We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel ok but lacked a little something special!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in West Kelowna
Abbotsford, B C, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hotel ok but lacked a little something special!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Room ok but I think we were located too close to elevator and pool area. Noisey hallways. Room clean and spacious enough but just didn't feel cozy! Barely enough towels and no glass wear to drink from, only styrofoam cups. Office chair good and desk area ok but barely enough plug-ins for iPhones and laptop. Bed pretty firm but ok. Curtains a little weird as we had to use black-out liners right away so no one could see into ground level floor. Curtains wouldn't completely close and blew-up with heater fan. Staff friendly. Everything just seemed slightly below Best Western Plus rating, just ordinary. Breakfast area crowded and food lay-out awkward. Chairs way too big for tables. Food could have up scaled, especially eggs, oatmeal, fresh fruit and pastries/muffins. Again, no china, only paper plates and plastic cutlery, needed to be up-scaled!

Room Tip: Don't stay close to elevators or entry way or pool area, just too noisey with people traffic. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWwinecountry, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Many thanks for your review, we do appreciate to receive feedback on how you enjoyed your stay. Yes, it is always difficult to please everyone but we do try. My question- did you book the main floor room? The sheer curtains do not allow people to see in at all. Breakfast is set up according to standard of which we cannot do anything about.
Maybe you are looking for a 4 star hotel which we are not but do feel that we do give our guests as much as we possibly can

Yours in hospitality
Elfriede Schmoll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    231
    60
    23
    25
See reviews for
220
230
27
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
shitville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

rates go up at holidays etc but great hotel, excellent shops and restaurants, stores in same lot, close to highway but far enough away to be quiet, short drive into town, lots of businesses nearby for anything you need or want. very comfortable beds, nice hot tub and swimming pool. always stay here when I am in Kelowna

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank f0ff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWwinecountry, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Many thanks for your review, we do appreciate to receive feedback on how you enjoyed your stay. Yes, we are a bit of a secret as people usually just drive through West Kelowna even though you pay less Taxes as well as hotel accommodations are cheaper. We do hope that we will have the pleasure to greet you again in the near future.

Yours in hospitality
Elfriede Schmoll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Booked a 1 bedroom suite a month before our stay on the website, and when we checked in we were given the correct room we chose and we were thouroughly impressed with our suite. We even had a view of the lake and the golf course. Our children are 2 & 3 years old and they slept on the queen bed in the main living area, and my husband and I had a king bedroom all to ourselves. The main living area in the suite is also somewhat divided. The queen bed has a half wall to seperate it from the living area. We thought the bathroom was tastefully done, and this was one of the cleanest hotels we have ever stayed at. I did notice that the celing vent in the bathroom could have used a dusting/vacuum but otherwise, the hotel is immaculate. We chose this hotel for our stay for the pool/waterslide. We always take our children away right after Christmas to unwind and we had such a fun time playing in the pool area. The temperature of the water was perfect, and the my son just loved the waterslide. We had a great time and we already talked about coming back again for spring break with the kids.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmh8343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWwinecountry, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Many thanks for your review, we do appreciate to receive feedback on how you enjoyed your stay. Yes, we are a bit of a secret as people usually just drive through West Kelowna even though you pay less Taxes as well as hotel accommodations are cheaper. We do hope that we will have the pleasure to greet you again in the near future.

Yours in hospitality
Elfriede Schmoll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

As part of the Best Western Travel Awards program we endeavor to stay at Best Western hotels wherever our travels take us, whether personal of for business. Any time we visit Kelowna there is but one hotel for my wife and I and that is without hesitation Best Western Plus Wine Country Hotel & Suites. The hotel is very nicely furnished, the decor attractive, the rooms spacious, comfortable and clean and the staff are outstanding. We spend a considerable amount of time traveling between western Canada and US locations and Best Western continues to lead the pack in our minds...truly exceptional in every way. Choose Best Western...the travel accommodation experience we all deserve. D. MacIver

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWwinecountry, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Many thanks for your review, we do appreciate to receive feedback on how you enjoyed your stay. Yes, we are a bit of a secret as people usually just drive through West Kelowna even though you pay less Taxes as well as hotel accommodations are cheaper. We do hope that we will have the pleasure to greet you again in the near future.

Yours in hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Nice rooms, friendly staff, good wi-fi, clean, free breakfast but.......

Huge gaping gaps under the doors so you get to share all the noise from the corridor. So, if you have idiots staying on you floor shouting and laughing in the corridor at all hours, like we did, don't count on getting any sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blindlemonpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWwinecountry, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
many thanks for your response which surprised me a bit as you have been the first one to complain about our doors. one Question- did you call the Front Desk and ask her to quiet the other guests? it seems to me that you did not like our location either, so, just the wrong hotel for you to begin with? If you do choose our hotel again, please do let me know

Yours in hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaslo, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed one night but was very impressed by the quality of the rooms and the staff. Definitely a great hotel. Sushi and Thai restaurants right outside the door as well. I highly recommend this hotel to any traveller, business or pleasure!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWwinecountry, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Many thanks for your review, we do appreciate to receive feedback on how you enjoyed your stay. Yes, we are a bit of a secret as people usually just drive through West Kelowna even though you pay less Taxes as well as hotel accommodations are cheaper. We do hope that we will have the pleasure to greet you again in the near future.

Yours in hospitality
Elfriede Schmoll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We had a dinner scheduled at the Mission Hill winery. This hotel was perfectly located for this. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was courteous, booking a taxi for us. The breakfast was good the next morning. We enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWwinecountry, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Many thanks for your response, we certainly are happy that you have enjoyed your stay. We do hope that you will be coming back to the beautiful Okanagan

Yours in hospitality

Elfriede Schmoll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kelowna
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Holiday Inn West Kelowna
#4 of 5 in West Kelowna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#7 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Super 8 West Kelowna BC
#5 of 5 in West Kelowna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Hotel & Suites
Address: Kelowna/West Kelowna 3460 Carrington Rd | Sw Quadrant Of Hwy 97 & Elk Rd, West Kelowna, British Columbia V4T 3C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > West Kelowna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in West Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rare combination of luxury and hospitality when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Hotel & Suites in West Kelowna, British Columbia. Situated at the head of British Columbia's stunning Okanagan Valley, Kelowna offers visitors the unique opportunity to enjoy both the great outdoors and a rich mix of culture and urban energy. Visitors flock to the Kelowna area all year long to enjoy its scenic natural beauty, majestic mountains, sparkling lakes, and bucolic vineyard vistas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Hotel & Suites Kelowna/West Kelowna, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing