We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Welcoming Hotel”
Review of Loch Leven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loch Leven Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at this hotel but we did eat in the restaurant there last night. The food and service was very good despite the hotel being under extreme pressure after a road accident closed the road A82. The staff were very welcoming and although under a lot of pressure due to huge numbers of people looking for food and drinks were very professional and friendly throughout. They kept the stranded motorists updated as to the propects of the road reopening through regular contact with local police. Well done to everyone at this lovely lakeside hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly8London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just to add to the mixed reviews this place seems to attract - we stayed locally at Loch Leven Chalets and the owners mentioned this place to us for food. We went on two evenings and enjoyed the food very much. Its not pretentious or pretending to be luxurious its just good honest food in beautiful surroundings and we had no problems with the staff who were very courteous. We did have a bit of a wait for our mains on the second evening but the manager did come to our table and apologise, and we didnt have a problem with that. Dont be put off by the adverse reviews give it a try!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molly375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We recently stayed in this area at a hotel that had vacation homes and a hotel but felt that their food prices were a bit high. We hopped in our rental car and checked out the area (which is phenomenally beautiful) and found the Loch Leven Hotel. We had a wonderful meal in their pub of fish and chips and some of the best sticky toffee pudding ever ! The meal was nicely prepared, the food was hot and the view from the room off the back of the pub was just picture perfect. Later when we taking care of the bill we had a lovely chat with the owners who were so pleasant and nice to talk to. We spent almost 3 weeks touring the UK and this meal and location were a highpoint on our trip. Sometimes it's not always about how fancy a place is - but about the entire experience and your lasting impression of an area of the world you haven't explored.The Loch Leven hotel definitely made our evening a wonderful one.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We spent only one night at the Loch Leven hotel. Whilst all the staff were friendly and efficient, and the location is outstanding, our room was disappointing. Although clean and properly appointed, and with a wonderful view of the loch, the decor was frayed at the edges and the floor was the noisiest we have ever known (and we live in a listed cottage so we know what creaky means!). Breakfast and dinner were above average and the latter was reasonably priced but, overall, we felt we had been charged too much for our accommodation; it simply was not worth the price (we stayed in a stylish and smart hotel in Edinburgh the following night for less). Were we paying extra for the view? did we get the worst room because we were only staying one night? we will never know, and if we went back to that part of Scotland we would not bother to find out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetHedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

you are surrounded by fantastic views everywhere you look at this wonderful hotel. Take the easy trail starting at the base of teh garden to get a great view of the loch.friendly staff and great meals kept us very happy. a good location for day trips to Glenfinnin, Oban or Inverness.

Room Tip: look for loch side to get the window views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gatornation89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Our family of four, including two teens, stayed in the family room for three nights. The room is probably a bit too small for four if your kids are big. The fold out sofa bed is quite small. We were not in the room much so it was not a big deal. Overall, the hotel needs a little TLC, but the minor flaws are easily outweighed by the positives. The hotel staff were excellent and the food in the restaurant was very good. We had two evening meals there and found all the choices to be fresh and well prepared. The included breakfast choices were good as well. Our boys liked the full breakfasts very much. The hotel is within a short drive of a number of great hikes and we found Loch Leven as a great base for day hikes.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank plazb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights during a touring holiday of Scotland. There was a slight glitch with our room on arrival but this was quickly sorted out while we had a meal in the bar. This meal was plentiful and delicious and we were joined by Hilary, the owner, for a drink afterwards.

Our room was lovely. Room 3, I think, overlooking the Loch with a window seat and jacuzzi bath. The bed was very very comfortable and we both slept really well.

Breakfast was delicious. Much better than the very expensive hotel we stayed in in Inverness.

Please ask Hilary about the walk directly from the hotel through a wooded area to a beautiful cove crossing through a meadow and back to the hotel.

The staff in the hotel deserve a mention. They were all delightful. Can I give a special mention to the lady who was serving behind the bar on our arrival, serving meals too and serving breakfast on the morning afterwards ?

She is a gem!! She was rushed off her feet at breakfast but still had the time to interact with a fractious baby whose parents
were juggling him and their breakfasts.

We had a super stay.

Thank you



Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jenNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Ballachulish
0.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,266 reviews
0.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
179 reviews
3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.7 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
912 reviews
11.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Leven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Leven Hotel

Address: Old Ferry Road, North Ballachulish PH33 6SA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > North Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Ballachulish
Price Range: £70 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loch Leven Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its relaxed atmosphere, beautiful loch-side setting, dramatic views of the mountains, near to Glencoe, Ballachulish, Fort William and Ben Nevis, this privately owned, family-run hotel in the heart of Lochaber has everything you could want for activity based Highlands holidays, or stress-free breaks in Scotland away from it all, enjoying the Scottish scenery and breathing the fresh, clean air. After opening our own Gin Distillery in the hotel's grounds late 2017 you can now taste our small batch craft distilled gins in our award winning bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loch Leven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Leven
Loch Leven Onich
Loch Leven Hotel North Ballachulish, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing