We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SunConnect Cabogata Garden
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Toyo
Derby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed for a week all inclusive in a family room which was very spacious and absolutely spotless, with a great view looking at the mountains plus the sea. The staff at the hotel were all very friendly, endless working hard and always happy to help. The food was incredible with a different range everyday with some dishes regularly on offer such as salads, the choices enabled the whole family to have foods they enjoyed, with added variety.
Our rep Henna was incredible she became a friend, as we were all naturally drawn to her, she helped us to book spar treatments as well as book an amazing safari trip, so she fulfilled all her duties as a rep, but she was a very nice person above all. The safari trip was incredible exploring the mountains, beaches and the natural park where flamingos were. The two pools were very clean and a good size meaning it felt never too busy and at some points there were only a handful of people in the pools.
The overall feel of the hotel was relaxed, friendly place for a very perfect holiday. I would recommend that you would go all inclusive as it just makes the whole experience much more enjoyable. If you’re looking for a great relaxing pool holiday then look no further.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden H, Gerente at SunConnect Cabogata Garden, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing down your experience at Cabogata Garden .As we can read you have enjoyed food ,room and staff service .We do our best to make our guests feel confortable ,thanks for let us know you and your family felt like that.It would be nice to have you back in the future.Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    325
    228
    68
    62
See reviews for
632
165
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

If you want a relaxing break with very little to do, then this is the place for you.

The hotel is 25 years old, but it does not show its age. The room we had for 2 adults and 2 children of 11 and 15 was adequate for what we needed. There was 2 single beds, a bed settee which split into two beds.

There is wifi in areas, but it is not great other than in reception.

ROOM:

The bathroom has a bath, shower, sink toilet and bidet. My only complaint was that no shower mat was provided even though I had asked on several occasions. I would suggest a visit to your local pound shop and take one with you.

POOL:

The hotel has two main pools and a small paddling pool for infants. The main pool is no deeper than 1.4 meters at its deepest and has a walk in ramp. The smaller pool is much deeper, up to 1.7 meters which has steps into it. Both pools are warm, but cooling when you have been laying in the sun. There are two lifeguards on duty at all times the pools are open. The will leave notes on sunbeds which are unattended for more than an hour. However, if you let them know, your going for lunch, there is no problem.

FOOD:

The food seemed hit or miss according to the party we where with. I personally found the food to be very good, with local dishes being served for every meal. This includes live cooking of meats, fish and pasta. There was several complaints from our party about the sameness of the food and at breakfast, the temperature of the food. I personally found no issues, and if you leave the dinning room hungry, then it is your fault! (Our party comments are, the food caters for the Spanish guests rather than the British). I do agree to some degree, but I enjoy new food experiences as I am sure most of you will.

Drinks and Bar:

The bars serve Sam Miguel beer and local and imported spirits. They are available from 10:30 through 00:00. There are snack in the form of crisps and mixed nuts available, along with small portions of ice cream. If you want a Cornetto etc, then you do have to pay for these, however they are at a reduced price. Additional snacks such as sandwiches, cakes, pastries and chips are served at the pool bar from 11:30 and 16:30.

Things to do:

Basically there is little or nothing to do in the hotel, other than joining with the games that the hotel entertainment team provide( I will come to this soon). For the smokers, the nearest Tobac store is a good 25-30 minute walk away. There is Plaza Del Mar a 5 minute walk away, but this does not really open until late evening. There are a few bars there along with some small market stalls, but don't hold your breath. Walk another 5 minutes or so, then after 21:30 you will come across many market store selling their wares, most of which are faked goods, basically, they are "Lucky lucky men", pass these and there are a couple of bars, a Chinese Supermarket, two Pizzeria's, a Chinese restaurant and that's it!

There is a bus (number 30) to Almeria which runs every 45 minutes. The journey takes about 40 minutes and costs 1.05€. There are plenty of shops and designer stores. Get off at the green wall when the bus shows changes to 1, 2 and 12. Get the 30 back to the hotel from there.

Hotel Entertainment.

The hotel has an entertainment team who provide games during the day and shows during the evening. They are absolutely brilliant during the day and the shows they put on in the evenings are great as well as fun. While the hotel caters mainly for the Spanish, they speak excellent English and make every effort to include the English families in all their shows.

They arrange aerobic workouts in the pool, water polo, darts, archery etc during the day. I have to say the whole team were awesome and gave 100% in everything they did.

I recommend this hotel if you want to recharge the batteries.

Room Tip: For people with older children, I would recommend that a portable DVD, and lots aof travel games, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden H, Gerente at SunConnect Cabogata Garden, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your detailed review and we are satisfied to know you enjoy the most the food and the entertainment .We hope you have recharged batteries while being with us . We hope to see you back your next holidays .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

I spent a week at this hotel for the second week of August. It was very clean and the family rooms were spacious. As it was August, it was very busy with an even split of English and Spanish families. The waitress, Isabel, at the lobby bar was excellent. I was a bit annoyed that I booked a family room with two twin beds, and was given a double room with one bed. Did they hope I wouldn't notice? They were quick to correct this when I returned to reception, but it was annoying that I had to walk quite a way to the room with cases and my elderly Mum, who struggles to walk.

Pros: 2 large pools and a children's pools. Lots of activities around the pool for children during the day, and shows for the children in the evening ie, The Lion King, The Rocky Horror Show, plenty of dancing, etc. Children and parents seemed to love it. Hotel, grounds and rooms were very clean. It was nice to have a fridge in the room. Aircon in the room was good. I didn't go all inclusive so can't comment on the food served in the restaurant or outside by the pool bar, however, I heard it was good. Nice location, right on the beach and there are several restaurants within a 5 and 20 min walk away but mainly tapas and italian. One Chinese restaurant. What I ate was good though. Supermarket 20 mins walk.

Cons: Not really ideal for couples, as lots of noisy children. There needs to be more food choice available in the bar near the lobby, and bar staff always there to serve. Although it was open, you had to ask reception for someone to come and serve you which took quite a while. Perhaps if someone was always on duty it would get used more and help to provide a nice atmosphere rather than looking deserted. I preferred to eat here rather than in the restaurant as that looked more like a canteen and seemed very crowded. Service at the reception and pool bar was very slow. You can only pick up pool towels from the spa before 1:30 pm each day, so if you arrive at the hotel after this, you won't get one for the afternoon. Similarly, you have to hand your towel back by 1:30 pm, so on your last day, you'll be without one for the afternoon. 10 euro deposit per towel. Also, the towels should be in a more convenient and central location. People do reserve sunbeds with towels. TVs in the room need upgrading to flatscreen with more viewing options and a clock should be provided.

Things I would have liked the receptionist to have told/given me on the first day to save me a trip. The safe key, the wifi login details, and that the password expired every 3 days and you had to get a new one each time. The location of the pool towels.

All in all, it was a nice holiday, but a week was long enough for 2 adults without children.

Room Tip: I had a pool view which did get noisy. Sea view would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 100Champagne100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden H, Gerente at SunConnect Cabogata Garden, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments .Nice to know you liked our pools and entertainment .About the Lobby bar this is not a all inclisive service and in summer 90 per cent of our guests come in all inclusive ,that means, almost everybody use the pool bar so we don´t really need a person on duty there.

Towels for pool can be collected at the spa iduring the opining times,that is in the morning and in the afternoon and when clients on their last days can leave their towels at the recepction and have their deposit back .

Regarding the TV , this year we started to change for new ones and we expect to have them all changed in a future .Thank you again for your opinions and suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed for two weeks all inclusive at this hotel. We found the journey, the hotel and the location excellent.
The hotel was very clean and run efficiently. The meals were very good and there was always something to enjoy.
The pool area was very good and the Lifeguards were on hand to prevent any accidents etc.
The entertainment team worked very hard to include all holidaymakers in the activities, without being too pushy. They were very friendly and good fun.
Hena our Thomas Cook rep was very friendly and helpful - one of the best reps that we have met.
All of the staff at this hotel work really hard and do a wonderful job.
We would recommend this hotel to people like us, who enjoy the culture and the area of a resort. We hired a car and really enjoyed the beautiful beaches around Almeria.
We will definitely consider returning here.

Room Tip: The view over the pool is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 19ali19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden H, Gerente at SunConnect Cabogata Garden, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your nice review about our hotel and our staff .Great to know you enjoy our buffet service and the services of the hotel.Thank you for the special mention you make about our staff and specially about entertainment team,they thank you for that.We hope to have see you again in the future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We travelled to this hotel on the 24th July 2014 for 2weeks, with a party of 8, 4 adults and 4 children ageing from 6-17. The flight was good, transfer from airport was ok, no rep on board with us though. On arrival one of our rooms wasn't ready, but wasn't too much of a problem. Room was clean and quite spacious, had a nice view of the sea, we overlooked a car park put that was not a problem as didn't look down always looked out to sea.... And plus it was quieter that side of the hotel. The pools were nice but sometimes did get very crowded. Didn't realise when we booked this hotel that it was open to the public, so they could just come in and use the pool, spa etc and eat in the restaurant, there was about 3 or 4 children's parties held there whilst we were there and they asked someone to move in the pool so that they could use it for the party children! Don't expect that when u book a family holiday and have paid alot if money for it! Day 2 of our holiday one of my children's little teddy bears went missing, went to reception to report this, she didn't really understand what I was trying to tell her, but she made a note and said she would look into it, that evening I went to our rep and told her what had happened and asked her to please look into it, I had to chase our rep several times as she hadn't got back to me, 1 week later the teddy was found and bought upto to our room, goodness knows where he had got to! After this we put all our little teddies in the safe as one of them was very precious to my little boy and if that had gone missing he would have been heart broken! There wasn't much food choice for children I don't think, especially travelling with a very fussy 6 year old.
If your looking for a very Spanish holiday this is the place for you, not got into the tourist thing as yet and nobody speaks much English - we knew a little Spanish to get us by.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden H, Gerente at SunConnect Cabogata Garden, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear guest

Thank for writing down your experience about your days in Cabogata Garden . Sorry about the teddy bear .It was taken with the sheets and sent to the laundry .We work wtih an industrial landry and due to the great amount of stuff they had they did took a few days till they found the teddy .

On the other hand we are glad you liked your room and the pools .Thank you again for your review and we would be glad to have you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Returned after two week holiday with family of 4 including two teenagers. Thomas Cook promised we could upgrade to suite when we got there but was told at reception when booking in there were none available. After explaining our situation but being ignored and brushed off by man in reception the head rep, Hena took over conversation and promised to e mail head office and gets a new room or transfer to another hotel for us and get back to us by 5 that evening. She failed to get back to us and the continued to ignore us for the next two weeks, as a head rep she is failing and does not seen to want to do the she is employed for. We heard numerous complaints from other people about her during our stay. Therefore one of our teenagers had to sleep for two weeks with feet hanging off end of camp bed . However on the plus side the rep, Sara was fantastic and helped us out above and beyond when our daughter became ill. The hotel was clean, food ok, area surrounding very quiet and not many places to eat or drink, had a good holiday overall it would not visit hotel again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden H, Gerente at SunConnect Cabogata Garden, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear Guest

First we want to thank you for the review and we sorry if you did not felt all confortable you desire .Sorry as well if you felt "ignore" by the receptionist .He just explain you that you had a familiar room not a suite and as we did not have any information about upgrade to a suite thera was nothing else he could do unless we were told by Thomas Cook.

We are glad you enjoy pur food service and that you had a good holidays.Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Just arrived back from 2 weeks (31 July - 14 august) family with 15 year old - to be honest there are pros and cons to this hotel - transfer was about 10-15 mins (20 euros in a taxi) check in was a nightmare we arrived at 10:40am and had to wait over an hour for the room to be available (not great when you been travelling since 2am) first room we had allocated was awful (1104) it was extremely 'tired' bathroom was filthy the whole room was below standard especially for a 4* ??reception explained the hotel was full but we could upgrade to a suit (we did at extra cost) room was a lot bigger and cleaner offered 2 bedrooms and large bathroom (1101) only problem was the noise - we didn't have a problem with the evening entertainment that finished about midnight but underneath the rooms in the 1000/2000 block is a games area with pool tables - other guests seemed to enjoy using these until 2am ish and made so much noise (screaming and shouting) it was impossible to ignore !!! If you want a quieter area in the evenings ask for the other side of the hotel 3000/4000 block. Pool area was washed down every other day and the guy worked hard keeping the area tidy we had no problems getting beds and sunbeds were available even up to 10am no shortage at all if you wanted a shade these usually had gone first -if you left your beds for over an hour around lunchtime your towels 'would' be removed you could get them back from reception - the pool bar was fine (only bar open during the day) sometimes ques but nothing to really complain about. Snacks not great - Toilets not great bit wiffy at times - could do with a good clean. Restaurant always clean - no one could go hungry always something to choose from salads, pasta, meat and fish, cooked on the grill station - chips, potatoes, veg. Cakes, fresh fruit, ice cream and cheeses at both lunch and dinner - breakfast could get a bit busy we ate between 8:30 and 9 so no problems - the staff were lovely especially the man who greeted us everyday - really friendly! The majority of staff including our chamber made were lovely yes their English was limited but so is my Spanish and between us we could communicate (lucky for me my son is doing gcse Spanish so he did most of the difficult stuff) I would not recommend for teenagers my son was bored the animation team did various activities some for younger children some for older kids and stuff for adults he played footy, ping pong and water polo most days but there wasn't much else for him to do except go use the wi-fi in reception. The animation team work hard the aqua gym was great to watch I have never seen so many people getting involved the pool was full. Evening entertainment was a little cheesey but it usually is when your on your hols. The beach wasn't really great the walkway was a bit rickety and I only went on it once as it scared the life out if me I was convinced I would fall through as the wood felt rotten my other half risked it every morning on his walks - not much in the area to be honest- bus to almeria a couple of euros each - walk up the front to the evening market about 15 min stroll selling fake gear footy kits, leather goods, designer copies - worth a stroll gives you something to do on an evening. The hotel does seem to be a weekend retreat for the Spanish so it does get a little busier wasn't that bad in our opinion only thing that drove us mad was there refusal to que for anything and some staff did show them preferential treatment.
We were a little disappointed -don't get me wrong we had a good holiday the weather was ridiculously hot but I struggle to rate it as a 4* think it just needs a good clean inside and out and some room refurbishment/modernisation - we feel we have stayed in nicer hotels that have been graded the same but offered a higher standard - just feel there was something missing - hence a little disappointed

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HenCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden H, Gerente at SunConnect Cabogata Garden, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear GuestThank you for detailed your experience with us .Every review give us good information .We are really sorry you feel a little disappointed with the service received .

Regarding the teens activities, we do have a special programme for then, but sometimes,depending on the number of people we join them with the adults

About the time your the room was given we have to say that, as check out is at 12.00 when we are fully booked like happens in August it is imposible to have the rooms at 10.40 when you arrived .From 12.00 the hotels have 2 hours time to arrange the room.In fact you have your room by 12.00 which is much earlier than expected .Sorry about that it was not in our hands to do it better.

We are glad you enjoy our buffet and all inclusive service and thank you for the special mention you make of our staff .It is a pity that, even though you seem to have enjoy your holidays with us you feel dissapointed .Thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Toyo
0.3 mi away
Cabogata Mar Garden Hotel Club & Spa
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
#1 of 4 in El Toyo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ohtels Cabogata
Ohtels Cabogata
#2 of 4 in El Toyo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Playacapricho Hotel
Playacapricho Hotel
#7 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
17.5 mi away
Evenia Zoraida Park
Evenia Zoraida Park
#3 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
17.5 mi away
Mediterraneo Park
Mediterraneo Park
#13 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunConnect Cabogata Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunConnect Cabogata Garden

Property: SunConnect Cabogata Garden
Address: C/De los Juegos de Casablanca S/N, 04131 El Toyo, Spain (Formerly Cabogata Garden Hotel & Spa)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > El Toyo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Toyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — SunConnect Cabogata Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SunConnect Cabogata Garden is located in a quiet area outside of Almería. The family-friendly hotel is only separated from the beach by a pedestrian area/promenade. It offers comfortable accommodation for families and fun for kids of all ages with the Lollo & Bernie Kids Club (from Summer 2017 on) and the ConnectTeen Lounge for teenagers. On top of that, it has a large outdoor pool area including a waterpark, which provides fun for the kids, while parents can enjoy the sun on the large sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SunConnect Cabogata Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabogata Garden Hotel El Toyo
Cabogata Garden Hotel And Spa
SunConnect Cabogata Garden El Toyo, Almeria, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing