We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a fantastic property.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Angles, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
885kevin
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a fantastic property.”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here during early September and thankfully the weather was tremendous. If you are thinking of coming to this region of France then you are looking at the perfect place to stay. Booking this holiday home was straightforward with polite and courteous staff.

We flew to La Rochelle which is a delightful little airport about an hour from the village of Angles. It's a straight forward drive to the village on pleasant quiet roads and we soon reached our home for the next week. We had been given the code for the key box outside the property and we were absolutely amazed with the property.
Firstly, it was spotless! The décor was certainly to our taste and was furnished perfectly. The ex farmhouse was also very well equipped. The kitchen was amazing and we also saw that the holiday home was perfect for children with lots of play materials and a really safe and secure pool area. The outdoor space was great too with plenty of space for us and certainly for much bigger groups. The pool was soon christened and a nice relaxing evening was welcome after the earlier travelling.
Staff (who were all English speaking) came to visit us on our second day and checked if we were happy with everything. They gave us lots of very useful information and kept our holiday home spotless throughout the week.
During the week we got to know the area much better and it was great that the centre of the village was a short walk away. There were a few restaurants and shops where you can get the basics. There was a supermarket about a mile away which had everything we needed. There is lots to do in the area with great safe beaches where there was lots of space. Indian Forest was a great day out with some hilarious antics in the trees. (Think Go Ape on steroids). We retraced our steps mid-way through our stay and spent the day in the ancient city of La Rochelle. Wow the history was immense. It was great to see the place where the Knights Templars had a stronghold in the 12th Century. It was also interesting to discover that La Rochelle was under English rule around 1200. There are great restaurants and shopping in the city too.
The rest of our stay was a mixture of visiting nearby towns and villages and relaxing. Thanks to Vicky and her team for making our holiday so enjoyable. Perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for this fabulous review of Le Palmier. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable holiday with us. Yes, our forest adventure park (5mins away) is great fun, glad you all enjoyed it there. We have a new water park opening up June 2016 (just 10mins away) so do be sure to come back and visit to check that out too... :) Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you all again soon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark m
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Above all our expectations”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Having been renting houses in France for 25 years, we have become wary of promotional claims! However Le Palmier accommodated our group of 5 with an age range of 18 months to 79 years (4 generations) very comfortably and with great facilities all on essentially one level. The highlights were the heated pool, properly fenced, the garden, likewise and the overall size and decor of the property, totally suitable for a busy 18 month old boy but allowing the adults to relax as well. Equally good were the booking process, the help with travel arrangements and the local team, who were there to clean and tidy even more than we had expected. The fact that we rebooked within two weeks of returning home says it all :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2015
“Above all your expectation” – That really is fabulous to hear, thank you. We are thrilled that Le Palmier catered easily for all your family needs and you found it very comfortable with great facilities. We very much look forward to welcoming you all back next year - June 2015 will be here before you know it :) Best wishes and thanks again x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely relaxing week in a fantastic property”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week in September, and despite having terrible weather we had a wonderful holiday, spending time relaxing and exploring the local area. We found the booking process to be very easy and the information provided both upfront and in the house was excellent.

The property was as described and we were really pleased with all the children’s equipment and toys provided – it make packing much easier! Our 20 month old daughter with thrilled with the toys and couldn’t contain her excitement on seeing the doll’s house and dolls pushchair – both firm favourites for the duration of the holiday! The only thing I would say was that some of the toys were old, needing to be repaired or have batteries replaced but there was a big enough selection for this not to bother my daughter. The outdoor chalkboard was also a big hit for her.

The property was generally very well equipped and there was nothing that we felt was 'missing'. All in all a great family holiday, and we would recommend.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of our home Le Palmier. We are just delighted that you all had a great family holiday with time to relax and enjoying the local area. Thanks for the note re the batteries and few replacements toys needed, we will get that done ready for our next clients, obviously all our toys have been very popular and enjoyed by many, again this year… :) We very much hope you and your family will come back and visit us again soon. Thanks again x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terryj0ne...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Holiday”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a great stay at La Palmier with my young children. The weather was fabulous which meant lots of time spent in the pool! The village was beautiful with a great selection of restaurants (all of which we sampled during our week away). There were several beaches just a short drive away which were all beautiful.

The villa assistants were more than helpful and nothing was ever too much to ask. We wouldn't hesitate to go back here in the future or to recommend to our friends and family.

We really enjoyed the Vendee and will certainly return again in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2015
'An awesome holiday' - can't get a better review than that!!! Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review of our holiday home Le Palmier. We are so thrilled you all had a great time and very much look forward to welcoming you back in 2016. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dickmary2...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent family holiday, would be happy to repeat”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The booking and holiday preparation was impressive, and re assuring, with great attention to detail in the "information pack" and on line.
Le Palmier was just the venue for the family holiday "4 generations"
On arrival the house was spotless, the lounge and kitchen provided a great atmosphere with adequate cooking facilities which enabled our grand son chef to provide excellent meals.
The tv, dvds,books and toys were just what was wanted for the children.
Angles provided our breakfast requirements with the beach and town of La Tranche Sur mer close by.
Local staff kept the garden and pool very clean, and attended to our needs.
A good holiday, well worth repeating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space
Liked least: weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2015
Thank you for this fabulous review of Le Palmier. We are just thrilled you all had such a wonderful time and very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rik R
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super family holiday”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Booking- really easy, team were very helpful
Garden- good size, nice and safe by pool due to locks and gate. Swing ball was a big hit with us all!
Maintenance and team- Becky and Vicki were fantastic. Exceedingly polite and helpful. Very considerate with regards to sleeping children . They left little messages for our 3 year old whose teddies were found reading which she loved. Helpful with local advise as to where to go etc. rest of team were also friendly and polite.
Property- lovely and spacious, layout worked well for us. Equipment good quality, everything you could need and more. House very clean on arrival.
Village- typical French village, lovely being able to walk into village which had all you needed. Locals v friendly and happy to assist a 3 year old practising her newly learnt French!
Beaches- sandy stretches ideal for children as shallow. Good facilities by beaches too.
Cleaning- house very clean on arrival. Becky and Vicki cleaned several times and house was very clean after.
Overall an excellent holiday .

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review, we really do appreciate it. We very much look forward to welcoming you all back and seeing your cute children again. Feeding the team with English bacon kept them going all season! Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh...
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Le Palmier makes a holiday with young kids stress free and easy”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Overall holiday experience at Le Palmier was excellent. Together with the web-site information, sales team service, booking process, information received in readiness for our holiday, cleanliness of the property and information supplied at the property.

The booking process and pre-arrival information was very good. Good selection of toys and equipment for the children. The secure pool is fantastic as it means the children can play in the garden unsupervised.

The support and assistance from the villa assistants has been excellent - thank you. We have really enjoyed our holiday at Le Palmier"

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of our holiday home called Le Palmier. We are thrilled that you had a great time with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing