We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy escape with majestic surroundings.”
Review of Loch Leven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loch Leven Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A cozy escape with majestic surroundings.”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Loch Leven Hotel (Ballachulish) is a lovely hotel with character set amongst some of the most majestic surroundings Scotland has to offer. The restaurant, deck and even our room faced the magnificent Beinn a'Bheithir which is an awe inspiring site to wake up to. The entire area is a mecca for walkers and landscape photographers (I was in heaven). The hotel complements the charm of the area by presenting a welcoming cozy atmosphere with very helpful staff. Our room was very clean, warm and had the usual amenities for a hotel of this size (Brodies tea is always welcome). The hotel has a lovely small bar with an open fire, great atmosphere and a further section with more seating and a pool table. The restaurant has fantastic food, I recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs in the morning, a real treat! Our evening meal was equally as good with a wide selection of locally sourced produce. There is free WiFi throughout and space for parking.

On the whole if you are seeking a lovely hotel with atmosphere and charm which encompasses the spirit of Scotland, look no further. Seriously, check out the whisky selection ;)

Looking forward to going back.

AJ Johnstone

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJ-Johnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LochLevenHotel, Owner at Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear AJ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted that everything was to your satisfaction and that you got to take in some of the magnificent vistas on our doorstep as well as sample our malts. We shall look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Craig Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    210
    61
    27
    13
See reviews for
119
406
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galashiels
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stopped in here for launch in February this year. It was quiet but the person behind the bar was friendly and helpful and quickly lit the fire in the small bar and so we were quite warm and comfortable. The dog was also welcome in the that area of the bar which was great. The food was good quality and good value for money and we would certainly come back again.

Room Tip: We did not stay at this hotel, so no tips for rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenbuster7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LochLevenHotel, Owner at Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Greenbuster7,

Thank you for choosing to have lunch with us and for taking the time to submit a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your bar lunch with us, the fire is a definite asset during the cooler months. We are happy that your dog also got to sample our hospitality as fewer and fewer places are dog friendly these days. We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Craig Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Arrived at 6pm later than we expected but we were kindly offered the afternoon tea that was part of our deal.
The hotel is being modernised and what has been completed has been successful.
Room was comfortable, warm and we had all we required.
The main bar area has limited seating so it was necessary and novel to sit on the bar stool that is a recycled tractor seat! There is plenty of additional seating adjacent in rooms adjacent to the bar
The owners and the Bar and restaurant staff were most helpful.
Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked and not from a buffet hot-tray.
Like other reviewers I enjoyed the freshly scrambled eggs with locally smoked salmon and garnish.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room overlooking Loch Leven or the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurtonAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LochLevenHotel, Owner at Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear BurtonAyr,

Thank you so much for your review of your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and got to see some of our renovation projects taking shape. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future as we continue to develop. I am glad that you liked our new bar stools which were chosen in memory of the farm land which once stood behind the hotel to the north. I shall pass on your thanks to the staff who shall be most grateful for your kind comments.

Kind Regards,

Craig Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This hotel is excellent and don't pay any attention to the couple who are saying the service is poor and about the power cut. They happened to be sitting across from us and all they did was moan, moan, moan. Yes there was a power cut but it was only the tv in the rooms that were affected and this was fixed after 40 minutes, so no requirement for candles or torches then !!! The owners and the staff are excellent and very helpful. Food is absolutely brilliant and priced very reasonable.

Room Tip: Room 3 has stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevibhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LochLevenHotel, Owner at Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Kevibhoy,

Thank you for your review. It is always a delight when people rate our hospitality in such generous terms. I shall be sure to pass on your praise to one and all for their hard work and we shall hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Craig Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel at the start of February for my sister's birthday. We had been before, having nice chilled-out evenings in the friendly bar in front of the warm fire or playing pool. This time though we had the opportunity to see the rooms and experience the food whilst staying in the hotel for two nights. The room was nice and the new owners are obviously spending lots upgrading all areas. The food was great, lots of choice, very tasty, and the smoked salmon and eggs a real winner at breakfast. The staff were friendly and charming, chatting kindly to our noisy little two year old daughter who had a lovely time. Craig went out of his way to help us with TVs, DVDs etc to set up my birthday presentation for my sister. There was a real friendly atmosphere as the guests chatted to each other about their days. I wish the new owners every success with the hotel. We'll be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LochLevenHotel, Owner at Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear JM,

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure having your family here for your sister's birthday and we are delighted that we were able to play a part in the festivities. We shall look forward to welcoming you back next time you get a chance to visit!

Kind Regards,

Craig Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canonbie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed in hotel through work November,December,January.Could not understand when read reviews and that someone had put "Basic and poor service". All the rooms we stayed in were excellent as for the service the owners could not do enough to make our stay comfortable the meals were excellent and the bar staff, waitresses were great making it an enjoyable stay.I will be returning in the summer with my family to stay for a holiday as hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank douglas n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LochLevenHotel, Owner at Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Douglas,

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your many stays with us over the last few months and we definitely look forward to warmly welcoming you back with your family in Summer. Hope all is well.

Kind Regards,

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Loch Leven Hotel (At Ballachulish - not to be confused with hotels round a different Loch Leven in Perth and Kinross district) is a lovely small hotel. It is currently under new owners who are starting a process of improvements to some of the slightly dated fittings. The hotel as it stands is in a great location with lovely views of the Ballachulish bridge and mountain ranges behind it. As a very small hotel (about 12 rooms) the staff are often multitasking and cannot be in every area at once. A quick look around easily locates one of the very helpful staff or owner who cannot do enough for you. The rooms are very comfortable and warm with all the usual facilities you expect. Our bed was luxuriously comfortable and the period feature of the creaky floorboards in the room added to the charm. The food in the hotel was at a standard hard to equal at any price (well done to the chief). We had an evening two course dinner which was of superb quality and taste ( after being welcomed with afternoon tea with scone, cream and jam earlier on arrival). The breakfast in the morning had the usual choices but with a few extra choices not expected in such a small hotel. The smoked salmon was outstanding. If you have realistic expectations of such a small hotel in the process of improvements you should not be disappointed. Just ask if you need anything.

Room Tip: Room 6 is of reasonable size but has nice views across the loch to the mountains. As for a loch side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooperstours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LochLevenHotel, Owner at Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Mr Cooper,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are delighted that you so thoroughly enjoyed this wonderful and characterful hotel as it enjoyed having you. Thank you so much for your kind words and we truly hope that we can welcome you back in the future to see the developments that we are making to the place.

Kind Regards,

Craig Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Ballachulish
0.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
145 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.7 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
878 reviews
1.6 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Leven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Leven Hotel

Property: Loch Leven Hotel
Address: Old Ferry Road, North Ballachulish PH33 6SA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > North Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loch Leven Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its relaxed atmosphere, beautiful loch-side setting, dramatic views of the mountains, near to Glencoe, Ballachulish, Fort William and Ben Nevis, this privately owned, family-run hotel in the heart of Lochaber has everything you could want for activity based Highlands holidays, or stress-free breaks in Scotland away from it all, enjoying the Scottish scenery and breathing the fresh, clean air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loch Leven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Leven
Loch Leven Onich
Loch Leven Hotel North Ballachulish, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing