We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“faded elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Schloss Munichau
Reviewed 3 February 2014

just back from a 3 day ski weekend staying at the Schloss.We had three rooms, 2 in the chalet and one in the main hotel all of which were clean tho on the small side but fitted our needs. Breakfast was very good in a very pretty room. The beautiful setting of the hotel bar lounge area managed by a very friendly and knowledgeable bar tender sadly lacked atmosphere due to the lack of other guests which was a great shame. My only concern about this beautiful and historical hotel was the other Eastern European guests who were drinking their own drinks in the chalet lounge area which is a common occurance according to a member of the hotel staff. The spa area was clean and well maintained. i can understand from previous post why this hotel has recieved negative feedback and suggest the owners may want to have more visible staff on duty.A charming hotel with fantastic history and well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 806giles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

Thank you so much to the Team at Schloss Munichau. My husband and I had a wonderful time at your hotel.
Compliments where compliments are due! The food and service was amazing. The room and the spa were exactly as I imagined them to be and more, I for one was NOT at all disapointed. The location is well, just amazing and perfect for a well needed shortbreak.
We will DEFINATLEY be going to this wonderful hotel again and can´t wait to see what it looks like in winter =)).
Thank you once again.

Room Tip: The Turmzimmer is amazing costs a litte bit more but is so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights in August 2013. We had junior suit room on the first floor faced on the road. There were not too much cars passing by so that was not a problem at all. The room was quite big, with two windows. As far as we were traveling with 1 year son we were offered baby bed produced I guess in 1500 - it was in terrible condition.

As I understood they do not use vacuum cleaners in the hotel - or maybe only our room was not cleaned for 4 days.

When I was booking the room I have called three times to the hotel! After the third time I thought that everybody understood everything. But anyway when we came on the place, we went to the dinner (that was included in our half-board) but then we were told, that they didn't got any information that we have half-board. When I asked to show me prices in the final confirmation e-mail that they have sent they showed prices for staying with HB! Anyway they said that they have nothing prepared and suggested to have dinner a la carte. The food was of good quality but the size of portions was like in good French restaurant.

Breakfast - I hardly can call it a breakfast. This is some kind of hunting. First you need to hunt for the food, as far as serve plates are small - cheese and ham disappear very fast! Second you need to catch a water. Maybe all of them on vacation at moment because on the whole place there were only two of them, running like meteors with low effectiveness. When you have cached one you can order tee, coffe and scrambled egg that comes on additional costs.

Second evening we had very interesting situation with HB again. They have told that they have no food to make complete 3 gang HB for us. That means that my five had 2 gang HB and I was offered triple desert instead!

Next day we decided to go Wattens and Insbruck for the whole day and decided to have dinner there.

On check out again I had a question, but left it unsolved as far I didn't want to spoil good morning. Anyway for the two rooms we were charged more or less 70-80 euros extra.

So in conclusion - this hotel is not designed for traveling with small children - you won't find any playground (honestly there is one in the hotel across the road). The same with evening walking, there is simply no place to go everywhere darkness with no lights.

If you are a fan of dust smell, rooms that are not providing feeling of hygiene, noise floor, noisy bed, small bathroom and towels with smell - you are welcome) if not, batter look for another location.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VDP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

When you mix the Middelage and the design of 1980´s, you are in Schloss Muenichau. It´s a beautiful place, but the rooms might use some facelift.. Smoking inside furnished spaces is not in anymore, the smell of cigarette smoke is omnipresent. On the other hand, the location is great, near Kirchberg (a lot of skiing) and the beautiful city of Kitzbuehel. Breakfast lightly above average. In the generally pricier area of Kitzbuhel not a bad choice, but don´t expect a fairy tales castle stay.

Room Tip: triple rooms are a good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M_sAyMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed early March for a week end and it was lovely. This old castle is marvellous, the restaurant particularly charming, atmosphere "gemütlich", the welcoming very friendly.
The prices are excellent in Kiztbühel in this period of high season, the breakfast room very nice as well as the bar.
The Spa / Sauna area is not up to the standard of such a hotel and could be extended in taking over the huge living room next door which seems odd and obsolete in such a hotel.
The small house next door in which the Spa is located, including a few rooms, should be cleared of numerous " decorative " useless objects which make the entrance and corridor very kitchy ! Dommage !
Bt we shall come back as this is an real treat and a change from the so called modern pretentious ungemütlich 4 ou 5 stars hotels of Kiztbühel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

It's 3am now and the music from restaurant is so loud that it is impossible to sleep!!! Nobody at reception, telephone is not working, nobody cares about hotel guests.

It is your destination if you don't want to sleep the night you stay at hotel

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Nikita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

It is good ot have a car if you stay there, as it isn't in the center of Kitzbuhel, but if you have a car it takes about 10 minutes to get this. The hotel is super old and with a lot of history but newly renovated; thus very nice. The decor is very special - like an old hunting lodge. Huge comfortable rooms, each very unique and you definitely feel you are in the Alps when staying there. it is definitely not your chain hotel. Staff is very nice, breakfast was delicious. We also had dinner one night in the hotel restaurant which is in a sperate building. Great food, great service and a one of a kind atmosphere. We also use dtheis sauna and a steam room - excellent after some skiing! The hotel isn't cheap but for a special get a way it is definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pysiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reith bei Kitzbuehel
0.2 mi away
Cordial Golf & Wellness Hotel Reith
Cordial Golf & Wellness Hotel Re...
#1 of 2 in Reith bei Kitzbuehel
109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bruggerhof
Hotel Bruggerhof
#36 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
92 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tennerhof Gourmet & Spa de Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg
2 mi away
Q! Resort Health & Spa Kitzbuehel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kaiserhof Kitzbuehel
Hotel Kaiserhof Kitzbuehel
#3 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schloss Munichau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schloss Munichau

Address: Muenichau 1, Reith bei Kitzbuehel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Reith bei Kitzbuehel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Reith bei Kitzbuehel
Price Range: £39 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schloss Munichau 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schloss Münichau, a listed Tyrolean castle originating in the 15th century, is situated in the enchanting village of Reith – on the doorstep of Kitzbühel. Time honoured elegance, precious antiques and an eye for detail characterise the romantic ambiance, giving this historic hideaway its unique flair. Substantial restoration work in 2010 and a new management team assure a well presented house and dedicated professionalism. The picturesque white castle offers 30 rooms & junior suites, a ‘Jäger Salon’ with open fire and the legendary castle bar. An absolute must: Thomas Dreher’s restaurant ‘Ritterstern’ and the private dining room ‘Kaminstube’. Enveloped by a scenic recreational area of beautiful alpine lakes and soaring mountains, Schloss Münichau is the epitome of graceful hospitality – the perfect gateway for skiing, golfing, hiking or simply a leisurely stroll through the breathtaking landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Schloss Munichau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloss Munichau Hotel
Hotel Schloss Munichau Austria/Reith Bei Kitzbuehel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing