We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent little studio accomodation, views are stunning, hosts welcoming”
Review of Rowan Brae Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Ballachulish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rowan Brae Studios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This is a wonderful studio, built on the back of the hosts house. They recently added a sitting room to the side of our room which was perfect if the weather was not that great so we could still sit on the sofa taking in the wonderful views.
Directions were spot on and the welcome was very friendly. Even from Toby the dog!
It was well equipped and very clean, shower was lovely and warm after a wet day out on the Jacobite, but it didnt dampen our good time there.
A short stroll along the lochside brought us to Loch leven hotel where food and ale was plenty and again excellent views from the decking.
You really need a car to get to any of the shops or nearby attractions but you will probably have one anyway if you are holidaying in the area. A trip around the road to Kinlochleven and stop off at the seafood cafe/restaurant is a must as it was voted best seafood restaurant 2011.
Definately recommended as a homely stay with lovely hosts. Dont hesitate.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trustedtraveller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 56 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2010

Visited Rowanbrae inJuly, wow fantastic!! Rooms are fully equipped with everything you could ask for. The owners cannot do anything more to make this a more enjoyable visit. They are a host of knowledge about the surrounding area and if they cannot answer your questions they will find the answer for you from an array of friends.

The room is spotless! The views are fantastic! would definately reccomend this self catering room to everyone i know.

Have already made return booking for next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lori_mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We had a last minute plan to join some friends, who were renting a house near Ballachulish. Being bank holiday in Scotland, it was impossible to get a booking in any of the B&Bs. I found this vacancy at Rowanbrae online (had to make a telephone call).

Eileen (Webster) owns the house and has made two beautiful, comfortable and fully equipped studio flats for holiday lets.

I was apprehensive, but did not need to be.

On arrival, we were a bit lost, and on contacting Eileen, were given precise directions. She was waiting at the top of the road with a big smile.

The flat is accessed via steps, on the side of which there were beautifully planted and meticulously kept herb and vegetable garden and flower beds. There is a beautiful decked area (with chairs and barbeque) which leads to the front door. There is an alternate internal entrance as well.

We were impressed at how clean and spacious it was. There was a superking size bed with fresh linen. The bathroom was spotless, with a powerful shower. The kitchen was fully equipped, right down to egg cups and a complimentary packed of Scottish Shortbread biscuit. A great touch.

There is a dvd player and a selection of dvds (for rainy days) and a lot of literature on days out and walks. Just talk to Eileen or her husband and they will recommend a walk. They also have a lovely dog who wants to come out and greet you....

We had two nights here and loved having our cup of tea in the morning, looking out over the loch.

The two flats can be rented as one as there are adjoining doors - all very well thought out.

I much preferred this to the traditional bed and breakfasts. We had a true "highland welcome" and will definitely use this as a base for further visits to this beautiful part of Scotland.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daddys_dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RowanBraeStudios, Owner at Rowan Brae Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Your review in 2010 is much appreciated. Just wanted to let you know that we are the new owners but continue Eileen's warmth and hospitality, so should you ever wish to return you will be very welcome. Neil & Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RowanBraeStudios, Owner at Rowan Brae Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Ballachulish hotels
0.6 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alltshellach
Alltshellach
#2 of 2 in North Ballachulish
95 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Alltshellach
#1 of 1 in North Ballachulish
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowan Brae Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowan Brae Studios

Address: 8 Old Town | by Glencoe & Fort William, North Ballachulish PH33 6RZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > North Ballachulish
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in North Ballachulish
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two delightful self-contained and self catering studios offering comfortable accommodation, private entrance, own decked patio area, stunning elevated views over lochs and mountains, within easy reach of Glencoe, the Nevis range and Fort William. Suitable for couples, singles (no supplement) or 2 couples subject to availability. Excellently located for hill walking on munros, climbing, wonderful scenic views, photography, history, as a base for exploring Glencoe area, Oban, Mallaig, the Isles and getting the Harry Potter train! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rowan Brae Studios North Ballachulish, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing