We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!!!”
Review of A View of the Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Kelowna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A View of the Lake
Ranked #1 of 26 West Kelowna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2008

My husband and I can't say enough about this wonderful bed and breakfast! We stayed in the grand view room and it was truly a treat. With a view of the lake during the day and the lights of Kelowna shimmering across the water at night while we relaxed in the jacuzzi, it was nothing but perfect. The bed was very comfortable and was hard to get yourself out of in the morning. I could have gladly stayed there all day but Steve's wonderful breakfast beckoned and we happily answered. To say the very least it is a gourmet breakfast served in the most beautiful of surroundings. We will most assuredly be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank albertafrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
There are newer reviews for A View of the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

552 - 558 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2007

We stayed at this bed and breakfast for 4 nights and were extremely satisfied all around. A View of the Lake is in a convenient and easy to find location near wineries, downtown and the lake. The views are beautiful in the day or night. The home is beautifully decorated and has everything you could want or imagine on vacation. It is quiet as well as serene.

Chrissy and Steve are wonderful hosts. They are engaging and interesting yet stay out of the way so you dont even notice them most of the time.

The breakfasts were gourmet and delicious. Each morning we could not wait for breakfast to see what masterpiece Steve had prepared. The portions were perfect size for us to start our day.

We were fortunate enough to attend one of Steve's food demonstrations and were not disappointed. This was an evening of fabulous food, wine and company. We learned so much and were entertained all evening. This was by far the best dinner that we had while in Kelowna.

I did not want to leave this oasis of the Okanagan. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2007

Wow!

What a place to stay we found this little gem the views are stunning, the rooms are decorated beautifully and the food is outstanding even for a fussy eater like me. I am lactose ovo vegetarian the chef cooked the best breakfast ever.

My husband on the other hand loves food he had 3 courses for breakfast. Steve is a wonderful chef and we will certainly be back for another visit to sample the cooking in his demonstration kitchen where Steve cooks while you watch and eat.

The hosts Steve and Crissy knows how to run a 1st class business.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Passionisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2007

This is a great place if you like an elegant breakfast, quiet, very clean upscale B&B experience. They are located in Westside - about 10 minutes across the bridge to downtown Kelowna. The view looks across the water to Kelowna. We stayed in a room with no view - the Garden Room. The room was large as was the modern bathroom. The sitting area and deck are very spacious and are separate from where the owners live so you don't feel intrusive. The food is fantastic as the owner is a chef. I was in town for the triathlon and they accommodated my special breakfast requirements. He also does cooking demonstrations/tasting dinners in the beautiful new demonstration kitchen. Both Steve and Chrissy are very engaging people and seem to really care about creating a very positive B&B experience for their guests.


  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2007

We stayed in the Grand View room as well had friends stay in this room later on.

The room is beautifully done with exquisite furniture and fine bedding. The view is definitely grand, note that the corner tub is in the bedroom however there is a separate sink/toilet/shower adjoining.

The room does not have a tv, phone or internet access.

The common room downstairs is comfortable and the deck is lovely. There is no tv in the common room either. Free coffee/tea are provided as well an honesty bar with pop/wine/beer.

This place exceeded my expectations in regard to the "bed" portion but unfortunately falls short with the "breakfast". Portions are small and more care is given to presentation than actual food. The food was not bad however don't expect to be spoiled and stuffed with a hearty breakfast.

Be wary if you have any dietary restrictions as some at the table did, The regular meal was minimalist enough....

The hosts are indeed pleasant, cheery and friendly and the house was very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank portmoodygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tryangle, owner at A View of the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2007

We are very surprised by Portmoody comments, that she was not stuffed with a hearty breakfast.
Our breakfasts consist of three courses. Our 1st course is a danish or a crepe followed by a fresh fruit dish and then a cooked breakfast. As for the dietary needs of others Steve is a resident chef, we specialize in people’s dietary needs. We ask each and every customer on their arrival if they have any allergies likes or dislikes etc. We contacted Portmoody asking for specifics or whose needs we did not address as yet we have not heard from our anonymous writer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BerBalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kultour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kelowna
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
1,146 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Central City
Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A View of the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A View of the Lake

Address: 1877 Horizon Dr, West Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > West Kelowna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in West Kelowna
Price Range: £69 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a unique experience from resident Executive Chef Steve Marston as he creates breakfast from his demonstration kitchen. The newly renovated contemporary home offers an expansive lounge and patio area for all guests. Large bedrooms have designer en suite bathrooms with spectacular sweeping Lake, Mountain & City views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A View Of The Lake Kelowna/West Kelowna, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing