We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its ok.”
Review of Embassy XO

Embassy XO
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Delicately fusing together modern Asian and Chinese fine dining, Embassy XO in Sunshine Beach overlooks the picturesque surf beach and quaint village, amidst soft lighting and exotic modern decor. Distinguished by majestic red and orange lights, a winter fireplace, dark timber and stylish Asian furnishings, Embassy XO's lounge bar is perfect for relaxing with a cocktail or chilled wine. Serving up a variety of unique dishes, Embassy XO's menu is a delectable delight, also offering a number of banquet options incorporating a selection of entrees, mains, sides and desserts. Yum cha is available at Embassy XO every Friday, Saturday & Sunday from 12noon until 2pm. The restaurant also offers a delicious $49 three-course Locals Menu every Wednesday & Thursday evening from 6pm, this also includes a glass of wine or beer (not available in peak times).We aslo have a delicious range of $5 bar snacks and other great specials in the Lounge from 3pm-6pm everyday.
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“its ok.”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Had dinner at embassy xo for my husband's birthday. entree we shared the chicken ribs, mains hubby had the braised beef and I had the spanner crab and we shared the crunchy corn flake with ice cream and strawberries. overall it was an ok meal, it wasn't amazing, it didn't wow me. entree was average, the spanner crab main i had started to make me feel sick of it every bite i have. the dessert however is the saving grace. Embassy XO just didn't deliver for me.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kbt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    102
    37
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A must visit Asian fusion restaurant”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is a must visit restaurant if you like Asian food that is a bit different from the usual run of the mill. We visit the Sunshine coast a couple of times each year (we live about 1,000kms away) and this is our third visit to Embassy XO for an evening meal.

We would call it a modern fusion of some Asian styles with some slight Asian twists on non-Asian dishes. If you expect the standard Thai meal, don’t go here, but if you want to try some innovative ideas, try it. We ordered the banquet which contained three entrees, three mains and one desert. The range covered some of their well-regarded dishes and was as good as our previous visits.

The staff were extremely helpful; one of our party wanted a custom pre-dinner cocktail and the young waitress was very accommodating with a couple of iterations to get there. Even the green tea we had was not your normal variety, but tasted exceptional; that may have been the food, but it sure blended in well.

We will return again and again as this standard remains.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vannofavalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

A very popular restaurant for Sunday yum cha, the yum cha banquet @ $32 is a standout set menu treat. Combined with green tea as the beverage of choice, it is also inexpensive. It is probably best to go for a booking around 1.30pm to avoid being rushed to get you through for the next sitting.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hedonist_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I have been to this restaurant several times now. We have tried the Locals Menu, the Yum Cha and the a la carte menu.
It is tucked away upstairs at the end of Duke Street. The decor is true to the Asian fusion theme of Embassy XO.
Our last visit was on a balmy February evening and the cool sea breezes coming through the wall of louvres was most welcome.
The staff at this restaurant are very friendly and professional, they can answer any question you may have about the delicious food or the extensive wine list.
The food here is amazing and by that I don’t mean just great. I always look forward to my next visit to try something new, although I always have problems going past the Taro cakes for entree they are to die for.
I have not detailed any particular dish as I could not do them justice with words, you have to try them for yourself, Embassy will not disappoint.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Had the locals meal and wine special Cheap enough, but food ,wine and service ordinary
Why bother
The waitress barely waited to hear the wine order
The waiter forgot completely about the second order
The food ie fish was over-cooked
Disappointing,but had worse

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mazzarunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Embassy XO also viewed

Noosa, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Embassy XO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing