We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base for exploring Bavaria”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gilching
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Gasthof Schutzenhaus
Ranked #1 of 1 Gilching B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Having stayed in this hotel in 2012 when we decided to go to Munich to visit a friend this year the "Schutz" as we have come to call the hotel was the first to come to mind. When we arrived the staff greeted us as though we had only been gone for a week or so with all of them remembering our names and it was as though we had walked into our local bar here in Oklahoma City.

The evenings are great fun with the proprietors Walter and Zdenka making everyone welcome and together with the staff we had very enjoyable meals and ample refreshments afterwards a really friendly place to stay.

Although not in Munich itself the hotel is a few minutes walk away from a train station where you can be in the centre of Munich in 25 minutes. If you take the train in the opposite direction you arrive at Herrsching a delightful small town on the edge of a lake where you can take a ferry to different parts of the lake while viewing the Alps.

The accommodations are decorated in traditional Bavarian style and the breakfast provides a good start to the day. The restaurant serves traditional Bavarian food, the chef and kitchen staff are very accommodating.

I do not know what it is about this place, perhaps it is the locals who although we do not speak German always make us feel very welcome, or the general hospitality but we are always drawn back here and will no doubt be back again.

Walter, Zdenka many thanks, see you soon David and Vivvy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Britdgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gasthof Schutzenhaus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

As a long-term guest during 2013 I really I really enjoyed my stay at the Schutzenhaus. This is a family run hotel with cheerful, friendly and helpful staff.

The room I was given was modern of a good size and the bed was perfect for a good nights sleep.

The restaurant is open until 9.30pm and serves good wholesome food together with wines and beer at very reasonable prices. The continental breakfast is wide and varied with as much tea and coffee as you can drink.

For the business people there are also large and smaller function rooms.

The hotel is located a couple of kilometres away from the Munich – Lindau autobahn, has free parking and the train station with a regular service to Munich is only a maximum 10 minute walk away.

Big thanks to Walter, Sdenka and staff for really pleasant stay at your hotel.

Room Tip: Not for disabled persons (Stair access only). Rooms to the rear are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We spent a week in the Hotel Schutzenhaus in April 2012, what a find this hotel is. The proprietor and his wife made us very welcome and we had a great stay. The restaurant serves great food at very competitive prices. We soon became friends with some of the locals that use the bar and had many enjoyable evenings in their company.

The hotel while being situated outside Munich is a short walk from a railway station where you can take a 30 minute ride into the city center of Munich the trains run every 20 minutes. If you take the train in the opposite direction you arrive in Herrsching a town situated right on a beautiful lake where you can walk along the lakeside or even take a boat ride across to another location on the lake.

Overall the Schutzenhaus is an ideal hotel for those that enjoy staying somewhere outside of the big city hustle yet within easy access of Munich and beautiful Herrsching. We will definitely be returning to this piece of "Bavarian magic"

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Britdgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This hotel has great service, nice rooms, and very comfortable beds.

You get everything you would expect at a 2-3 star hotel.

I only stayed 1 night so I can't really comment too much, but I have no complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiscingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank Armeniarules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheve88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcelB71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilching
2.7 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#2 of 2 in Wessling
67 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel zur Post
Hotel zur Post
#1 of 2 in Wessling
22 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Garni am Waldhang
Hotel Garni am Waldhang
#1 of 1 in Gilching
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel Asemann Planegg
Hotel Asemann Planegg
#2 of 4 in Planegg
36 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#1 of 4 in Gauting
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gasthof Schutzenhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gasthof Schutzenhaus

Address: Talhofstrasse 22, 82205 Gilching, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Gilching
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gilching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing