We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our room was given away”
Review of Loch Leven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loch Leven Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We arrived at this hotel in the pouring rain after driving all day. To our dismay the owner greeted us by saying she had given away the particular room I had booked, given a credit card guarantee for and had received a written confirmation. I’d arranged this by phone several weeks in advance, and was staying there only because I was offered this particular room. She said she gave it to a man who didn’t like his room and he was staying for 4 nights whilst we were only staying for one. She offered us a choice of two other rooms at a reduced rate, one with the wrong bedding configuration and the other we reluctantly accepted as we were too weary to look for another hotel. She said it was over the kitchen but we didn’t realise its noise and odours would be so unpleasant. My opinion of the hotel is affected by this incident and the on-going refurbishment of the hotel which needs to be completed to be up to a three star standard. However, the location beside the loch is good and the staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDoor_isopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2009

After 10 years we re-visited Scotland and were so lucky to stay for 6 days at the Loch Leven Hotel. All the members of the staff are very friendly. The owners are great people. They gave us a very welcome feeling and made our stay unforgetable. They and Kelpy, the dog, made us feel at home. No complaints what so ever. Good food and a clean room every day! And the view over the loch and mountains....... never seen anything so impressive! Great fishing spot.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saphira1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Nice room, confortable and clean. Very well situated in West Highlands. Good food at restaurant and for breakfast. Service OK. We were just disappointed because we were expecting a small family hotel, and it is actually quite big, the atmosphere is not cozy at all, specially at dinner in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babybecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We stayed in one of the family rooms at the Loch Leven Hotel. I called ahead as we were going to arrive a little later than I hoped and when we got to the hotel we were greeted very warmly and shown to our room, reservation made in the restaurant for us and overall great first impression. The room overlooked the Loch which was really lovely. The room was clean and presentable. I'm surprised at some of the negative comments as we found the staff to be very friendly. We ate in the restaurant at night and had a lovely meal. The service was just right, not too quick and certainly not slow. The breakfast in the morning was made fresh to order. We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkigirlGreenock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary64, owner at Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2009

Thank you for these lovely comments, we hope you will come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

We re-visited the Loch Leven Hotel in July 2009 for a 5 night stay and absolutely loved it. We live and work in a large city and find the peace, quiet and beauty of the place just stunning. The staff are always very helpful and the breakfast is just fabulous!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmsterdamExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

I stayed at the Loch Leven Hotel and was not very satisfied with the staff. The lady at reception was slow and unfriendly and obviousally did not want to be there. The people who owned the place seemed to let the staff run the place and spent most of there time drunk at the bar. I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank informedmover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary64, owner at Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2009

If I was this person who got drunk every day and let her staff do what they like, your comments would have no effect but I have really tried my utmost to provide the best of service in a friendly informal atmosphere. It is my greatest reward that so many of my guests have taken the time to write into Tripadvisor to praise the hotel and the dedicated people who work here but when someone is dissatisfied with the service and genuinely upset enough to write a bad review it is very upsetting but we always act on these criticisms and try to recify any problems as they arise. For these people who have come to this wonderful area, to this wonderful hotel and come away feeling cheated and unhappy, I am very sorry but in this case I am not, I am deepingly insulted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We went for dinner and it was a dreadful experience. The waiting staff did not speak English and a basic drink order was messed up (I ordered soda water and lime and was served soda water with a slice of lemon). We were kept waiting for a table for nearly half an hour and as soon as we were seated, our meal was delivered. The food was below standard and not exactly cheap. We went on the basis that we could get loch views but were seated next to a wall with no views.
Throughout the service was poor and we could not wait to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smilie_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary64, owner at Loch Leven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2009

This was the first of three horrible reviews in quick succession. Being the first one I read it and was extremely dismayed. I have run this hotel for the past 9 and a half years and after the first few years of guests complaining about our prices, we dropped them, when guests complained about our room decor and our eternal plumbing problems we spent a lot of money refurbishing. Since then, we have developed into a very good team of people who strive to make the best food and give the best service. Our visitor's book is full of delightful comments about the wonderful food and the very pleasant , friendly staff.
This year we have been very busy. We do have two young people from the Czech Republic working for the summer season who were not the best choice to work in the restaurant and after that night we changed the rota so there would always be someone working with them who had English as their first language but to complain about the drink order, that is a mistake anybody could make and to complain about being seated beside a wall, unfortunately we need the walls to keep the roof up!
You may call the Loch Leven Hotel many things, good and bad but we have never been "dismal" I am extemely sorry that you left with these feelings and heartened that you enjoyed your stay the the Lodge on the Loch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Ballachulish
0.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,251 reviews
0.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
170 reviews
3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
909 reviews
2 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
11.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Leven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Leven Hotel

Address: Old Ferry Road, North Ballachulish PH33 6SA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > North Ballachulish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Ballachulish
Price Range: £77 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loch Leven Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its relaxed atmosphere, beautiful loch-side setting, dramatic views of the mountains, near to Glencoe, Ballachulish, Fort William and Ben Nevis, this privately owned, family-run hotel in the heart of Lochaber has everything you could want for activity based Highlands holidays, or stress-free breaks in Scotland away from it all, enjoying the Scottish scenery and breathing the fresh, clean air. After opening our own Gin Distillery in the hotel's grounds late 2017 you can now taste our small batch craft distilled gins in our award winning bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loch Leven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Leven
Loch Leven Onich
Loch Leven Hotel North Ballachulish, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing