We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place for tranquil relaxation with a very warm welcome from Anne”
Review of Clos Mirabel Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clos Mirabel Manor
Ranked #1 of 4 Jurancon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We arrived at Clos Mirabel for the first two nights of our honeymoon. The warm welcome from Anne, perfectly crafted rooms, tranquil surroundings, and delicious local breakfast and dinner was just perfect. It's the perfect place to rest and recuperate located in a beautiful park with mountain views. We couldn't recommend highly enough and hope to return again soon

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Room with stunning views and excellent decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leander147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We chose this as a stopping point on our way from Les Baux, Provence to San Sebastian, Spain. Had I known how special this place would be I would have booked two nights. It is definitely a two night place. We arrived tired and the owner cheerfully prepared a special supper for us. the breakfast the next morning was supper. Great accommodations. Large room and bath with fresh line dried towels! Beautiful view of vineyards and the Pyrennees. Get directions beforehand. Our GPS couldn't quite get us there, but a phone call solved that. Lovely all tile pool.

Room Tip: This is a very sophisticated B&B. All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afwhitley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Clos Mirabel exceeded our expectations in every way! We stayed in the blue room in the lovely old main house which was spacious,comfortable , light, airy and elegantly furnished with spectacular views across the terrace and vineyards to the Pyrenees.
Our hostesses, Ann and her daughter Emily made us feel relaxed and comfortable, providing a delicious cold platter served with very good local Jurancon wine on our first evening which was perfect after a long, tiring journey. We would thoroughly recommend Clos Mirabel as an ideal place to relax and enjoy the fabulous scenery from the spacious grounds and terrace.
On this occasion we were en route to Santander and the ferry but would like to return and spend more time exploring the surrounding area from this charming B+B with the superb hospitality provided by our gracious hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Clos Mirabel is tucked away up the hill from Jurancon, which is not far from Pau, a fairly big city in the Pyrenees. It is very conveniently located yet very secluded. You can get to Pau and other little French Basque villages/towns easily. We also made day trips to San Sebastian and Biarritz, about 2-1/2 and 2 hours respectively. The area is spectacular, and while we didn't have good weather and did not get to hike, there are a lot of great hiking trails to explore in the Pyrenees. Vineyards and tasting rooms are plentiful, and the wines are very inexpensive. We rented the gatehouse, which is well equipped and simply furnished. The pros are: privacy, plenty of space, you can prepare your own meals, and relax in the sun room (though we didn't have a lot of sun), the cons are: the house is very simply furnished, not very charming, there is no view at all, is closer to the main road, so you do hear the road noise sometimes. The rooms/suites in the manor would have been nicer, views and furnishing-wise, but of course, you would not have the privacy that a self-catering unit can afford. The host and hostess are charming, and will give you ideas of activities if you solicit their advice. All in all, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BayAreaRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

What a wonderful weekend we enjoyed at Clos Mirabel!. We stayed in the Blue Room B&B for four nights and could not have asked for more gracious friendly and warm hosts. If you go to the Clos Mirabel website you will see a lovely photo of the Pyrenees taken from the property, while this is a beautiful photo it hardly does justice to the magnificent panorama when you arrive - truly breathtaking. Thank you Andre and Anne for sharing your beautiful property and the laughs we had - we could not have felt more comfortable if we had been staying with close friends.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 62AnnetteSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My wife and I rented The Gatehouse for two weeks in mid-May 2014 and enjoyed it thoroughly. Clos Mirabel's owners, Ann and André, are wonderful, gracious hosts. They welcomed us as if we were family, offering us maps, suggestions for day activities, and introducing us to the other guests. They were always interested to hear what we done during the day even though being in The Gatehouse we were on our own.

The views from the property are stunning with vineyards beginning at the property's edge and rolling hills punctuated with grazing sheep giving way to the snow-capped peaks of the Pyrenées. Whether morning, afternoon or evening the distant mountains produced an ever-changing backdrop for the lawns and mature trees of the property.

The Gatehouse suited our needs perfectly. It was quiet and private allowing to make our own meals in the fully equipped kitchen. (As Canadians we have never adjusted to the late evening dining favoured in Europe.) We stocked the fridge, bought meat and local produce and cooked most of our suppers. The built-in dishwasher left our evenings free for a walk, reading or a drive through the countryside at sunset.

Beds in The Gatehouse were to our liking as well. I have at times suffered with back trouble and found the bed firm yet comfortable. There were ample pillows and blankets to supplement, or replace, the European comforter that I usually find too heavy and too hot.

We had a fabulous time at Clos Mirabel, the city of Pau and Bearn countryside. A drive up the Vallée d'Ossau and over the Col Pourtalet to Jaca, Spain produced breathtaking views of glaciers and the jagged peaks of the Pic du Midi. It was a day we will never forget.

Using Clos Mirabel as a base we "took the waters" at two thermal spas, one in Salies-de Bearn, the other in Dax. Two weekends were spent at the Grand Prix de Pau when the city turns out to watch race cars on the twisting Monaco-like street circuit in the downtown.

The Gatehouse was a fine home away from home. Comfortable, modern and spacious it suited this Canadian couple perfectly.

KG

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kgmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were lucky as we called from Pau and Clos Mirabel had two rooms for us that evening. We stayed two nights in this beautiful home with an awesome view.

Our hosts made recommendations for restaurants, a day trip into the mountains, and even made reservations for us at a nicer place in for dinner Pau. They both speak excellent English and even tried to get us a special visit to the Pau Gelos Stud Farm which didn't have any English tours scheduled. The stud farm didn't work out, but that was beyond their control, and the day trip to the mountains along with a fabulous lunch suggestion was wonderful.

The home is beautiful and the view is breathtaking when the clouds clear for a perfect 180 degree view of the Pyrenees. I highly recommend Clos Mirabel for your visit to Pao and the surrounding areas.

Room Tip: Rooms with the mountain view are worth the upsell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jurancon
2.9 mi away
Hotel Parc Beaumont
2.6 mi away
Novotel Pau Pyrenees
Novotel Pau Pyrenees
#1 of 6 in Lescar
413 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Navarre
Hotel Villa Navarre
#17 of 32 in Pau
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Roncevaux
Hotel Roncevaux
#7 of 32 in Pau
155 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Pau Centre Bosquet
2.5 mi away
Best Western Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clos Mirabel Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clos Mirabel Manor

Address: 276 avenue des Freres Barthelemy, 64110 Jurancon, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees, France (Formerly Clos Mirabel)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Bearn-Basque Country > Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees > Jurancon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Jurancon
Price Range: £108 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clos Mirabel is a beautiful fifteen-acre estate between coast and mountains. Its C18 Manor House is set in private parkland amidst the gentle hills of Jurancon with magnificent uninterrupted views out over vineyards to the entire chain of the Pyrenees Atlantiques. Clos Mirabel welcomes you in Bed & Breakfast or furnished vacation rentals and holiday lettings from 1- 37 guests. A haven of peace, ever changing light and tranquillity, Clos Mirabel is a few minutes from Pau, its Chateau, golf courses and racetracks, thirty minutes from Lourdes, less than an hour from the mountains, ski resorts and many hiking paths, from Biarritz and the Atlantic Coast and Basque Country, Spain and San Sebastian, Bilbao and the Guggenheim and, less than 2 hours from Bordeaux and Toulouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clos Mirabel Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clos Mirabel Manor Pau, France - Jurancon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing