We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch at The Red Dog”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Principe - CLOSED

Il Principe
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Italian, Australian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great lunch at The Red Dog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stopped on the way home from Tiptree for a family lunch. Quite a small eating area but very relaxed and the staff were attentive. The food came quite quickly and was really nice with big portions. I had "The English Burger" which was cooked to perfection and came with a lot of sides (Fries, onion rings, bacon and rocket salad). I though the price was extremely reasonable as well, I've paid more in Gastro Pubs for lesser food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDP1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    11
    4
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Red dog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Went to the blue anchor just for a coffee but was told we couldn't have one unless ordered with food, so we went down the road to the red dog cafe and was welcomed by the lovely staff. We had 2 coffee's each as they taste amazing. We looked at the menu and they have lots of variety at good prices. The atmosphere was buzzing too. We will be back

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswitch
1 review
“Finally went to the red dog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Interesting name now I know the reason, staff attentive and friendly. Food lovely, will definately be back !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnmichel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Red Dog fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Had a fantastic evening celebrating my birthday. Excellent service and really tasty food. Had the salmon followed by hot chocolate fudge cake which was the most delicious fudge cake I have ever tasted. The owners bent over backwards to ensure we had (there were 24 of us) a wonderful evening. Even had a complementary glass of bubbly. Quite simply a magical evening, thank you Red Dog

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Red dog poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Just eaten here- staff pleasant but place lacks a lot!! My prawn starter was ok but lasagne was in edible! Father in laws skate was dry, mother in laws penne was too big, chicken was tough!! Did we say anything ?- no ! Would we go back? No! A bad night due to volume of customers? No!! We were the first ones in there....... Sorry red dog - but not a good experience and definitely not one we would want to repeat!!! A muted report!!! The lasagne to recap was dry, tasteless, and more like a dish I would serve up for a dogs dinner!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Principe also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing