but not quite as good as last year and a lot of the hot buffet dishes were not very warm, I used the microwave a few times to heat the meals up, but the microwaves are really intended for baby food, bottles, etc.,

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor (3rd), pool view and you get a good sea view and sun in the morning without pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Here is a real little gem, hidden away from mass tourism but only a fifteen minute drive from Almeria Airport and the odd thing is, you hardly ever hear or see any planes from the hotel.

El Toyo, - built for the 2005 Mediterranean Games - resembles a ghost town at times as other reviewers have found so don't expect to find too much going on here although there are a couple of bars, a supermarket and several seasonal restaurants within ten minutes walk of the hotel. Apparently the whole area is packed during the Spanish summer holiday period. Incredibly, there isn't one ATM machine either in the hotel or the town! A half hourly bus service ( two euros ten cents return!) goes to nearby Almeria - a delightful of Spanish city where there are many..

The hotel is superb = under ten years old, comfortable, well managed with excellent buffet food. Good, ice cold beer (San Miguel on tap) and wine (bottle of house wine around ten euros) One large swimming pool and three others for children and beginners. Masses of sun beds. Lots of space. Right by the sea. Gym and Spa (which we didn't sample). Free wi fi.

The only (small) problem, came at the weekend when many locals arrived for a break and a couple of weddings. The restaurant and bar were swamped and staff just couldn't cope. The food also ran out in the end. Not good but in direct contrast to the rest of our stay.

Staff were,without exception, friendly, helpful and very patient in view of the fact that the majority of the other guests spoke Spanish.. Shouldn't really single out any one but we did get a lot of help from the quite wonderful ADRIANA on reception.

Our room (top floor no 354) was totally quiet and superbly comfortable. To sum up, a classy hotel definitely NOT for the night lifers but highly recommended for those seeking a quiet spell in the Spanish sun., Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Third floor (top floor) floor rooms don't get noise from folk walking about about on the stone f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Notpastit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We have just returned from a weekend at Barcelo Cabo de Gata. Wish we could have stayed longer!
The rooms were spotless with a massive very comfortable bed and a spacious bathroom with both a bath and a shower. For only 7 euros we reserved a room with sea view - this was a lovely place to sit in the evenings.
The spa was definitely worth the money. There are 3 pools. During our stay there seemed to be a lot of children at the two shallower pools. However, the centre one was quiet and relaxing and all three were very spacious and clean.
All the staff we spoke to were very friendly and helpful. After reading the other reviews, I assume the staff can speak English. However, I can speak some Spanish and wanted to practise and they were very patient when I did not understand something or took a while to explain something.
We were half board and the food was possibly the best part - we were spoilt for choice! Both nights the food was completely different and equally as good. One of the nights there was a chocolate fountain which I particularly liked!
The only thing we weren't very impressed by was the evening entertainment. This didn't bother us too much as we enjoyed sitting on our balcony drinking wine both nights. However, it might have if we decided to stay longer as there doesn't seem to be much in the evenings in the area either.
However, all in all, we had the perfect stay and we would definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed only 1 night in march, booked it online (booking.com). Half board was included in the price, so we had a buffet dinner as well.
English speaking staff, clean, modern hotel with several pools. View from our room wasn't spectacular: a nearby parking lot and the hotel's tennis court (didn't matter much, since we were out all the time).
Visiting the Cabo de Gata NP is easy from here. Hotel is walking distance from the beach, some bars, shops and restaurants. In march, much of it was closed though and the area is really quiet.
I agree that it is more of a family hotel rather than a romantic getaway, but it certainly gives you good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EricVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We went for a pleasant weekend in May. After all the negative comments in tripadvisor we were really surprised. The hotel is defenitely a family hotel. If you are looking for a small boutique romantic place this isn't yours. But in May the Hotel is quiered and not very busy. We had therefore a ver nice room (239). I imagine that the Hotel can be quite loud when it is full in summer.

We both slept extremely well. The rooms are big with a huge bathroom and an ok sized balcony. The cleaning service is good. The television was a modern very huge plasma. There are channels in German, English, French and Spanish. The light coming in the morning is gorgeous. BReakfast is not extremely good. Coffee was awful pastry and bred as well. The rest is ok. Huge variety of fruits.

The location is ok, the view is nice. Also the location is quite ok. It is next to the natural park but also very close to Almeria if you want to go shopping. We will go again in low season.
We read before that there is no wifi in the rooms and brought a cable. With the cable the internet works without any problem.


The SPA of the Hotel is nice. I had a very good 70 minutes massage for a good price. All in all the Hotel gives very good value for its price.

All in all we will go again in low season. The price is unbeatable.

Room Tip: All the rooms have views to the see. However the superior rooms with explizit see views are more nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abfedern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This hotel is 10km from Cabo de Gata, on the edge of a huge holiday apartments complex, so it was disappointing to be so far from the spectacular scenery of the Cabo. However, the hotel was comfortable and spacious and the pool area and gardens were well-kept. There is direct access to the sea-front, well laid out with boardwalks and paths, and lots of Mediterranean flowers and shrubs.

Our room was large and extremely comfortable with a huge bed, and the bathroom had both bath and separate shower cubicle.

Food is served buffet-style at all meals. Dinner was excellent: there was both a hot soup and gazpacho; an excellent salad bar; freshly griddled meat and fish. The choice of main dishes for vegetarians was limited (tepid lasagne is not very appetizing), but there were rice/bean salads, and various vegetables, so plenty to choose from.

Our only complaint was that there were several university football teams staying, and their behaviour and noise around the pool were unacceptable. The hotel staff were either unaware, or did not think it was a problem that other guests who hoped for peace and quiet were inconvenienced. Fortunately all was quiet at night so our sleep was not disturbed.

We stayed two nights, which was enough for us to visit Cabo de Gata, though I'm sure if you want a pool/beach holiday, you could happily spend longer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IreneSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Toyo
0.4 mi away
Cabogata Mar Garden Hotel Club & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cabo de Gata
Hotel Cabo de Gata
#1 of 1 in Retamar
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
SunConnect Cabogata Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ohtels Cabogata
Ohtels Cabogata
#2 of 4 in El Toyo
522 reviews
14.0 mi away
Playadulce Hotel
Playadulce Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aguadulce
775 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel MC San Jose
Hotel MC San Jose
#1 of 5 in San Jose
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Cabo de Gata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Cabo de Gata

Address: Calle Juegos de Casablanca s/n | Retamar, 04131 El Toyo, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > El Toyo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Toyo
Price Range: £63 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Cabo de Gata 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Barcelo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barcelo Cabo de Gata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cabo De Gata Hotel
Barcelo Hotel Almería
Cabo De Gata Barcelo
Barcelo Cabo De Gata El Toyo, Almeria, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing