We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage in a great location, great...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Roe Deer Cottage

Welcome to Roe Deer Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Roe Deer Cottage
Lounge Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Welcome to Roe Deer Cottage
Lounge
Kitchen
Welcome to Roe Deer Cottage
Roe Deer Cottage garden
Roe Deer Cottage garden
View of the Loch from the hill behind the cottage
Loch leven beach, 5 minute walk from the cottage
Forrest walks around the Lochan, Glencoe
The Lochan, Glencoe.  5 minutes drive from the cottage
Glencoe mountains
View of the Pap of Glencoe, Loch Leven
Loch Leven
Ballachulish bridge with the snow covered mountain in the background
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
North Ballachulish, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Christine...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage in a great location, great facilities and sooo comfortable”
Reviewed 3 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The cottage is in a great location with easy access to lots of local attractions. The cottage is beautifully decorated and has all the facilities you could wish for, many luxurious touches. Welcoming beverage and biscuits, local range of toiletries included, very environmentally friendly, warm, comfortable with the most amazing views surrounding all sides. Elaine and Angus have done a fantastic job of providing great accommodation and making us feel welcome. Will definitely return for another visit.

Loch Leven Hotel is within walking distance if you want go out for a drink and not have to drive - they do some amazing gins, have a terrace with views over the loch which is just brilliant at sunset, food is good too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2017
Thank you Christine for your lovely comments we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest Regards
Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usman M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We really enjoyed our stay, from the welcome tray on arrival to the immaculate cottage everything was excellent. The cottage is well located for Fort William and exploring the stunning scenery nearby.

In terms of facilities you have everything you need, a modern kitchen, plenty of off road parking, two well equipped en suite bedrooms and WiFi if you need to stay connected.

If we’re ever up in the Glencoe area again we will be looking to stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Thank you so much, it was lovely to meet you all and a pleasure to have stay at our cottage. We look forward to hopefully seeing you all again. Best wishes Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meljcook1
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We loved this place. The cottage is superb, Elaine was so welcoming and the whole area would be hard to beat. I wouldn't hesitate to give it the highest recommendation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Thank you so much, we are glad you enjoyed your holiday and thank you for your comments we appreciate them very much. Best wishes Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
457tim70
Uckfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful accommodation and perfect location”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This was our second stay at Roe Deer and again surpassed expectation. Absolutely everything is thought of and the owners are unobtrusive but are there if you need them. It is a perfect location to base your holiday from in The Highlands.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2017
We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday, it was lovey to see you again and appreciate you coming back to our cottage.
Thank you and very best wishes to you both, Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Aug 2017
Thank you for the lovely comments and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, best wishes to you all. Haste ye back, Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Nov 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments we appreciate them very much. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Haste ye back!
Best wishes Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PeterM195...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This cottage is extremely good. Every aspect of the process was professional from the rapid response to the booking request to the refund of the deposit after the end of our stay in this delightful cottage. Elaine and Angus and their children made us very welcome. The cottage was spotless and well stocked with soaps (made locally) and other requirements. We stayed for two weeks and were asked what items needed to be replenished. Nothing was too much trouble. Thanks for the wonderful time we had - the 'welcome pack' of locally made biscuits and chocolates as well as the bottle of wine were much appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome and the cleanliness and the superb condition of the property
Liked least: It rained for a few hours during the fortnight. 😥
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2016
Thank you, it was lovely to welcome you both back to the cottage. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you kind comments.
Haste Ye back!
Best wishes
Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing