We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Sunday Roast”
Review of Roast Ox Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Painscastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roast Ox Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Painscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hadleigh, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Sunday Roast”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Went to the Roast Ox today on a recommendation and didn't fail to deliver. There was 2 of us and our dog and we booked 2 hours beforehand with a polite gentleman. The ale is excellent Doombar, not local, but hey, who cares when its this good. We ordered roast beef and was presented with a big plate of meat, potatoes and Yorkshire pudding and thought it was weird to have no veg but tucked in anyway. To our pleasant surprise a bowl of cheesy leeks, bowl of veg and some extra gravy arrived. The quantity and quality was excellent and didnt have to pay until the end of the meal. Overall and excellent place to eat Sunday Lunch and felt looked after and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    13
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
13
31
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galsgow
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here over the weekend of the 16/17th Aug 2013. 1 Double room and 1 Twin.. very nice! Clean, comfy and had everything we needed. We slept sooooo well! Beside breakfast we had 2 evening meals, they were delicious - Tony is some chef! We were not able to stay for Sunday Lunch but we had heard it is just as tasty as the meals we had eaten. Jason is welcoming helpful and good company - our thanks to all at the Roast Ox for a lovely, pleasant, stress free and thoroughly enjoyable weekend! Highly recommended for B&B, meals or just a few drinks with a relaxing atmosphere! Well done and thanks again....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Great service, fantastic food and rooms are clean and quiet. Couldn't have been much better! Staff were friendly and the had a good selection of wines, beers an spirits. Only a couple of miles from Hay-on-wye.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linium1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Recently stayed at the Roast Ox Inn for three nights whilst on a motorcycle holiday with friends touring Mid Wales. Can`t praise enough the time we had there. Nothing was too much trouble and have rarely felt so welcome. Big thanks to Tony, Jason and all for a great time, great rooms and great food. Highly recommend and will definately return
Owen

Room Tip: Had single room ( twin beds ) ensuite. Very clean and comfortable. Rooms at front of Inn have bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow-on-the-Wold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

It was another of our weekends away with a group of motorcyclists aged from their 20-60s. It had everything we needed. Simple comfortable accommodation, excellent beer , a wide and first class menu, and staff that just couldn't do enough to help. It is such a pleasure to see that traditional values of hospitality are still about. We couldn't find a single fault so thank you once again for making the weekend so perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spartacus1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at this pub as part of the 'freerein' riding trails. Wow, as soon as we walked in we were given a warm welcome, the refurbished rooms were just what we needed after a day in the saddle. The food, best I have tasted from a pub in a long time and plenty of it so we were not hungry. The staff were young and new however are a credit to the landlord, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was served when we wanted it, not when he wanted to do it and again an excellent spread. We will be staying again and I don't say that often.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliz1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Builth Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Had a family lunch here last Sunday. The setting of the Roast Ox is beautiful, food delicious and staff very friendly and helpful & nothing was too much trouble for them. We will certainly be returning

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 267Spinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Painscastle
5.6 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
4.7 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Baskerville Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
New Inn at Brilley
New Inn at Brilley
#1 of 3 in Whitney-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
4.6 mi away
Foyles of Glasbury
Foyles of Glasbury
#1 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roast Ox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roast Ox Inn

Property: Roast Ox Inn
Address: Automatic Exchange B4594, Painscastle LD2 3JL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Painscastle
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Painscastle
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geo Requested 9-3-10 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roast Ox Inn Painscastle, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing