We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect relaxing getaway spot”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Maison Berchon

Maison Berchon - a classic French townhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Maison Berchon - a classic French townhouse
The south-facing pool with rolling safety cover View from the table-tennis table towards the pool's Roman steps
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Maison Berchon - a classic French townhouse
The south-facing pool with rolling safety cover
View from the table-tennis table towards the pool's Roman steps
Roses and flowering bushes surround the sunny pool
Spacious first floor double bedroom.
Spacious double under the eaves
The first-floor bathroom
Top-floor walk-in shower
Part of the well-equipped kitchen
The cheerful dining area
Comfy sofas in the salon
The stunning Bearnaise staircase
Modern stairs leading to the games room
Games room with garden access
Private garden with barbecue
View of mountains from a bedroom
Henri IV's château in Pau
Carnival time in Nay
Happy crowd at Nay fetes
The parade of floats at Nay fetes
The stunning backdrop of the Pyrenees in winter as seen from the Gave de Pau in Nay
Park next to Gave de Pau in Nay
The sandy beach at Baudreix
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Nay, Bearn, Bearn-Basque Country, Pyrenees-Atlantiques, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
scaryhalf...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect relaxing getaway spot”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The pool and outside space is perfect for relaxing in the sunshine. The villa itself is well-equipped for a big group and kept us comfortably entertained on the greyer days. Nay itself is a nice town with bars, restaurants and a few shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singleton...
Wareham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Did exactly what it said on the tin (and other reviews!)”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Had an absolutely amazing 5 days staying at this property with seven of us competing in this years Etape du Tour. As a base the plead was perfect and the house itself was large clean welcoming and airy. The garden and pool a massive bonus. Yolanda and Tony couldn't have been more helpful and went out of there way to make our stay a great one.
When I first heard that our bikes would be stored in a garage I was a little dubious, but on seeing and using I had absolutely nothing to worry about it was as safe and secure as I could wish for...
Great holiday had and perfect base for a group of keen cyclists... Well deserved 5stars from us.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioli2014
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very well equipped house, comfortable for large family with kids and very responsive and friendly owners.”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Great place to stay with kids and larger family. Very friendly, near boulangerie and all shops, short enough drive to Pau, Lourdes and Tarbes, and nice places to visit around (recommend the zoo in Asson which is like a walk in a beautiful park). We stayed in May which was a bit chillier than we thought, but we enjoyed the beautiful nature and great food of the region). The house has a lovely swimming pool which was too cold to use in May but would be fantastic in June/July/August. Nay (the little town in which the house is located) is not a very lively place, but it has an interesting beret museum, a foie gras museum and a little market Tuesdays and Saturdays. We strongly recommend going to the tourism office in Nay for some great trips of visits around or ask the owners (Yolanda and Tony ) who were just a great source of information and very very friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vardy1968
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ideal house for family reunion.”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This was a perfect house for our holiday with our two grown-up sons and their partners. The house was spacious, well renovated and lacked for nothing in terms of equipment. The kitchen was a good size for eating in with two fridges and a freezer, oven and dishwasher, and like all the other rooms enjoyed a high ceiling and large airy windows. There was a proper sitting room with comfortable sofas. The games room in the basement provided another place to gather with TV, table football, Wii etc. Two bathrooms and three toilets complemented the comfortable bedrooms. Tony and Yolanda could not have been more helpful and kindly invited us to apéritifs one evening.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space it afforded for 6 adults to 'do their own thing'. The pool!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommillin...
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Grandiose and comfortable”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed at 'Maison Berchon' during an extended holiday in France. We were with 4 other members of the family and the house was more than adequate for our needs. The Northern French architectural style provides high ceilings and the original features of the interior reflect the history of the property. The house is in a perfect location for accessing the mountains, Lourdes and Pau, with plenty of other attractions within half an hour's drive.

The hi-tec pool was excellent and warm but due to the weather on some days we were forced to stay indoors. This was not a problem however as them stock of board games and The Wii provided a welcome distraction.

Yolanda and Tony are friendly and helpful proprietors and it was a pleasure to spend the week in their home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect base for exploring Pau and the Pyrenees”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed at Maison Berchon in July 2013 and it was the perfect house for our extended family of two adults, one 12 year old and three teenagers - a beautiful and elegant home, with plenty of space for all, plenty to do inside and out, a beautiful swimming pool, a peaceful location, but easily walkable into the centre of the little bastide town of Nay; and very well-positioned for exploring Pau and the Pyrenees. Our dream of buying our own place in the Pyrenees Atlantiques is further fuelled..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elsc10
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Fantastic well equipped house and pool in the South of France”
Reviewed 6 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We stayed for two weeks at Maison Berchon in August 2012. We were three generations of the same family including two under fives and grandparents in their sixties. All of us had fantastic time. Before booking we discussed the issue of bringing young children to the house with the owners as there are lots of stairs and decided to go ahead with the booking as our children (aged 2.5 and 4.5) are very active and mobile and manage stairs fine at home, and for us it was no problem at all. The staircase is beautiful and each step is very wide so the children had no issue on them. The house is extremely well equipped including a very well stocked kitchen (including olive oil and herbs and even kitchen roll, cling film etc) and a great games room complete with games table, board games, DVDs and a Wii. The owners left us a welcome pack in the kitchen including wine, milk, bread and coffee and even english tea and yoghurts for the children which was really great as we'd had a long journey and it was a very hot day so didn't fancy rushing straight out to the shops. The pool had lots of inflatables and floats and is kept very clean. It has a safety gate and cover. We spent so much time in it that my previously non-swimming four year old could swim 3 metres by herself at the end of the trip!
The location of the house at the edge of Nay was perfect. We could walk 2 mins to a supermarket and patisserie or it was about a 10-15 minute walk into the centre of Nay which had a childrens play area and a few shops and restaurants. We had a hire car so spent great day trips out in the mountains, to Lourdes including the funicular railway, to the Grottes de Betharram (underground caves about 5 mins drive away including an underground boat trip and train ride), and spent several fun days at the nearby Lac de Badreix which has a beach, restaurant and swimming area, plus water slide and inflatables about 5 mins drive away. The chateaux in Coarraze was a hidden gem too.
We wouldn't hesitate in recommending Maison Berchon. The owners live in their own house next door and are very discreet but accommodating if you need them.
Great holiday which we'll remember for a long time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pool
Liked least: The beds didn't have flat sheets which would have been nice as it was far too hot for duvets
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing