We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel x”
Review of Loch Leven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loch Leven Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel x”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

From the start til end of our trip owners and their staff were so helpful and friendly,ate in the hotel on both nights food was fantastic, and bar prices were very reasonable, location is to die for, scenery was beautiful,we got a fabulous deal through Amazon local, but would definitely return and recommend this fab hotel to everyone, we loved the decor the new owner's have done so far, definitely a credit to them x

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilltime123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LochLevenHotel, Owner at Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Chilltime 123,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we do hope that you will return to us the next time you visit the Highlands!

Kind Regards,

Craig Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    210
    61
    27
    13
See reviews for
119
407
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had a 5 night stay with my wife and 2 brother in laws and sister in laws we had a fabulous time throughout our stay staff were brilliant food and accommodation excellent no negatives at all thank you all for a memorable stay would recommend to all from Paul+marilyn shepherd.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LochLevenHotel, Owner at Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear ShanksPonies,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you got to sample some of the options that we offer our guests and hope that you enjoyed your stay. We are very lucky to be on the doorstep of such outstanding beauty and we are happy that you got the opportunity to experience it.

Kind Regards,

Craig Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is a typical Scottish hotel set in magnificent surroundings with friendly helpful staff. Good beers, wines etc. and reaonably priced meals served in the evenings. The Scottish breakfast was excellent, with lots to choose from. In all, a very cosy comfortable hotel in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShanksPonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LochLevenHotel, Owner at Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Shanksponies,

Thank you for writing your review of our hotel and we are glad that you found your stay comfortable. Please accept my apologies for the length of time it has taken to post this reply, the original reply was rejected for some unknown reason.

We hope to welcome you back to Loch Leven Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Craig Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Lochleven Hotel has changed hands since the last time i stayed.The staff were very good,room was clean and tidy and you cant fault the location.The only thing wrong was the evening meal,i was told that the chef was ill,and the owner was very apologetic about the poor standart of the meal.Having said that its still a good hotel and great location.At £79 for B+B its mybe getting a little bit to expensive for this standard of hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruickshankwelding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LochLevenHotel, Owner at Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Cruikshank,

Thank you for your review of your stay. We are happy that you chose to stay with us and return to Loch Leven Hotel. Once again please accept our apologies for the wait that you had for your main courses on Saturday night and hope that our gesture of waiving all food charges from your bill was your satisfaction. As I explained at the time, sadly our Head Chef was taken to hospital shortly before dinner service which meant there was no time to find a replacement to assist with the volume of custom that we received. We have thankfully found cover now until such time as he is able to return to us.

With regards to the rate, £79 during the Easter holidays is when compared to other hotels in the area and the rates that the hotel used to charge for the past few years, considerably lower due to the discount that you received on arrival.

We hope that you will drop in again next time that you are visiting the area to see our continued development.

Kind Regards,

Craig Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I chose this hotel as a place to stay in Glencoe purely on its location. It didn't disappoint. Its setting is stunning. We got the last room available and although small was clean and comfortable. Had dinner here both nights and couldn't find fault unlike some other reviewers. But what made it for me was the very welcoming hosts and the lovely cosy atmosphere which is what you would expect from a Highland Hotel but often don't get. Cant wait to go back in warmer weather and sit in their lovely gardens.

Room Tip: Room 2 is lovely with stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EverMadasafish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LochLevenHotel, Owner at Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Evermadasafish2,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted that you so thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. The location is of course magnificent and indeed when the weather is at its best there is no where better to visit. We shall look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Craig Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in two rooms (had to move after 1 night at hotel's request, but not a problem), room 2 double aspect views,lovely decor & comfy bed but bath taps not working and no way to move showerhead. 2nd room,12, thoughtfully designed for disabled guests, however bedding grubby, shower has flooded in the past and mould has formed on the bathroom door, not nice! Breakfast ok but evening meals lack inspiration. Great location but overall expensive for quality of accommodation.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beachbaby50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LochLevenHotel, Owner at Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Beachbaby 50,

Thank you for your review. With regards to this we do always try to accommodate our guests in one room for the duration of their stay. Unfortunately this was not possible in your case and we did make contact with you when the booking was received from the agent to inform you of this, for the trouble we did give you a complimentary upgrade to our deluxe room to compensate for the inconvenience. We note the point made pertaining to the taps, they are a little stiff and so we have sourced a replacement fitting for these which will be installed shortly. Sadly yes, akin to many hotels we have fitted showerheads in some rooms. These are usually the preferred method within the industry as there are fewer breakable parts such as shower hoses. For any future redesign however it may be something that we can consider.

Room 12 has indeed been thoughtfully designed for both disabled and able bodied guests and has a lovely aspect through its large windows. I can only apologise if the bedding was grubby. I shall of course take this as a matter of great seriousness as cleanliness is an integral core of our establishment. I would be most grateful if you could contact me to discuss which item of bedding was found to be unsatisfactory so that I can investigate further.

Having personally inspected the water damage in the bathroom in room 12 we shall have to replace part of the doorframe. Fortunately it is only water damaged and not mouldy and so shall be a simple replacement of timbers.

We are glad that the breakfast was to your satisfaction but are disappointed to note that you were let down by our dinner menu. Again, I would be delighted to discuss this with you to see what improvements you would suggest. We always welcome feedback from our guests and relish the chance to grow from it.

It is of course disappointing to hear that you think of us as overpriced as we do carefully manage our rates and find them to be competitive with comparable properties.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Craig Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Visited hotel 31st march
We had voucher for a two night stay was fully booked so we compromised a one night stay for four and both couples were charged £39.50 for this so called upgrade nice hotel still not sure why ? As we only stayed one night
Voucher was for two nights including scones dinner etc

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxi1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LochLevenHotel, Owner at Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Mr Mowatt,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay but disappointed to note that you are dissatisfied with the billing process. I thought that in our email correspondence with yourself that this matter had been fully resolved and understood. The bill was exactly comparable to the details we specified in writing in our confirmation at time of booking. To reiterate, the voucher in question was for one room for two nights including dinner on the first night for 2 people, cream tea for 2 people and late checkout. As agreed we allowed you to use the voucher in payment for 2 rooms on the same night but the dinner for the additional 2 people, cream tea for the additional 2 people and late check out for the additional room would have to be charged otherwise we would be giving these away on a complimentary basis. As agreed at time of booking we would charge only the difference in amount equal to you purchasing two of the one night vouchers and not the charge for all of these services which would have been significantly more.
I do apologise if for any reason you feel that we have been unclear in this matter at any point however I do not know of another way to simplify the explanation. If you do need further clarification, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,

Craig Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Ballachulish
0.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
146 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.7 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
879 reviews
1.6 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Leven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Leven Hotel

Property: Loch Leven Hotel
Address: Old Ferry Road, North Ballachulish PH33 6SA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > North Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loch Leven Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its relaxed atmosphere, beautiful loch-side setting, dramatic views of the mountains, near to Glencoe, Ballachulish, Fort William and Ben Nevis, this privately owned, family-run hotel in the heart of Lochaber has everything you could want for activity based Highlands holidays, or stress-free breaks in Scotland away from it all, enjoying the Scottish scenery and breathing the fresh, clean air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loch Leven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Leven
Loch Leven Onich
Loch Leven Hotel North Ballachulish, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing