We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and Quirky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Schloss Munichau
hanau
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quaint and Quirky”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is such an odd little place that I certainly understand the mixed reviews. The castle itself is just adorable and very authentic. So many unique features and rooms to enjoy, but odd bits of junk lying around too. The room we had was a first floor suite with comfortable beds, clean and adequate size. The bathrooms are a bit outdated. When we arrived there was hardly any greeting at all, no baggage assistance or details of any kind! The staff (I think we saw 3 people the whole time we were there) was generally confused most of our visit whether it was because of the half board that had been booked or how to complete the check in or out process when we left. We hardly saw any staff at all during our stay except one waiter. The food was... well soup was edible, main course was quite good and desert a confusion of ice cream and left overs from the week. Breakfast was a buffet with ok quality food but nothing special. I wish we had gotten any amount of service at all; that would have improved my rating substantially, more attention to the guests and a tiny bit of TLC could make this place a real find, but despite it being dated and service next to none, I found it quite unique and I would go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carriedaway_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    38
    11
    10
    16
See reviews for
22
70
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I adore this hotel! Been three years in a row during ski season. I love the individual styled rooms and the the antiquity of the Schloss (15th century) is very charming. It is very close to Kitzbuhel so great for winter sport fans. The staff are very attentive and the restaurant has won plenty of awards. If you like historic, atmospheric superbly ran hotels, i highly recommend Schloss Munichau!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The property, which appears to be an old "royal" hunting lodge, is reasonably close to Kizbuhel and has good access to the ski hill via the Fleckalmbahn. It offers spectacular mountain views. My room was a bit on the small side and showing its age, but comfortable none the less. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was nothing special, but adequate.The best feature of the property is a reasonable price in a very pricey area.
Good value for the money and recommended.
.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorge_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monfalcone, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Excellent position close to the Fleckalmbahn (for an easy access to the Kitzbühel ski area) and the city centre as well. The staff is friendly and the hotel is nice, quiet and clean with a good restaurant. Nice breakfast as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toemmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

just back from a 3 day ski weekend staying at the Schloss.We had three rooms, 2 in the chalet and one in the main hotel all of which were clean tho on the small side but fitted our needs. Breakfast was very good in a very pretty room. The beautiful setting of the hotel bar lounge area managed by a very friendly and knowledgeable bar tender sadly lacked atmosphere due to the lack of other guests which was a great shame. My only concern about this beautiful and historical hotel was the other Eastern European guests who were drinking their own drinks in the chalet lounge area which is a common occurance according to a member of the hotel staff. The spa area was clean and well maintained. i can understand from previous post why this hotel has recieved negative feedback and suggest the owners may want to have more visible staff on duty.A charming hotel with fantastic history and well worth a stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 806giles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Thank you so much to the Team at Schloss Munichau. My husband and I had a wonderful time at your hotel.
Compliments where compliments are due! The food and service was amazing. The room and the spa were exactly as I imagined them to be and more, I for one was NOT at all disapointed. The location is well, just amazing and perfect for a well needed shortbreak.
We will DEFINATLEY be going to this wonderful hotel again and can´t wait to see what it looks like in winter =)).
Thank you once again.

Room Tip: The Turmzimmer is amazing costs a litte bit more but is so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights in August 2013. We had junior suit room on the first floor faced on the road. There were not too much cars passing by so that was not a problem at all. The room was quite big, with two windows. As far as we were traveling with 1 year son we were offered baby bed produced I guess in 1500 - it was in terrible condition.

As I understood they do not use vacuum cleaners in the hotel - or maybe only our room was not cleaned for 4 days.

When I was booking the room I have called three times to the hotel! After the third time I thought that everybody understood everything. But anyway when we came on the place, we went to the dinner (that was included in our half-board) but then we were told, that they didn't got any information that we have half-board. When I asked to show me prices in the final confirmation e-mail that they have sent they showed prices for staying with HB! Anyway they said that they have nothing prepared and suggested to have dinner a la carte. The food was of good quality but the size of portions was like in good French restaurant.

Breakfast - I hardly can call it a breakfast. This is some kind of hunting. First you need to hunt for the food, as far as serve plates are small - cheese and ham disappear very fast! Second you need to catch a water. Maybe all of them on vacation at moment because on the whole place there were only two of them, running like meteors with low effectiveness. When you have cached one you can order tee, coffe and scrambled egg that comes on additional costs.

Second evening we had very interesting situation with HB again. They have told that they have no food to make complete 3 gang HB for us. That means that my five had 2 gang HB and I was offered triple desert instead!

Next day we decided to go Wattens and Insbruck for the whole day and decided to have dinner there.

On check out again I had a question, but left it unsolved as far I didn't want to spoil good morning. Anyway for the two rooms we were charged more or less 70-80 euros extra.

So in conclusion - this hotel is not designed for traveling with small children - you won't find any playground (honestly there is one in the hotel across the road). The same with evening walking, there is simply no place to go everywhere darkness with no lights.

If you are a fan of dust smell, rooms that are not providing feeling of hygiene, noise floor, noisy bed, small bathroom and towels with smell - you are welcome) if not, batter look for another location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VDP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reith bei Kitzbuehel hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reith bei Kitzbuehel
0.2 mi away
Cordial Golf & Wellness Hotel Reith
Cordial Golf & Wellness Hotel Re...
#1 of 2 in Reith bei Kitzbuehel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.6 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg
1.2 mi away
Seebichl Hotel
Seebichl Hotel
#24 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Garni Wieshof
Hotel Garni Wieshof
#21 of 32 in Kirchberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
22.9 mi away
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Tauern Spa Kaprun
#1 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
2.1 mi away
Activ Sunny Hotel Sonne
Activ Sunny Hotel Sonne
#8 of 32 in Kirchberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schloss Munichau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schloss Munichau

Property: Hotel Schloss Munichau
Address: Muenichau 1, Reith bei Kitzbuehel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Reith bei Kitzbuehel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Reith bei Kitzbuehel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schloss Munichau 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schloss Münichau, a listed Tyrolean castle originating in the 15th century, is situated in the enchanting village of Reith – on the doorstep of Kitzbühel. Time honoured elegance, precious antiques and an eye for detail characterise the romantic ambiance, giving this historic hideaway its unique flair. Substantial restoration work in 2010 and a new management team assure a well presented house and dedicated professionalism. The picturesque white castle offers 30 rooms & junior suites, a ‘Jäger Salon’ with open fire and the legendary castle bar. An absolute must: Thomas Dreher’s restaurant ‘Ritterstern’ and the private dining room ‘Kaminstube’. Enveloped by a scenic recreational area of beautiful alpine lakes and soaring mountains, Schloss Münichau is the epitome of graceful hospitality – the perfect gateway for skiing, golfing, hiking or simply a leisurely stroll through the breathtaking landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Schloss Munichau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloss Munichau Hotel
Hotel Schloss Munichau Austria/Reith Bei Kitzbuehel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing