We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy pub & nice food”
Review of Victoria

Victoria
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Earl Soham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$14
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“cosy pub & nice food”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

ate here on our recent holidays found it to be a cosy welcoming pub, dog friendly. Food was good too :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    21
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Just superb”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Undoubtedly one of the best pubs I have ever been to. The beer is brewed locally and the food is fantastic, large portions, good menu and lovely atmosphere. It is not a fussy place, just very down to earth and very good value for money. I went because the pub I was camping at closed on a Monday (why do they do this). It was bucketing with rain and I raced in my car to the Victoria, where the staff were friendly and very helpful. I had the cashew curry but the pork chops looked wonderful. Years ago some friends used to go on a pilgrimage here (for the beer) from Shottisham. This is the sort of place that anyone visiting this country should visit - local meats, local beer and a wonderful unpretentious ambiance. Truly wonderful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ethelandberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A proper pub.”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The Victoria is a gem. A proper local serving great beer and honest pub food. My mother hates it as it has nicotine coloured paint flaking from the ceiling and, well, it's just not Marks and Spencer........The beer is now brewed across the road (used to be on site) and is one of the best lettle breweries going. The staff are always friendly and chatty and Paul is a top landlord.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bluecresent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadleigh, Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Still the same!”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We used to pop in here often about ten or fifteen years ago. Wendy's dad loved it (so did we!) but we haven't been back since he died.
Wendy and I called in for lunch and a beer today and it seems unchanged. Simple, rustic decor, scrubbed deal tables, bare wooden floor, super home brewed beers (Earl Soham Brewery), open fire, gents loo across the yard! A proper, friendly pub! Home made pub grub too. Very pubby!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Maybe our favourite pub in Suffolk?”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Welcoming, quirky, great menu, excellent service and really, really friendly. A lovely place to visit and Earl Soham, indeed the whole of mid-Suffolk, is just so beautiful. Recommended, just don't expect chips to be on the menu.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 186338AlanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Victoria also viewed

 
Brandeston, Suffolk
 

Been to Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing