We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay”
Review of A View of the Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Kelowna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A View of the Lake
Ranked #1 of 26 West Kelowna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We, a group of 4 couples, stayed in all 4 rooms of this place for couple of days and enjoyed staying. It was like our own home as Steve and Chrissy made us feel comfortable and enjoyable. The inside of the house was spacious enough for 8 of us and the outside terrace has a beautiful view overlooking Okanagan Lake. I was confident to choose this place as the base of Okanagan exploration. We played a golf game and winery tours. All 4 couples satisfied with the rooms stayed and were surprised the completeness of the amenities. Most of all, the breakfast of both days prepared by Steve and served by Chrissy were much better than 5 stars hotels as it was private and served with the warmest hospitality. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this fabulous B&B and you must be there to feel about this place.

Room Tip: The Grand View Suite has beautiful view with ample space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksyvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Would highly recommend this B & B. Clean, quiet, modern, great views, comfy bed, friendly host (we only met Steve), great hospitality and the breakfast was amazing, but no surprise when you learn Steve is an award winning chef! :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeddyRiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed one night at this fabulous B&B while enjoying our first visit to the Okanagan Wine Country. The house is in a regular subdivision but still feels quiet and private. The lake is not really that close but still presents a dramatic view from the back of the house.The home itself is spacious, open, inviting and appears to be fairly young. We were greeted with a glass of wine and given a mini-tour of the house. The back deck, which is also where we ate breakfast, is awesome. Great place just to read or chill out. We stayed in the Lakeview Suite which is on the top floor and backside of the house. The room is spacious, clean, reasonably furnished, has a comfortable bed and a huge picture window with a great view of the lake. The bathroom was attractive and nicely decorated with all the expected amenities. Breakfast was the highlight of our stay. We started with fresh fruit and yogurt, then had the lightest waffle I've ever tasted with a raspberry/cherry compote. We finished with a cheddar omelet and sausage. Amazing, filling, delicious! Steve and Chrissy were wonderful hosts, funny and engaging. Steve was so accommodating to work with our dietary restrictions. We regretted we had only 1 night there and will definitely return in the future. We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snicker D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We took part in the Dinner Demonstration with our group of 8 at A View of the Lake for a 50th Birthday Party. It was such a unique evening for a special occasion dinner. I was looking for something special and different to do to celebrate my husband's 50th, and fortunately a friend recommended this lovely dinner demonstration. Chrissy helped me choose the courses for the evening, which were then prepared in front of us by chef Steve. The evening progressed in a jovial, educational, entertaining way. Our taste buds were blown away! Each course was a feast for the senses. Steve explained everything that he was preparing with wit and patience, as our group was a bit rowdy. Chrissy served us graciously for the entire evening. I would highly recommend the dinner demonstration evening for any occasion. Sue S.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank musicbuff5440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our first time to Kelowna and absolutely loved it. Steve and Chrissy were wonderful hosts, their B&B was perfect. The breakfast was 5 star and the view from the deck was breathtaking. We look forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is our second time staying at A View of the Lake and it was everything we remembered it being. Steve and Chrissy are wonderful warm hosts. Their home is beautiful; the yard is always kept in great shape; the common areas inside the house are meticulously clean and well decorated; the guest rooms are beautiful and clean. We stayed in the Grand View room which is HUGE. The room has one wall of windows that over looks the lake towards the city of Kelowna. There is a soaker tub next to the window besides a huge private ensuite with a walk in closet. All of the amenities have been provided as well. Upon arrival Steve is quick to offer a cold beverages and engage in conversation. In the morning Steve prepares an amazing 3 course breakfast every morning. Each morning we are served a different meal without any repeats. Chrissy plays the hostess role to a "T" serving breakfast on the covered deck with amazing views of the lake. We loved how Steve and Chrissy joyfully banter back and forth keeping the atmosphere lively. I honestly can't say enough about this B&B and always encourage friends, family and strangers to stay there whenever I hear they are traveling to the Okanagan.

Room Tip: The Grand View room has the most amazing views of the lake and the city of Kelowna. The sunrise shin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DragonflyCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Couldn't have come up with a better getaway if I had created it myself! The meticulously kept and gorgeous house, the spectacular view, delicious food, and warmth of the hosts all add up to an absolutely flawless B&B experience. My only "critical" observation has nothing to do with the hosts or place itself - but the fact that I almost didn't find it on the tripadvisor site (which would have been a real shame!) because of the ridiculous search criteria distinction that separates "Kelowna" from "West Kelowna". I'm from Toronto, and don't know the Okanagan area very well, so I was oblivious to this distinction, and it was just sheer luck that I stumbled upon it. In my view it is not only totally unnecessary to split the Kelowna area up like this, but it is actually quite detrimental to a traveler's experience, as it makes it difficult to accurately find the travel experience we are truly seeking - and isn't that the whole point of this site?!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kelowna
6.0 mi away
The Cove Lakeside Resort
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
1,186 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 West Kelowna BC
Super 8 West Kelowna BC
#5 of 5 in West Kelowna
431 reviews
4.2 mi away
A Touch of English Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
A View to Remember B&B
A View to Remember B&B
#8 of 26 in West Kelowna
80 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lakeshore Bed & Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Le Chateau Du Lac B&B
Le Chateau Du Lac B&B
#7 of 26 in West Kelowna
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A View of the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A View of the Lake

Address: 1877 Horizon Dr, West Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > West Kelowna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in West Kelowna
Price Range: £68 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a unique experience from resident Executive Chef Steve Marston as he creates breakfast from his demonstration kitchen. The newly renovated contemporary home offers an expansive lounge and patio area for all guests. Large bedrooms have designer en suite bathrooms with spectacular sweeping Lake, Mountain & City views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A View Of The Lake Kelowna/West Kelowna, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing