We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lack of charm but good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Loch Leven Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“lack of charm but good hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Nice room, confortable and clean. Very well situated in West Highlands. Good food at restaurant and for breakfast. Service OK. We were just disappointed because we were expecting a small family hotel, and it is actually quite big, the atmosphere is not cozy at all, specially at dinner in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babybecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    208
    60
    27
    13
See reviews for
118
404
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenock
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We stayed in one of the family rooms at the Loch Leven Hotel. I called ahead as we were going to arrive a little later than I hoped and when we got to the hotel we were greeted very warmly and shown to our room, reservation made in the restaurant for us and overall great first impression. The room overlooked the Loch which was really lovely. The room was clean and presentable. I'm surprised at some of the negative comments as we found the staff to be very friendly. We ate in the restaurant at night and had a lovely meal. The service was just right, not too quick and certainly not slow. The breakfast in the morning was made fresh to order. We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkigirlGreenock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary64, owner at The Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2009
Thank you for these lovely comments, we hope you will come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2009

We re-visited the Loch Leven Hotel in July 2009 for a 5 night stay and absolutely loved it. We live and work in a large city and find the peace, quiet and beauty of the place just stunning. The staff are always very helpful and the breakfast is just fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmsterdamExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2009

I stayed at the Loch Leven Hotel and was not very satisfied with the staff. The lady at reception was slow and unfriendly and obviousally did not want to be there. The people who owned the place seemed to let the staff run the place and spent most of there time drunk at the bar. I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank informedmover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary64, owner at The Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2009
If I was this person who got drunk every day and let her staff do what they like, your comments would have no effect but I have really tried my utmost to provide the best of service in a friendly informal atmosphere. It is my greatest reward that so many of my guests have taken the time to write into Tripadvisor to praise the hotel and the dedicated people who work here but when someone is dissatisfied with the service and genuinely upset enough to write a bad review it is very upsetting but we always act on these criticisms and try to recify any problems as they arise. For these people who have come to this wonderful area, to this wonderful hotel and come away feeling cheated and unhappy, I am very sorry but in this case I am not, I am deepingly insulted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We went for dinner and it was a dreadful experience. The waiting staff did not speak English and a basic drink order was messed up (I ordered soda water and lime and was served soda water with a slice of lemon). We were kept waiting for a table for nearly half an hour and as soon as we were seated, our meal was delivered. The food was below standard and not exactly cheap. We went on the basis that we could get loch views but were seated next to a wall with no views.
Throughout the service was poor and we could not wait to leave.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smilie_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary64, owner at The Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2009
This was the first of three horrible reviews in quick succession. Being the first one I read it and was extremely dismayed. I have run this hotel for the past 9 and a half years and after the first few years of guests complaining about our prices, we dropped them, when guests complained about our room decor and our eternal plumbing problems we spent a lot of money refurbishing. Since then, we have developed into a very good team of people who strive to make the best food and give the best service. Our visitor's book is full of delightful comments about the wonderful food and the very pleasant , friendly staff.
This year we have been very busy. We do have two young people from the Czech Republic working for the summer season who were not the best choice to work in the restaurant and after that night we changed the rota so there would always be someone working with them who had English as their first language but to complain about the drink order, that is a mistake anybody could make and to complain about being seated beside a wall, unfortunately we need the walls to keep the roof up!
You may call the Loch Leven Hotel many things, good and bad but we have never been "dismal" I am extemely sorry that you left with these feelings and heartened that you enjoyed your stay the the Lodge on the Loch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay at the Loch Leven Hotel, the views are spectacular, the room comfortable and newly refurbished, the food excellent - but what made it special is the friendly atmosphere, both the staff and the locals in the bar.

we benefitted from excellent weather which allowed us to explore along the banks of the loch and take some spectacular photographs of the sunset, returning to a surprisingly good meal in the restaurant looking out over the loch, followed by coffee on the terrace. My husband particularly enjoyed his lamb chops, followed by an excellent homemade cherry and almond tart.

The bedroom was comfortable with crisp white linen on the bed, and being newly refurbished room was bright and fresh. The only minor problem was the reduced water pressure during the peak time in the morning, making showering slow.

We would be happy to return here for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatiMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2009

I stayed at Loch Leven hotel for a long weekend to go walking up the beautiful Glen Coe mountains! The hotel is situated close to the Loch and has a garden area not far from the water which was really nice to sit in the sun there when we arrived! The staff were very friendly, they would chat to you and also left out in reception snow reports and weather reports which were really helpful. The rooms were nice and clean. The food in the restaurant was brilliant especially after a long days walking! There is a choice of going into the pub part (which was a little more noisy, though has a pool table which is fun!) or the quiet restaurant area depending on what you prefer! breakfast was also really great, with a choice of cooked or cereal/toast etc. It was very good value for money and we had a brilliant stay. Thank you Loch Leven hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rm229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Ballachulish
0.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
139 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.7 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
872 reviews
1.6 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loch Leven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loch Leven Hotel

Property: The Loch Leven Hotel
Address: Old Ferry Road, North Ballachulish PH33 6SA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > North Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Loch Leven Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its relaxed atmosphere, beautiful loch-side setting, dramatic views of the mountains, near to Glencoe, Ballachulish, Fort William and Ben Nevis, this privately owned, family-run hotel in the heart of Lochaber has everything you could want for activity based Highlands holidays, or stress-free breaks in Scotland away from it all, enjoying the Scottish scenery and breathing the fresh, clean air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Loch Leven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Leven
Loch Leven Onich
The Loch Leven Hotel North Ballachulish, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing