We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster!! Forget it...”
Review of Hotel Nord

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Nord
Ranked #1 of 1 Estellencs B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Well, we have spent 3 nights in this hotel, the worse in my all life. Frequent traveller, I never faced such disaster before (13 years travelling...) Bedroom was very uncomfortable, and very noisy. WC was not working well (two days to fill it with water as nobody from "Technical dpt" was coming (I think that there is no...)

Breakfast good: except when the hotel is proposing some yogurts with expiry 18/07 when we are on the 23/07!!! Do not drink tea if you like good quality.

The only positive point was the place which is beautiful.

Last thing, I warmly recommend to check your bill before check out in order to pay the good price without any extra that you never asked

Conclusion: do not waste time to explain all negative points you have faced after the payment, because you will be very deceived as the owner is not even listening, it seems that there is no interest for them to improve the general quality in their hotel. If you want to enjoy your trip, better to book another hotel, I will do it next time!

Room Tip: Following the comment from the "Duena", all rooms are similar....
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Nord
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed at hotel Nord for 4 nights in late March, trying to get away from the continental European winter for a few days. Well, that plan worked out: all four days on the island we enjoyed beautifully mild, sunny spring weather which made our stay at this charming little place even more enjoyable.

Hotel Nord is located in the village Estellencs on the North Western coast, about an hour's drive away from the airport (by rental car). I don't think there is a reasonable way to get to the village by public transportation but have not looked into options here. The hiking path G221 runs through the village, making the hotel also a conveniently located option for hikers. Beyond the G221, there are plenty of hiking options right nearby, in the Western part of the Transmuntana mountain ridge.
The village is very charming and authentic because of its remote location - there are some tourists passing through and also some spending the night in one of the approximately 2-3 accommodation options- but there is no sense whatsoever of tourist masses invading the place, like it happens at the tourist hot spots along the southern and eastern coast. The village is just blissfully peaceful and serene- certainly nothing for those looking for entertainment and crowds, but a heavenly place for star gazers and those who enjoy nothing breaking the silence at night but the bell of the village church that chimes every quarter of the hour.

Hotel Nord resides in an old house with the typical thick stone walls and small windows that keep away the heat of summer. It is tastefully restored, all interior rooms in cream and off white colors. On the ground floor, there is a small lobby area with a cosy shared sofa as well as the breakfast room, which is a little small if all 8 (?) tables are taken ( not much room to move between the tables and the breakfast buffet). There is also a very nice, small inner courtyard that guests can use, with small tables, chairs and an outdoor sofa. At the main entrance there is also a very nice little terrace for guests to sit and relax.

We had room number 2 on the first floor, which we liked a lot because of its comfy bed (quite hard matress but we like it that way), generously sized bathroom (with a bath tub) and particularly because of its roof terrace with 2 sub beds and a table and 2 chairs. The terrace is shared with the room next door ( there are some dividers put up but you can see right through them) so it does not offer a lot of privacy (which we did not mind). The room was very tastefully furbished with a nice mix of antique-style dark wooden furniture and cream-colored lamps and an arm chair.

The one thing that we found quite disturbing (and which we saw mentioned in other reviews, too) was the fact that the place is not very "sound proof". One can clearly hear the noise of people in the room next door talking, or kids crying. You can also hear the shower running in other rooms. It was not a big problem during our stay because our neighbours were relatively quiet- but that was pure luck, and it could have felt very different if we had had a young couple as nighbours who made love all night ;-)

But that was pretty much the only small fault that we found in this otherwise absolutely charming and recommendable place. A big plus, on the flip side, is the breakfast buffet which offers a quite nice choice for Spanish standards, and comes with a freshly squeezed orange juice from local oranges every day. Those who don't want to go outside for dinner can also order a home-cooked dinner that is served on the breakfast room. We did not try that though because the are several alternatives available in both Estellencs and the next village (Banyalbufar, 7 km away), eg a casual tapas bar just 5 min away by foot which we tried one evening and quite liked.

If we came back to that part of the island we would certainly come back to hotel Nord and recommend it to anyone who prefers the remote, rural location over the crowded beaches.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LadyBergfex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We stayed in the ground floor room, which is the cheapest option which suggests the proprietors don't think it's their best room but I thought it was gorgeous. The room was enormous, more like a suite the only slightly odd thing is the bath and basin is actually in the bedroom [although the WC is in a separate cubicle]. The bed was quite hard but very comfortable.
The hotel is creatively furnished, with a mixture of new and old and the atmosphere is incredibly friendly. The self-service bar is well stocked with good Spanish wine and all the standard spirits plus the local aperatif "hierbas". The breakfasts were lovely and the service excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TDoggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed here for the holidays . We were exploring the southwest coast of Mallorca. I was impressed by this little property: charming rural hotel, friendly and helpful staff, spacious rooms, all the amenities. Breakfast was good as well. 
We will certainly stay here again next time in Mallorca.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Alvar002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Every thing was absolutely fine except thin walls between the rooms, but of course only a problem when noisy neighbors. The standard room had small windows and was a little dark.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

A lovely village for an escape from it all stay. Very welcoming and relaxing hotel. Easy going staff and the honesty bar add to it's appeal. Areas inside and out to chill as well as beautiful rooms. Worth paying the extra for a terrace as its an ideal spot for relaxing.

Room Tip: One with a balcony or terrace
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crewe_CheshireFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Hotel Nord is a nice, pleasant, small-scale hotel (though, sufficient facilities) in Estellenchs. Staff is very nice. We stayed in the 'ground floor' room, since the other rooms were already booked. The room is big and clean, but 'basic'. The bed was unsatisfactory, because it was rather hard. There was no minibar available, but drinks could be ordered against very decent prices (cheaper than prices in the minibars we had elsewhere in Majorca). Diner can be reserved for EUR 22 p.p., but we did not tried it (Estellenchs offers enough 'restaurants'). We stayed here for three nights and that is a length of stay we would advise.

Positives:
#The hotel is perfectly located in the west coast of the island. The route from Andratx to Valldemossa is beautiful. #Good breakfast with fresh juice en option to order a fresh baked egg. The hotel has a terrace but it seemed not possible to take breakfast outside (not sure why).

Negatives:
#The hotel can be a bit noisy (thin-walled), but this also depends on the guests themselves. #The bed in the Ground Floor room. #The beach of Estellenchs is nothing special (as are more beaches in Mallorca). It is rather small and you need to lay down on stones.

Suggestion:
#Restaurant X(?); good price/quality and the most beautiful sunset! It is located on the other side of the road of rest 'Montimar' (which we did not find particularly spectacular).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estellencs
0.0 mi away
Maristel Hotel
Maristel Hotel
#1 of 2 in Estellencs
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sa Plana Hotel
Sa Plana Hotel
#2 of 2 in Estellencs
50 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sa Coma Hotel
Sa Coma Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banyalbufar
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Ca'n Reus Hotel
Ca'n Reus Hotel
#3 of 4 in Fornalutx
166 reviews
36.7 mi away
Can Tem
Can Tem
#38 of 57 in Alcudia
78 reviews
11.1 mi away
Belmond La Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nord

Address: Calle Es Triquet S/N, 07192 Estellencs, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Estellencs
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Estellencs
Price Range: £90 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nord Estellencs, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing