We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cabogata garden hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SunConnect Cabogata Garden
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Toyo
Potters Bar, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“cabogata garden hotel”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Have just returned from a week at the cabogata garden hotel with my husband. Hotel staff and food were first class - best food we have ever had at an all inclusive hotel. We had a room overlooking the pool and I have to say it was very noisy at night - had trouble sleeping. Having arrived at the hotel from a 4 a.m. start in London we wanted a peacefull nights sleep. No such luck the noise was horrendous. Have just read a review which praised the entertainment of an evening. Well our entertainment was non-existant - just disco music for the kids. On Saturday three staff put on a show which I can only describe as pathetic. No Lion King Shows or anything else. Sunday and Monday there was a quiz which most of it was in Spanish. No the entertainment was very very poor. But apart from that the restaurant staff were brilliant - nothing was too much trouble.

I wouldn't go back to this hotel - far too many children running about especially from Thursday to Sunday. Do they let in families from Spain as a special offer - don't know but it was certainly packed with screaming kids on these three days.

Not much more to say really - enjoyed the sun and the food and that's about it.

Room Tip: Don't have a troom overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden H, Gerente at SunConnect Cabogata Garden, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your review , all comments expressed by our guests are important information for us .We are satisfied to know that you enjoy our buffet .Regarding the room , the pool view rooms are the most demanded ones by our guests and they usually have extra cost .Anyhow we would have changed you to a new room if you had inform us that you wanted a quieter one .
In the other hand thank you for the special mention you make about the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    359
    242
    79
    73
See reviews for
716
187
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kosice, Slovakia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The hotel is nice overall, but there are some issues that need to be fixed by the owner. The furniture in the room we were given initially at the check-in was quite shabby. However, the receptionst was very accommodating and arranged a room change immediately. Walls in rooms and corridors were smudged in places and there were spots with pieces of plaster that had fallen off around doorframes in corridors and stairways as well. The hotel was definitely not up to the 4-star standard in this regard. The pool area including the kid's pool was not always properly cleaned (plastic cups, etc.). On the other hand, the room cleaning was spotless.Food was great, especially the wide variety of seafood. The staff was nice and helpful. The only drawback in terms of the animation team was that they communicated only in Spanish for the most part during individual activities (the majority of guests were Spanish). The beach is nice, but the very access to the sea is a bit difficult, as the sea bottom is rocky. However, this can be resolved easily by walking some one hundred meters down the shore, where the access is easy with a sandy bottom. You should also be aware of the fact that the pool view rooms are rather noisy due to the evening entertainment until midnight.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view overlooking a parking lot, it is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden H, Gerente at SunConnect Cabogata Garden, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear guest

We want to thank you for your review and excuse us if at your arrival the room we gave you was not in perfect condition .To keep a high standar of hygiene is a must for us and common areas including the swimming pool are cleaned every day.this cleaning is reinforced with high occupancy and at peak times. Sorry if it gave you the impression that pool area was not properly cleaned .

We are glad you enjoyed the buffet and thank you for the special mention you make of our staff.
We expect that overall you had a nice staying with us and hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My family, 2 adults and 2 children, went through Thomas Cook for 11 nights. Very briefly, as I could go in to one here, the holiday was really disappointing. The only Spanish that were nice to anyone were the ones paid to be, the holidaying Spanish clearly didn't want the Brits there and were very rude. The food was of poor quality, I love Spanish food and fresh produce but the salads etc were tasteless and the meats were low grade and therefore tough and fatty. All the entertainment was Spanish, the kids club was really just set up for the Spanish and I suppose that can be said in general. The hotel itself is nice, the pool etc was good, the rooms are a nice size and kept immaculately clean, although the bathrooms could do with a facelift. I could tell you 10 negatives to 5 positives but I do think with some relatively minor changes this hotel could be so much better. If this hotel was sold as a 3 star, then I think peoples expectations would be more realistically met.

Room Tip: Pool views are the best otherwise you might be overlooking a car park but do mean that you get noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden H, Gerente at SunConnect Cabogata Garden, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments all the opinions are very wellcome to us as they are very helpful
if we want to improve our service.

Sorry you did not enjoy the buffet , the general opinion of our guests in August was quiet good about the food .

We are an international Hotel and a good average of our guests are not spanish .We have English , French ,Dutch ,Czech guests .The entertainment is adapted to all different nationalities and all our entertainers speak languages .( for instance : we have two different times for mini disco for kids one early for international ,one later for spanish kids ) , sorry if you had a different impression .

Once again thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Wonderful hotel and staff nothing too much trouble and everyone we met so friendly and welcoming. We were a family group,Grandparents,Mum and Dad and two discerning young ladies of 10 and 12 years. We all had a great time with clean rooms,efficient chambermaids,obliging reception staff,(the extra pillow I asked for reached the room before I got back there,thanks) large bathrooms,great food,lots of sun beds for everyone....I could go on but just to say we had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to visit again or recommend this hotel.Many thanks to you all.
Mrs.Broadbent and the Cobham family, just back in UK.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a room with a view of the pool and the evening entertainment..and sun all day on the larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 74LizB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden H, Gerente at SunConnect Cabogata Garden, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Client
Nice to know from you !!.We are glad you enjoyed your holidays with us .Thank you for mentioning the good job of our staff , they do their best to be efficient in every thing they do for the clients .
We hope you liked as well the rooms we reserved for you .I so , next time you come please let us know in advance and we will try to do our best to arrange the same room or similar for you.Thank you very much for your comments and we hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just returned from 10 fantastic days at the Cabogata, El Toyo, having booked through Thomas Cook. Having read mixed reviews before departing, i can honestly say its been the best family holiday we've had. My family consists of me, my partner and our 2 boys, aged 10 & 8. A special thank you to our Holiday rep Marcia, always on hand to sort any problems (not that we had any) very friendly, approachable and professional.


There was plenty of things to get involved in through-out the day, for both adults & children, or you could simply kick back and relax. Unlike alot of all-inclusive holidays, the entertainment team at the Cabogata don't try and drag you off the sunbeds to get involved, you do it if you want to. And not once during our 10-day stay were we pestered by the spa team or other outer agencies bothering you to do this,that and the other.

The hotel itself is very nice indeed and the bedrooms were very clean and well maintained and more than adequate for the small amount of time spent in them (fantastic power shower).

The hotel staff spoke very good English, were very Polite and very helpful.

The food in the restaurant we found to be of a very high standard, by far the best we've had from any All inclusive holidays. The range each day was extensive, usually 3 meats being cooked in front of you each night, as well as fresh fish option, which i especially enjoyed. Fresh fruit, pasta, salads, fried food and a great choice of puddings! Special mention to Jose in the restaurant, extremely professional and great with the kids.

The pool area was where we spent most of the time and we were particularly impressed with the lifeguards. They would remove towels from any sun beds that were left unattended for more than one hour, which stopped people reserving beds all day if they were on trips etc. They also did what they got paid to do, stopping inappropriate behaviour in the pool and keeping an eye on all the swimmers / paddlers.

The icing on the cake, which really made this holiday better than all the rest was the entertainment team. They were simply amazing. The quality that they not only put on at night but through-out the day really made this a great holiday. Each night we would stay and watch every show, which followed the 2 mini-discos for the kids. The shows included We will rock you, parrot show, Grease, Music through the decades and they saved the best till last, The Lion King, performed in 3 different languages! Totally amazing. Thank you Iman (i think its spelt right) and her great team. You made the difference! keep up the good work.

All in all, a fantastic holiday and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden H, Gerente at SunConnect Cabogata Garden, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your nice review .it si very gratifying for us to know you such a good experience at Cabogata Garden.

The entertainment team work hard to make the most of your holidays trying to keep every one busy with all sorts of activities. We are glad you liked not only the activities but the performances as well.

The buffet is our main concern and we work to offer good quality and wide range every time .Thank you for telling us you enjoyed it .

Our lifeguards are very concerned about the use guests do of the facilities and they are trained to
maintain the correct behaviour inside the swimming pool and avoid the inappropriate reservations of sunbeds.It is nice to know this helps you to enjoy our facilities.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel. Although the hotel is rated as 4 star, that rating is rather generous. The room was fine, however the bed for our 13 year old is not a full size bed, it was about 6 inches short, and had solid ends. As our child is tall she could not fit this bed comfortably, we had to place the mattress on the floor each night to get round the problem.
The cleaning of the hotel was adequate, not brilliant, but it was OK.
The big let down was the food. the first week was better than the 2nd. the meals are very 'samey', each meal had pasta, sometimes overcooked and cold, chips, and some fried food. The show cooking consisted of sausages, same fish....well it looked like it, and a meat / kebab / hamburger.The starter had a soup, and salad, the dessert were mousse, 2 jellies, cold rice pudding, and some sort of cake affair. Fruit was available. Saturday night brought the gateau. The microwave, was in use! No menu was published, and the hotel does not have a 2 week rotating menu as it has claimed. Pork stew, veal stew etc and rabbit stew 3 meals in a row!! The food is cold because it is not placed over beds of boiling water, under strong heat lamps. Some of the meals reminded me of school dinner!! The restaurant had 3 birds resident and loads of flies!! The lower tablecloths were not changed regularly and were often not clean. The glasses were very often not clean and we had to swap them for clean ones.
The staff are all pleasant, work very hard and appear to have long hours, but there is a need for more staff in the busiest time, both in the restaurant and at the bars. the staff they have cannot be faulted. Therefore table clearing and the drinks service is slow. we had several meals where the dirty plates etc from all 3 courses were on the table!
some food is not cooked properly, indeed my husband had food removed from his plate one day by a member of staff who saw what he had selected and had realised that it was likely to be under-cooked. the staff member did not, however, offer to replace the meal! We had to leave some food as it was raw in the middle....often this was chicken! We witnessed staff using the same utensils to put raw meat on the griddle and then instantly use the same utensil to move cooked food.
On more than one occasion a group of Spanish visited, and this resulted in the closure of one bar meaning that everyone had to use the one pool bar at night. In the evening everyone is funneled outside as there are no proper lounge areas, again something that should be available in a 4 star hotel.
The pool toilets were disgusting, they stank, and we saw cockroaches in there....not good!
We have stayed in many hotels across Europe including Spain, and always 4 star or better, and this one fell far short of the standard elsewhere.
I would not recommend this hotel simply because it claims to be 4 star but the food lets it down, along with some basic hygiene.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessitura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden H, Gerente at SunConnect Cabogata Garden, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Guest

First of all thank you for your review .Every comment our guests express in their reviews help us to improve our service.

Our familiar rooms have 2 beds and a sofa bed for two .We do not have extra beds .This information is shown in all the hotel descriptions and all this is well known by the touroperators

Sorry if in your opinion the food was not what you expected .The general opinion of the guests that stay during august at our hotel is very positive about the buffet and we did not have any complaints about raw food so we imagine this was a isolated case . We beg your pardon for this.

The pool toilets are cleaned 5 times a day paying attention to peak hours , with over 700 guests at the hotel to maintain the cleaning of this area makes it a bit more difficult

Once again thank you for your comments and we are sorry if our service was not all that you expected .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We arrived back today and have had a fantastic time. If you want Britain in the Sun then this isn't for you but if you want a fun family holiday is a Spanish resort at a hotel where the staff speak better English than I speak Spanish, then go to Cabogata Gardens! All the staff work so hard, it's exhausting to watch! There was plenty of choice in the restaurant and it was delicious. I can't fault this holiday. The room we had was good. We faced the pool so could watch the entertainment from our balcony.
We would walk along the beach in the evening and visit the shops and little market stalls. Again, everyone was so friendly and most spoke a little English.
I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the pool give a good view of the entertainment but if you want something quieter the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden H, Gerente at SunConnect Cabogata Garden, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review .It is great to know you enjoyed your holidays in Cabogata Garden
and that you will come back to visit us again .

Next time you come let us know in advance the room number you had if you whish to have the same one , even though we cannot confirm , we will do our best to reserve you the same room number so you can enjoy the entertainment as you did this time .

Thanks a lot and we wait for you at Cabogata Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Toyo
0.3 mi away
Cabogata Mar Garden Hotel Club & Spa
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
#1 of 4 in El Toyo
2,152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ohtels Cabogata
Ohtels Cabogata
#2 of 4 in El Toyo
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Evenia Zoraida Park
Evenia Zoraida Park
#3 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
2,217 reviews
14.1 mi away
Playadulce Hotel
Playadulce Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aguadulce
711 reviews
18.5 mi away
Playacapricho Hotel
Playacapricho Hotel
#6 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunConnect Cabogata Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunConnect Cabogata Garden

Property: SunConnect Cabogata Garden
Address: C/De los Juegos de Casablanca S/N, 04131 El Toyo, Spain (Formerly Cabogata Garden Hotel & Spa)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > El Toyo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Toyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — SunConnect Cabogata Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SunConnect Cabogata Garden is located in a quiet area outside of Almería. The family-friendly hotel is only separated from the beach by a pedestrian area/promenade. It offers comfortable accommodation for families and fun for kids of all ages with the Lollo & Bernie Kids Club (from Summer 2017 on) and the ConnectTeen Lounge for teenagers. On top of that, it has a large outdoor pool area including a waterpark, which provides fun for the kids, while parents can enjoy the sun on the large sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your SunConnect Cabogata Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabogata Garden Hotel And Spa
Cabogata Garden Hotel El Toyo
SunConnect Cabogata Garden El Toyo, Almeria, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing