We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vibe, great staff, let down by food!”
Review of Mooshka

Mooshka
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great vibe, great staff, let down by food!”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Came here twice recently as we are moving into the area. The first time we came, it wasn't too busy and we were seated quickly. The Spanish waitress took our order promptly, however it took ages for drinks to come out. A point and a glass of wine...Seemed to be some confusion behind the bar, we later found out it was a very new member of staff training on the bar who was unable to change a keg.... Our nachos came out after about 25 mins... And there was about one small layer of chips on the plate drenched in cheese ( not crispy anymore) and the condiments were just dumped on top in a sloppy way with way too much chilli which was sweet? . A small serve however you look at it for over $15... Should have been a $5 deal for what we got. My friend had the calamari which were yellow and over done and some potato skins. The waitress seemed to be dealing with a lot so we paid our bill and left without mentioning it.
The servings time we came was a very busy lunch time. A tiny blonde kiwi waitress seated us.... And we waited.... We thought there would be a few people working ad usury was a weekend but again it was understaffed and over crowded. Our drinks took ages and we found the waitress to be rather abrupt, although efficient. We ordered a salad, but it was again on the small side and very late! When we mentioned it, we were told he was a fairly new chef and he was on his own at the moment. When passing the kitchen we could see it was the same chef as last time.Another chef showed up when we were leaving, perhaps he could have been
there earlier?
My comments for this restaurant- clearly business is going well so the owners should be able to afford to have more staff on, especially an experienced chef and a bar man that can make drinks quickly if the food wait is long. The poor staff working are stressed and running and left with apparently new or incompetent staff to deal with on top of a full restaurant. There was no visible management either and no one seemed to be in
charge. The waitresses all smelled like cigarettes birth times we were there as well which was unappetizing...This place could be amazing, to bad they are too cheap to give decent portions and hire competent staff....

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SmashedBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    88
    28
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food options , reasonable price + great service”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

A funky, "retro" bar/cafe with a number of healthy eating options which should satisfy all tastes -including some great salads. Tapas menu provided additional variety. Remember all those 60s kitchen tables and chairs, crockery & cutlery that our parents threw out 30 years ago? We'll they've re-appeared at Mooshka. People beside us were reminiscing about their first 45 rpm vinyl record! Table service from our Swedish backpacker friend was great - efficient & friendly. Thankyou Liniar. The jug of "Pimms" another novelty blast from the past! Would we go back for the food & service? Absolutely!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint restaurant, valuable meals!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

With extremely good deals every day, this restaurant offers a range of small to large meals to suit all appetites. The atmosphere is very laid back, and service excellent! great for backpackers and for a quick bite to eat.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chezzajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Great vibe, great service, great meal”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had some complicated dietary requirements and it was hard to tell from the menu ahead of time whether these would be met. Both waitresses who served us were extremely understanding and patient, going back to the chef several times to check.
The food was very tasty - all four of us enjoyed our dishes which included fish, steak, pizza and salads.
If you want something fun, a little quirky, and tasty, this is the place for you. It can be quite crowded in when it's busy, so if you have major personal space issues you may want to go elsewhere or go on a Tuesday in the middle of winter.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jj0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Quirky little place, nice for a cocktail and locals watching”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We have had drinks here twice on our trip. The decor is lovely like granny's kitchen. Good selection of music playing and comfortable chairs especially the big brown raised armchair ones. They have a five dollar menu every day from 3pm to 5.30pm which includes red, white or sparkling wine and a selected beer. We chose to have the $10 cocktails which appeared to be full strength not less alcoholic as sometimes happens with happy hour. We also had a couple of food items on one occasion, crispy potato skins which were delicious, crispy squid ( could have done with another 20 seconds in the fryer but still tasty) and marinated olives. (Also $5).This place seems to have plenty of regulars and I would be one too if I could. Service is very sweet and friendly.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank elsie18a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mooshka also viewed

Sunshine Beach, Noosa
Sunshine Beach, Noosa
 
Sunshine Beach, Noosa
Sunshine Beach, Noosa
 

Been to Mooshka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing