We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Romania on your doorstep!”
Review of Pensiunea Mosorel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zarnesti
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pensiunea Mosorel
Ranked #2 of 14 Zarnesti B&B and Inns
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Real Romania on your doorstep!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I travel frequently to Romania and need somewhere economical to stay but with all the basic amenities. I first visited this Pensione in 2001 when it was first beginning. It has grown consistently in size, stature and stars! The rooms are quiet and comfortable and most overlook the Carpathian mountains which are superb. Almost all the rooms are ensuite but there are also some 'backpacker' style rooms which allow budgets to be very flexible.

Most people opt for a big breakfast, picnic lunch to take on hikes and tours, and a three course dinner at night. Romanian soups are out of this world!

There is plenty to do in this small town from visits to Bran Castle (Dracula) and a craft market or the Medieval city of Brasov which is half an hour away, or walking and hiking in the mountains. A trip up the valley for a picnic on the banks of the river, travelling by horse and cart is a good way to see the landscape.

Mimi is in charge and combines this wonderful efficiency with treating everyone as individuals, and genuinely being interested in who you are and what you do, as well as overseeing a complex organisation with tour guides and catering!

Room Tip: Ask for the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueJennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here with our 2 boys and loved every second. The young couple who runs the hotel in Magura is charming and knows the area very well. We like to hike and this was the spot! The room was simple, but clean and quiet. The breakfast was delicious and complete. For the winter we plan to return for snow-shoeing and for the summer, the owner has built outdoor cabins we are looking forward to enjoying in May 2014. A tough drive to get there, but worth the visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I stayed in the hotel as part of a group of 18 members of the Hereford Mountain Club, and we found this hotel to be just what we needed - couldn't have been better for a great Romanian experience. Madam Mimi and her family all provided for our every need, even when some of our requests are somewhat out of the ordinary - such as a request to find some musicians in order for us to have a final night celebration - a ceilidh dance to Romanian music is something we will not forget! We stayed for seven nights and ate every evening - all the meals were excellent and authentic Romanian in style - the home-made soups were very popular. The facilities were all basic, but comfortable, very clean and in good condition. The location was perfect for exploring the surrounding mountains and only a short dive from other towns and cities such as Brasov and Rasnov. Zarnesti where the hotel is located is a busy town with everything you would need - banks, supermarkets, bars and restaurants. A beautiful area and when we visited clear blue skies every day. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room on the third floor and as the weather was very warm, it was a little hot. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hillskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We found this place after a long look around the mountains for a pensiunea and were about to give up when we found Mosorel. Thank god we did - great place - fantastic views, nice, if simple rooms and Surdu is an extremely helpful manager who speaks perfect English. We didnt sample any of the home cooked dinner, but the breakfast was well-prepared. Also lots of services provided like bike rental and bear watching. All in all a great place to stay in the mountains.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This was the first stop on a cycling tour around Transylvania.
Whilst the facilities might be a bit basic ,the rooms are clean and the welcome provided by Mrs Mimi was exceptionally friendly.There is little if anything in the way of bars and restaurants in Zarnesti but the evening meal prepared the owner was more than adequate and a good introduction to Romanian food.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zarnesti hotels
1.2 mi away
Pensiunea Irina Zarnesti 3
Pensiunea Irina Zarnesti 3
#9 of 13 in Zarnesti
2 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pensiunea Hora cu Brazi
Pensiunea Hora cu Brazi
#1 of 13 in Zarnesti
29 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pensiunea Kyfana
Pensiunea Kyfana
#1 of 14 in Zarnesti
11 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pensiunea Casa Zarnesteana
Pensiunea Casa Zarnesteana
#5 of 14 in Zarnesti
1 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Casa Magdalena
#10 of 13 in Zarnesti
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensiunea Mosorel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensiunea Mosorel

Property: Pensiunea Mosorel
Address: Strada Ion Senchea, Zarnesti 505800, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Zarnesti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Zarnesti
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing