We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Budget stay in Sunzal !”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse El Balsamo
Ranked #2 of 2 Tamanique B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Great owner Heis and Veronica create an awesome atmosphere and are always helping you with questions. You get free wifi and a little kitchen. We spend 7 Months in Sunzal and really checked out everything. Best part about beeing a bit away from the busy Tunco is, that you get best deals on food on the street, just 100 meters next to the hostel. It is really a different world price wise.

Enjoy your Trip ! Sunzal is by far the best wave I've seen so far.....

Thx Heis & Veronika

Louis & Julia

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

If you are thinking of staying in sunzal or tunca for a while this is the place! It is a five minute walk to the famous sunzal break but nicely secluded from the constant party of la tunca by a five minute walk. The dorm room is cheap at 5 dollars a night, basic but comfortable including mozzy nets and the double rooms are excellent.

The hostel is really the perfect surf escape. The owner rents out a variety of boards for 5 dollars a day that are all very well maintained. And he has a had a skate ramp installed for when the waves aren't around. (I was there for a week in the low surf season and it was 3-6ft everyday! Perfect) but its still a fun feature.

This place is perfect! I wish I stayed longer

Room Tip: If its available ask for the cheap double. At 7 dollars a night you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dijon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

el balsamo is a really clean and comfortable hostel. the owners were extremely friendly and adjuvant. the price was more then fair, we paid 6 dollers each. the room was simple but it had everything we needed. we even had a little space in the fridge and a laptop if when needed. me and my friend had an awesome time there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jesijesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed here for one night. It was a very beautiful and clean hostel.
I have stayed in Hostels all over but this place was by far the best.
Veronica was so nice and full of great recomendations! They also accomadated our group of 3 girls.
We stayed in a private room which includes a restroom and it was so clean.
The beds were also very comfortable. I slept like a baby, which is usually really hard for me in a new bed! Veronica also got us a great tour guide who picked us up from the Airport in San Salvador. Oscar he was really sweet and honest.
It is only a short block from the ocean. Which is really nice because it is far from other busier places in the main strip, so in the evening it was nice and quiet.
The short walk to the beach was awesome especially since there are mango trees, so breakfast was a mango I found on the way to the beach!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelayvonne14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Myself and my boyfriend spent 2 months in El Salvador travelling the coast to surf and also visit the mountains. We kept coming back to El Balsamo in Sunzal! Veronica runs the place (along with her little boy who is very playful and a lot of fun!), she is fabulous, helpful and with a lot of knowledge for travellers. The room was very affordable, clean and we had use of an outdoor kitchen and bathroom all perfect for what we needed (there are dorm rooms and other rooms avaliable too), the place has a restaurant, hammocks, bar, internet and is minutes from the surf break. I cannot reccomend it highly enough as a place to chill out and enjoy el salvador from, she made our time in El Salvador and i would go back tomorrow if i didnt have to work!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JAYNEHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2013
1  Thank Jos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Guesthouse El Balsamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse El Balsamo

Address: El Sunzal km. 44 | Calle a la Playa, Tamanique 1522, El Salvador
Region: El Salvador > La Libertad Department > Tamanique
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tamanique
Price Range: £9 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse El Balsamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing